lunch break.

You know what I love about lunch?

It gives me the chance to break away from the day’s routine.  No matter how dull, unorganized, crazy busy, boring, exciting, routine, ________ (fill in the blank) the day is, lunch is that pivotal point that can instantly turn the day around.

It takes just one hunk of dark chocolate.  Or a yogurt parfait.  Or a hunk of your favorite bread.

And there you go.  You’ve just turned the day around.

Just like a day old bologna sandwich with half melted cheese can ruin a perfectly fine day…

…a bowl of vegetable soup, a hunk of whole grain bread smeared in avocado, and freshly cracked black pepper (here, there, everywhere) can instantly put a smile on your face.

(FYI, I still have nightmares of that bologna sandwich from long ago…true story.)

I like to make lunch all about the vegetables.

So that at the end of the day, if there’s a sudden shift in plans (to the pizza barn we go!) or I randomly don’t feel like cooking (cold cereal!), I already have a nice big bundle of fiber-rich vegetables under my belt.  Already consumed.  Fueling me through the afternoon.  Filling me up with all kinds of nutrients.

It just feels good.

Sometimes (most times) that means a really large salad.  Never made the same way twice because there are so many options to be had!

Some days, this means a nice big bowl of leftover vegetable soup.

Or an open faced sandwich with hummus and plenty of shredded veggies on top.

Really.  However you look at it.  Lunch has the full potential to completely turn your day around.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Garden Minestrone Soup–slightly modified from the original version seen previously on The Flying Onion.

(serves 8)

Serve hot in the winter and chilled in the summer!

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 2 tsp fresh oregano
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 cups chopped yellow squash
  • 3 cups chopped zucchini
  • 1 cup chopped carrot
  • 1 cup fresh corn kernels (or frozen)
  • 2 (15 oz) cans diced tomatoes with basil, oregano, garlic (or plain)
  • 3 (14 oz) cans vegetable broth
  • 2 (15.5 oz) can white beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 (12oz) package frozen spinach
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  1. Heat oil in a dutch oven over medium-high heat.  Add onion to pan; saute 3 minutes or until softened.  Add oregano and garlic, saute 1 minute.  Stir in squash, zucchini, carrot and corn; saute 5 minutes or until veggies are tender.
  2. Stir in tomatoes and broth; bring mixture to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer 20 minutes.
  3. Add beans and spinach to pan.  Season with pepper and salt to taste.  Serve and enjoy!

 QUESTION: What are your favorite lunches for work/school or when you’re at home?

15 comments on “lunch break.

  1. Yummm! I just ate minestrone soup but it was from a can didn’t look half as good as this! I love the idea of spreading avocado on bread. I’ve only ever used it in guacamole….I know there is so much more I could be doing! I love a good soup with either crackers or toast for lunch in the winter. Pasta salad and fruit in the summer!

  2. I’m with you on loving vegetable-centred lunches! I usually go for a hearty salad with some sort of protein and/or grain, or a sandwich with baby spinach, hummus, avocado, and whichever veggies are kicking around! Pretty boring, but it always tastes so good.

    That pretty blue bowl of soup is so cheerful 🙂

  3. Simply Tia says:

    These look sooo good!!!

  4. Katie says:

    I’m all about packing in the veggies at lunch too! This looks so hearty and delicious!

  5. Rocio says:

    Hmmm so delicious!

  6. m&m says:

    I do that with my avocados too! I also add a little lemon juice and honey, perfect little treat!

  7. BroccoliHut says:

    I eat a salad for lunch most days for the same reason–I like to ensure that I have some veggies taken care of in case my dining plans change unexpectedly. That way I don’t feel bad about having waffles for dinner 🙂

  8. Similoluwa says:

    Reblogged this on Ainsi, j'écris and commented:
    I like lunch too . . .

    Or make that loooovvvvvvveeeeee!
    One chance and more to get away from my desk is less than I need to stay sane sometimes.

    Xoxo people
    Happy reading

Leave a Reply

