the non-fussy side of broccoli.

I promised you broccoli and I aim to deliver.  This is one recipe that’s too good (too simple!) not to share.  There’s nothing fancy or fussy about it, but you will most always walk away from your cookout with an empty bowl, whenever you bring this salad.  Really.

Are you ready for the simplest, most non-fussy side of broccoli that you will possibly ever make???

(p.s. aside, of course, from a side of hummus and veggies!)

First, you start with a big ol’ bowl of raw broccoli.

Then on goes the chopped apples and onions.  Any apple will do for this recipe.  And I hate to be too picky, since I’m calling this simple and all.  But I have this thing for Pink Lady apples, and I think you’ll agree that they’re made for such a salad.  But Braeburn or even Gala apples will serve the purpose just fine.

Meanwhile, the dressing is being made.  This is your basic combination of sugar, vinegar, mustard and oil.  With a grind of fresh black pepper for some oomph.

Smother that big bowl of broccoli with your fine and simple sauce.

Then toss those little florets all around!!

The broccoli florets will be saturated with the sauce the more you let it sit.  Which is why I recommend making this either the day before or the morning before you plan on eating it!

Yes.  This will be gone by the time you walk home from a cookout.

Or.  You could just make a big batch and enjoy your veggies throughout the week.  It’s fabulous as a side dish for chicken, lentils, tofu, or fish.  Or you could throw a few pieces on top of your salad for that extra zing.  This is an especially nice touch for Monday’s lunch.

You see?  The simplest, most non-fussy side of broccoli you will ever make.  Even better, you’ll never think of broccoli as boring ever again.  Enjoy!

Broccoli & Apple Salad

  • 1 Tbsp. sugar
  • 6 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp. dijon mustard
  • 1 Tbsp. olive or walnut oil
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 1-1/4 lb. broccoli, coarsely chopped
  • 1-1/2 cups apple, diced
  • 1/4 cup sweet onion, minced
  1. Combine first 5 ingredients in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk.
  2. Mix broccoli with apple, onion and vinegar mixture.  Toss well to coat.  Refrigerate overnight for the best flavors.
QUESTION: What do you enjoy bringing to family/friend cookouts?

8 comments on “the non-fussy side of broccoli.

  1. BroccoliHut says:

    I love bringing a creamy cashew dip (made with vanilla yogurt) and guacamole!
    Love the looks of this salad:)

  2. This salad looks amazing! I cannot wait to try it. It looks so simple to make (I need that!) and so much taste. : ) I enjoy reading your posts and look forward to all of your recipes. I smile whenever I see a new post listed in my email. : ) By the way, I also wanted to let you know that you are a Genuine Blogger. Celebrate your blog, as it is comes across to the reader as heartfelt and genuine. There are no rules with this honor. Accept it and relish in the thought that your blog is “award worthy” without having any strings attached. It is an award that I hope allows recipients to know that their work is appreciated, valued, and noteworthy by fellow bloggers and that does not have the pressure of “rules and requirements” to follow. It is to be received and valued as the gift and honor in which it is intended. If you choose to give this award to a deserving fellow blogger, please do so with no “rules.” Award it to someone for his or her genuineness in blogging. Free and clear.
    Here is the post that explains the reasoning behind this award: https://justramblinpier.wordpress.com/2011/05/20/genuine-recognition/ .
    Here is the “badge/button” for your Genuine Blogger Award if you would like. http://justramblinpier.files.wordpress.com/2011/05/genuine-blogger-award.png
    Congrats and enjoy!
    Just Ramblin’

  3. Love this! I’m always looking for non-fussy veggie recipes, especially those that keep. Most salads just wilt, way too quickly! Thanks for sharing! I can’t wait to take it for a spin 🙂

  4. ooh I love new side dishes and this one sounds great! plan to try it soon!

  5. This looks fantastic and SO simple! I wish I had some to bring to our potluck today! Instead I brough a large spinach salad with homemade balsamic! FResh, delicious, and healthy! I am always the one who brings something healthy!

  6. Caitlyn says:

    Oh no, I just finsihed my huge bag of Costco broccoli! I will just have to purchase more because this looks like my type of side dish. I will be eating this sometime soon 🙂

  7. Emily says:

    I love bring homemade hummus and carrots/peppers/celery and crackers!! I love this salad idea tho!

Leave a comment