when life throws a curve ball.

I’ve always had an obsessive personality.

When I was eight, my walls were covered head to toe in horse posters.  I owned my own lead rope, crop and tack equipment.  I read every horse book known to man*.
(*not an exaggeration)

When I was fifteen, I was so into dog training that I would spend hours reading up on things like clicker training and positive reinforcement.  My parents finally threw up their hands and told me that I could (and should) train a service dog.  That was that.

When I was seventeen, I drew out an entire map of our garden and had our soil’s pH tested and read every single magazine on organic gardening.

So it’s little wonder that I’m so consumed—so engrossed!—by my current job hunt.

Because this isn’t just an organic head of lettuce we’re talking about.

This is life.

I started to panic a little this afternoon.  Like…did I make the right career decision?  Do I belong here?  What happened to all of my goals and how come nothing is panning out like I had planned?  Why are no full time dietitian jobs opening up?

Honestly, I’ve had things pretty easy up until now.

I was accepted to the nutrition program at UMass my first time around.  I was also accepted to their internship…first time.  And now?  Everything is on hold.  And as obsessive as I am, I’m just as impatient.  I absolutely hate, hate, hate sitting on my hands.  Just waiting.  Ugh.

It’s like I expect everything to go smoothly all.of.the.time.  Even though deep down I know that’s so superficial of me.  Because sometimes?  Sometimes we have to pull on our boxing gloves and fight to make our dreams a reality.

After much deliberation and venting (and..gulp…whining) I’ve finally come to two conclusions.

(1) I’m not going to obsess.

Admittedly, obsessing is as natural as breathing oxygen.  I have an obsessive personality!  But I’m going to focus on the other things that make my life so meaningful.  I’m going to read in the Bible more and trust God with everything.  I’m going to dig in deep.  I’m also going to enjoy other areas of my life that I might not normally be able to enjoy as much once I *am* working full time.

(2) I’m going to grow and develop my career (even without a job.)

I love nutrition!  Sometimes life just throws a few curve balls and I have to learn to swing around them.  This might mean creating some new goals in the process.  Taking baby steps.

And, ultimately, I need to make myself as competitive as possible.  This means expanding my education, volunteering, and taking on each and every new experience as they come.  No more sitting back and waiting for me.  No more obsessing or worrying.

I’m moving ahead.

QUESTION: Do you have an obsessive personality like me or are you able to focus on many different things without letting the “big stuff” ever feel too heavy in your life?  What are some of your tried and true secrets for dealing with life’s curve balls?

21 comments on “when life throws a curve ball.

  1. I definitely have an obsessive personality. Good for you for looking at the bright side!

  2. I also have an obsessive personality – its always good to look on the brighter side of life though!

    • Sarah says:

      Oh, that is so true! It can be so easy to notice what’s NOT going right instead of noticing what IS going right. Looking on the bright side can change an entire mood. 😉

  3. Great post! I think you have the right attitude and perspective. Work hard, trust God, and everything will fall into place!

  4. Becky Sue says:

    I do not have an obsessive personality but my husband and first born do. I really don’t have any advice for you, sorry. I did just want to comment that our previous dog, Logan, who lived 17 1/2 years was a Therapy Dog. We would visit patients in the hospital once a week. It was so awesome. It became much harder for me to do once we had kids and then we moved. Hopefully I can get back into a program one day. I know if I was stuck in the hospital I would sure love a visit from a dog.

    You will find the perfect job. I can tell just by your blog what an asset you’d be to any facility in need of a nutritionist. Believe in yourself!

    • Sarah says:

      That is so awesome, Becky! Once I get settled down and have a dog of my own, I’d really like to train him to be a Therapy Dog. That must have felt so rewarding and Logan just sounds like such a great pup. 😀

  5. Nicole says:

    Ugh, yeah, I’m the same way. If things aren’t working out quite like I want them to, I want to throw in the towel, stomp around, and declare to the world: I quit!! But life doesn’t always go the way we want (or as fast as we want) so I’m learning to enjoy the moments I have… and to make each moment count. The dreams are worth fighting for, but until they come true, you’re still helping people with nutrition through your blog. 🙂 So you’re doing something and that’s what counts!

  6. I can be the same way at times. I don’t know if it’s because I have an obsessive personality, I think it’s more because I like to be in control and am incredibly impatient! 😉
    I’m in a similar situation right now and am with you. I’m trusting in God, focusing on His word and not my own ideas and “remedies” for the situation. I’ll be praying that God brings the perfect job your way and continues to build up this amazing faith and trust in Him! 🙂

  7. I’m a bit obsessive and controlling at times. It’s been worse in the past. My mother used to always tell me, “God is never late and He is never early. But he’s always right on time.” It can be hard to accept when our plan doesn’t line up with God’s plan. I know that frustration. Keep praying through it. And I’ll pray for peace and contentment for you. 🙂

  8. BroccoliHut says:

    It sounds like you and I are kindred spirits–perhaps obsessiveness is part of being a dietitian?
    You’ve accomplished so much already though–being accepted to the internship on the first go is such an achievement! I commend you for all your hard work.
    I believe your passion for nutrition will work out in the end. You’re such a smart and creative girl that any employer would be lucky to have you!

  9. Emily says:

    I have an obsessive personality and OH MAN DOES IT BACKFIRE!!! I am also looking for my first ‘big girl’ job. I’m done with graduate school in one month (OH MY GOODNESS) and constantly looking for jobs. Like I get addicted to indeed.com. No really. There are just so many search terms I can try!!! I think my job search is a little different than yours because I’m looking very very wide into almost any urban area and for almost anything health policy/health program manager type stuff. Ugh. Sometimes I get this wave of horror by the fact that I don’t know where I’m going to live in six weeks. Then my mom and dad (the greatest people ever) tells me to slow the heck down and remember I can’t control this and there is really only so much I can do in the job search. WE WILL FIND JOBS BECAUSE EVERYTHING HAPPENS FOR A REASON!!!!

  10. I’m so glad you posted this ’cause I’m getting frustrated with the lack of full-time job opportunities in my field of study. I graduated in December and was hoping to find something within a month, but I haven’t heard back from any of the applications I sent in…argh.

    Definitely agree that we should take this opportunity to enjoy some free time and pursue interests and volunteering gigs 🙂

    I really like the fence photo, btw!

  11. […] (3) Freaked out about finding a job. […]

Leave a Reply

