chocolate truffles.

You guys sure know your coconut!!!!

Coconut pancakes.

Coconut macaroons.

Coconut bread.

Coconut rice.

I’m going to be cooking with a lot of coconut this month. 😉

Many people wonder if coconut is okay to eat or not, so here’s my gist of it all…

More and more studies are showing that not all saturated fats are created equal, and when it comes to coconut, the fats appear to be on the good side.

Although the studies are still in their infancy stages, and although I would still recommend moderation when it comes to eating coconut, coconut is made up mostly of what’s called “medium chain fatty acids.”  That is, the fat is small enough that it can be absorbed directly into our body and it can be used as energy, without the need to be further broken down or carried through the lymphatic system in our bodies.

The theory, then, is that coconut is good for us in moderation, just like all fats.  Some studies have even shown a rise in women’s good cholesterol when they used coconut oil over sunflower oil.

That’s good news for us coconut lovers. 😉

When I asked what I should do with the big bag of coconut that’s fallen into my lap, someone mentioned that I should make coconut macaroons.

And.  Well.

That’s how this recipe started out.

But then the melted chocolate didn’t really melt all the way, and after my initial gruff reaction, this kind of left me excited.

Because there were big chunks of chocolate and I thought it might be good to just put the coconut on the outside as a garnish and leave the chocolaty chunks well enough alone.

This left me with two chocolate bites for after dinner tonight…

…a couple more frozen ones for tomorrow night…

…and lots (lots, lots, lots!!) of coconut left to play with for next week’s breakfasts and dinners and everything else in between.

Sigh.  Here’s to coconut and all its possibilities. 

Chocolate Truffles–idea from Cinch Diet Plan by Cynthia Sass, MPH, MA, RD, CSSD

These taste even better chilled/frozen!

I used salted almond butter, but if you have an unsalted variety, just add a pinch of sea salt if desired.  These are so rich that one or two will satisfy.  Save the leftovers for the next night (provided you manage to keep other family members away!) 😉

  • 1/4 cup semisweet or dark chocolate chips
  • 3 tsp olive oil
  • 3 tsp almond butter
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon + pinch of ginger if desired
  • shredded, unsweetened coconut
  1. Rinse a glass bowl with water and place on table without wiping dry.  Add chocolate chips and place in microwave for 15 seconds.  Stir and return for another 5-10 seconds if needed.
  2. Add oil, almond butter and spices, stirring well until smooth and it begins to form a ball.  Dough will be very soft!
  3. Scoop onto waxed paper, sprinkle with coconut and refrigerate for at least 15 minutes.  Store on waxed paper in sealed container, in fridge or freezer.  Enjoy!

QUESTION: When it comes to chocolate, are you more attracted to dark and rich or milky and sweet?  I tend to mostly go for the dark, but occasionally I like a bit of something milky!

15 comments on “chocolate truffles.

  1. Jean-François says:

    For me, dark is the way to go … and it provides a nice visual contrast to the shredded coconut

  2. Simply Tia says:

    When life gives you “failed” macaroon “dough” then make chocolate-coconut truffles – YUMMY!

    I’m a milky and sweet type of chocolate lover! I wanted to make chocolate truffles for Valentine’s Day but not sure if I will .If I don’t, can you share yours with me please?

  3. Aranel says:

    I vote for dark. Even pretty dark. 70 % and above. Still… there are times when I suddenly crave for white with bits of dried cranberries and marshmallows (it was a Christmas gift from a friend of mine). A human being is so unpredictable. 🙂

  4. Nicole says:

    I love, love, love coconut!

  5. Great recipe Sarah! As usual 🙂 And it depends what I am eating… dark chocolate and mint is my favorite, but milk chocolate is my favorite on pretty much everything else!

  6. BroccoliHut says:

    I share the same view on coconut. There is quite a bit of research going on these days to see how coconut might be different from other saturated fats, so I’m not going to eliminate from my diet entirely, nor am I going to go hog wild.
    As a coconut lover though, I do hope future studies find that it’s a miracle superfood 🙂

  7. I love anything coconut :d

  8. […] Made chocolate truffles for my first […]

Leave a Reply

