A (non) made up post.

What would it mean for you NOT to apply any makeup tomorrow morning?

I don’t actually wear all that much makeup.  A little colored lip gloss.  Some rouge.  Eye liner and mascara.

But I do wear it.  Most of the time.

Except for this morning, when I decided that it was just plain ridiculous for me to waist 10 minutes of my life on primping before going to the grocery store for some yogurt.  To the grocery store!  I may be a single gal, but this is hardly a good enough reason to throw on some cover girl eye liner.  Really, now.

So, gulp, I went completely and utterly without.

My inspiration came from Caitlyn, as she’s currently not wearing any makeup at all for a set period of time, as a way for her to think about who she is without it and why she feels that she needs it.

The result?  Well.  I’d like to say that I walked through the grocery store with an air of unexpected confidence.  With an inner sense of peace.

More natural.  

More beautiful.

Truth is, I remembered (and remembered very well) that I had absolutely nothing on my face.  That my eyes felt lifeless without their usual dark coat of mascara.  That I probably looked as sickly as I was feeling yesterday.

Confidence?  What confidence?

After throwing my makeup on to go out for the rest of the day, however, I suddenly—magically!!  with some help from a masacara wand—felt better.

More beautiful.

More…natural?

Speaking from an honest heart, I absolutely hate that I felt this way!

The fact that a paint job made all the difference in my confidence level is just downright disturbing.

Not that I would never go to a job interview without wearing makeup.  And–c’mon!–holidays are practically made for smoky eyes.  I love trying new colors and practicing new techniques.  But I’m shocked and, quite frankly, ashamed by how much I felt the need to wear it.  To the grocery store.  To pick up a tub of yogurt.  

The point is, I think that a lot of these negative thoughts of how we see ourselves comes from us personally and not from others.

I’ve heard many girls exclaim that their boyfriend/husband likes them better natural or with very minimal makeup.  It’s true that we are our own biggest critics.  We notice our own flaws as if they’re so obvious, when really?  They’re not.

All of this kind of makes you wonder…

Why can’t we love ourselves for who we are in the same way that we love others for who they are (with or without makeup)?

What is it about a smear of liner or a shimmery eye shadow that makes us feel more special.  More desirable?

Why can’t we see ourselves the way that God sees us?  Beautiful, special, and absolutely wonderful.  

QUESTION: Do you wear makeup on a daily basis?  Do you feel or act differently when you aren’t wearing makeup versus when you do?

32 comments on “A (non) made up post.

  1. Scott says:

    Seeing as I’m a guy, I don’t generally wear makeup. I could and get away with it if I wanted to due to a skin condition I have, but it doesn’t bother me enough to bother.

    That said, I’ve had to tell several women repeatedly (my wife included) that they don’t need makeup. And I think that’s true of most. Oh sure, if you really want to on a glamorous night out. Most of the time, I think not though.

    • Well said! And thank you for sharing a guy’s perspective. 😀

      • Scott says:

        You’re welcome! 🙂

      • I agree with Scott’s perspective. I know that my husband hardly notices make-up unless it’s really dramatic (or poorly done).

        I wear it for fun on the weekends sometimes (I like playing with the eye shadow colours) but I almost never wear it to work and definitely not to the grocery store. I find it to be a bit of a waste of time that could be better spent sleeping in. I like my sleep.

        That said, I sometimes wish that I were that woman that looks put together all the time– even at the grocery store.

  2. suestopford says:

    I have gone through phases of not wearing makeup for ages and then wearing it everyday….I don’t care how other people see me but I do notice that I feel quite different when I make the effort. I never, every go out without lipstick but don’t necessarily bother with the rest of it everyday either.

    I am a bit bad for slopping about in sweats and tee shirts but yeah, for sure I feel better about myself when I make an effort to look good. I don’t do it to get attention, it just makes me feel nice. I don’t think there is anything wrong with it and it is good to just feel good for you. If that means going without makeup, or in my case, wearing sweats then so be it.

  3. This is a brilliant post because it is so glaringly honest. I am the same. I put on makeup to go to the supermarket. I wear make-up to work as I fear my colleagues and clients may think me less proffessional if I went bare-faced.
    My make up is minimal – foundation and mascara, but it is nonetheless a mask.

  4. Very honest! It’s so true! P.s you have lovely skin!

  5. i go through periods when i wear a little bit of make up, (mascara and undereye cover up) but I always moisturize and am addicted to chapstick- which really help awake things. i think it’s normal to feel your beauty enhanced by the makeup (that’s what it does) but good to experience and enjoy the confidence of flaunting your raw skin because we are all beautifully made!

  6. BroccoliHut says:

    I’m like you–I don’t wear a lot of make-up…but I do wear a little, every day. I tend to take Saturdays and Sundays “off” from make up to let my skin breathe a bit, and I find that I do feel and behave differently–not as confident, hoping to blend in with the wall.

  7. I have been following Caitlyn’s no make-up adventures as well. Your post is a nice complement to her train of thought. 🙂 I haven’t been wearing makeup at all because I’m pregnant and throwing up tends to ruin mascara. I don’t feel self conscious about it until I’m around someone who is wearing A LOT of makeup, and then I suddenly feel plain. Also, if you wear makeup all the time and suddenly take a day off, then people comment, “Wow! You look tired today.” whereas if you only wear makeup occasionally, your bare face is more the norm.

  8. Emily says:

    I don’t wear much makeup. I really like bare minerals because I feel like it controls my breakouts. Usually I also wear mascara. I wear makeup as an effort to look older. I rarely use it on the weekends. I don’t think I act differently with makeup but I feel like maybe people think I’m older and treat me a little differently. P.S. I’m 26 and look 12.

  9. mixxedtape says:

    As much as a love wearing make-up there are days I just don’t feel like doing all that trouble (well, maybe ‘all the trouble’ is a bit exaggerated, but using a bit of concealer, some fond de teint, some mascara.. it all adds up in the end especially when I’m in a hurry or just downright cranky). I always regret not wearing any make-up when I’m feeling cranky or a bit down though, sometimes it really helps to get a bit of a confidence boost!

  10. I don’t wear too much makeup on a day-to-day basis but that is purely because I’m lazy. But for some reason, I always wear it when I go out for dinner or a social event and I feel weird if I don’t.

  11. Katie says:

    Now that I’m a stay-at-home mama, I really don’t wear make-up on a daily basis. But if I’m going somewhere where I will see people I know or putting a picture of myself on my blog…you better believe I’ve got it on.

  12. Great post! I just wear foundation and tinted lip balm but I definitely feel “naked” when I don’t wear any makeup at all. Boo.

    You have gorgeous eyes btw!

  13. Joss says:

    Nope I do not wear makeup on a daily basis. In fact…sometimes I go weeks at a time without wearing any at all!

    On the odd chance I do wear some..it’s usually just black mascara and clear lipgloss.

  14. Bea says:

    Thanks so much for this entry and your honesty. I never used to wear make-up until recently, since I figured I should learn how and it seemed like everyone wore some of it.. Soon it hit me that I was wearing it every day. It’s only a little (concealer, curl lashes + mascara and blush), but I feel like I “need” it to look awake.

    • I know what you mean about “needing” it too feel awake. I especially tend to feel this with my eyes.

      Makeup is a great enhancer, but I oftentimes have to remind myself that it’s just that. An *enhancer.* Of what we already have and who we already are.

  15. I only wear mascara on a daily basis, but I do not leave home without it on. I look like I have no eyelashes without it! It’s terrible how much I depend on it.

Leave a Reply

