a bag of coconut.

I’ve been given a big bag of unsweetened, shredded coconut as an early bird Valentine’s gift from mom.

Aside from eating it in trail mixes…

…and toasting a handful of it in the oven, as a soul satisfying splash to my morning bowl of oats…

…what do you think I should I do with it?

QUESTION: What is your favorite way to dish up coconut?

18 comments on “a bag of coconut.

  1. Make a healthier version of some coconut maccaroons, and then dip them in the dark chocolate you like to eat at night!

  2. Jean-François says:

    How about coconut rice with a nice spicy curry?

  3. Jenny says:

    I rarely get to use coconut since my husband doesn’t like it, so I primarily use it when I make seven layer bars around the holidays.

  4. Mandi says:

    You could make coconut butter with it! It’s delicious with almost everything and anything.

  5. Simply Tia says:

    Pina colada cupcakes? Coconut bread? Truffles dipped in coconut? Granola?

  6. I mix it in yogurt or pancake batter, but all of the above sound delicious!

    • Sarah says:

      Oh, that is a fabulous idea! I never thought of mixing it in with yogurt and pancakes, but that sounds perfect. Especially if pineapple is involved. πŸ˜€

      Thanks for the ideas!

  7. BroccoliHut says:

    You already mentioned my favorite use–oatmeal topper! But I also like to use it in breading mixes for spicy tofu and as a texture boost for smoothies!

  8. 3 words. Coconut Almond Butter. DEE-vine. I just made it last night and have consumed way too much of it already. Blogged about proportions at idreamofbeets.com

    So so good.

  9. Sweet gift!

    Perhaps you could make coconut zucchini bread? Or coconut lemon shortbread…

  10. Trisha says:

    You have to try this granola if you haven’t already! It is by FAR my favorite recipe πŸ™‚ It’s Terry Walter’s Maple Nut Granola from Clean Foods.. you can also find the recipe (with a few modifications) on this blog: http://wherewomencook.com/terrys-maple-nut-granola/ And my favorite part of it is the big chunks of unsweetened coconut flakes πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

