A Day of Good Eats.

The dietitian side of me is always curious to see what other people are eating on a daily basis, so I figured that it might be fun to have a day of showing what I’m eating from morning till night.

Some days are different (i.e., I like ice cream and french fries too!) but for the most part, this is a pretty typical pattern.

Especially the night time chocolate snack, which is an absolute MUST.  Chocolate has heart health benefits and it keeps my cravings at bay.  So yes.  That makes chocolate a must, must, must in my life. 😉

7:00am Breakfast

Breakfast this morning was 1/4 cup oatmeal cooked with 1 cup water and lots of spice, in the form of cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger.   I cooked the oats for about 3 minutes in the microwave, with 1/2 a banana.  The other half was served on top, along with 2 Tbsp. almond butter.

Plus a glass of vanilla soy milk on the side for some extra protein and a calcium boost.

8:00am Break
Gotta get my daily coffee fix!
I used to only drink sweetened coffee until discovering that the sweetness of soy milk was enough to satisfy me.  And now I’m turned on to unsweetened almond milk, which gives the coffee a nice nutty flavor (without any added sweeteners.)
10:30am Break
A cup of apple spiced tea after a brisk 45 minute morning walk.
11:00am Lunch
Grocery shopping came later in the afternoon, which meant I had to (literally) scrounge around the fridge to make today’s lunch.
Thankfully, there were plenty of mixed greens left, so I had a large plate of that with a diced carrot, about 1/4 cup salsa, 1/2 cup beans, 2 Tbsp walnut pieces and 2 Wasa Sourdough crackers crumbled on top.  Lemon juice and fresh black pepper completed the deal for a surprisingly satisfying (and filling!) lunch.
3:00pm Snack
There’s something about a parfait that makes everything seem so special.  Something about spooning crunchy sweet bits of berries, granola and yogurt out of a large jar that is just so irresistibly fun!
Today’s parfait included layers of about 1 cup plain, fat free yogurt sprinkled with cinnamon, 1 cup of strawberries and 1/4 cup homemade granola.  
Layers of goodness.
5:30pm Break
Drinking licorice tea while making dinner!
6:15pm Dinner
Thursdays can be a bit insane around here, so I made dinner simple tonight.
In a 400 degree oven, I roasted 1 chopped kabocha squash, 10 brusses sprouts (halved,) 1 large fennel bulb (sliced thin), 5 cloves garlic (peeled and sliced,) 2 Tbsp. olive oil, 1 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar and 2 pinches of crushed red pepper in the oven for 40 minutes, flipping half way through the cooking time.
Once that was ready, I simply scooped about 2 cups worth of veggies on top of about 1/2 cup cooked rice.  The finishing touch was 1/4 cup 50% reduced fat cheddar cheese and 1 Tbsp. sesame seeds.
You can’t go wrong with any combination of roasted veggies, healthy fats, protein and a whole grain underneath.
Sometimes simple really is best!
8:00pm Snack
Daily chocolate fix = handful of Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate covered almonds.
Yummy finish.
QUESTION: Do your days seem to follow a pretty “set” pattern as far as your eating habits go?  I don’t follow any hard and fast rules but I will almost always (1) have some form of produce with each snack/meal, (2) have a piece of some form of dark chocolate and (3) eat every 3-4 hours to keep my metabolism humming and to keep feelings of starvation away.  These simple three guidelines keep me happy. 😀
13 comments on “A Day of Good Eats.

  1. Mike Barratt says:

    Thanks for sharing! Very healthy day! Taking pictures of your meals is something Tim Ferriss recommends in the 4 hour body. Think I need to join in.

  2. Other than the coffee, fennel and the brussel sprouts (I am not a fan of either).. this looks delicious!

  3. You should definitely link up with WIAW next week 🙂 . Your dinner looks so good!

  4. BroccoliHut says:

    Yum! I want to come eat at your house. I love the idea of crumbling Wasa on top of a salad! I recently won a Wasa giveaway, so I have a few boxes hanging around…
    My days definitely have a set pattern in terms of meals–usually oats or a smoothie in the morning, hearty salad for lunch, and something hot for dinner (tonight I made butternut squash pizza).

  5. Bea says:

    Mmm, love this post! The rice bowl looks delish 🙂
    This is a silly question, but how do you microwave your oats? Do you find you have to stop it a few times to prevent overflow? Do you stir in between? Sometimes my microwaved oats end up “gummy” and I’m wondering what I could do because it’d be nice to have oats on busy mornings 😉

    • Sarah says:

      I have this oversized measuring cup (it fits about 4 cups) that I dump all the ingredients into before microwaving. Halfway through cooking time, I give it a really good stir (whipping it, really) and then return it to the microwave until its the consistency that I like, without having to worry about it all boiling over (which HAS happened once or twice, but not usually!) So far this method has been good about producing oats that taste very similar to stove top cooked, as long as I load up on the spices, flax and fruit! 😀

  6. Becky Sue says:

    Hi Sarah! I came across this blog post on food photography and thought of you, perhaps you will find it useful? http://mortalmuses.blogspot.com/2012/02/my-top-ten-food-photography-tips.html (This is no way intended as a critique of your photography which I think is great! I just thought it might give you some inspiration.) Have a great day!

  7. Sarah says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you, Becky! This is fabulous. What a great post!

  8. litesads says:

    Reblogged this on litesads and commented:
    VALUABLE TIPS

Leave a Reply

