tofu kale lasagna.

This is Part 27 of the “31 Days of Healthy Living” series.

I hope you’re not a lasagna purist.

I hope this doesn’t look too much like cheating.

(insert embarrassed face here –> ______)

I hope you don’t mind the thought of tofu in lasagna.

Or kale, for that matter.

I hope you’re not a lasagna purist.

Because we all went back for seconds.

And I bet you will you too.

Tofu Kale Lasagna–modified from the Clean Eating Cookbook
(Serves 8) 

Shhh…don’t tell anyone the secret ingredient!!

Eating soy in its most basic forms of soy beans, tofu, tempeh, edamame, etc. can be a very healthy addition to your diet.  It has as much complete protein as meat and is a good source of those healthy omega-3′ fats  that our bodies need.  In addition, soy may help lower blood pressure in people who have hypertension and it may also help to reduce cholesterol.

I modified this recipe from the original by using whole wheat noodles, decreasing the amount of oil, and subbing in silken tofu for the firm tofu and rice wine vinegar for the mirin.  Feel free to make your own changes based on what you have on hand!  Enjoy!

  • 5-7 sun-dried tomatoes
  • 12 whole wheat lasagna noodles (such as Hodgson Mills)
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 large onion, minced
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 8-oz. mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 pounds silken tofu
  • 2 Tbsp. rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tsp dried basil
  • 2 tsp dried parsley
  • 2 bunches kale, finely chopped
  • sea salt and black pepper to taste
  • 5 cups tomato sauce
  • 1-3/4 cups reduced fat mozzarella cheese
  1. Preheat oven to 375.  In a small bowl, soak sun-dried tomatoes in enough hot water to cover.  When soft, drain, chop and set aside.  Cook lasagna noodles until just soft.  Drain and set aside.
  2. In a large pot over medium heat, saute garlic and onions until soft.  Add mushrooms; saute 3 minutes.  Add tofu, rice wine vinegar, sun-dried tomatoes, basil and parsley; saute 5 minutes.  Fold in kale, cover, and cook 3 minutes.  Season to taste with salt and pepper and remove from heat.
  3. Spread 1/2 cup tomato sauce over bottom of 9×12 inch lasagna pan.  Place single layer of noodles over sauce and cover with half the kale mixture.  Cover with 1-1/2 cups tomato sauce.  Sprinkle with 1/2 cup cheese.  Cover with another layer of noodles and remaining kale and tofu.  Add 1-1/2 cups sauce, 1/2 cup cheese and final layer of noodles, 1/2 cup sauce and remaining cheese.  Cover tightly with foil and bake 35 minutes.  Remove foil and bake 10 more minutes.  Remove from oven and set aside for 10 minutes before serving.

QUESTION: Do you eat soy-based products?  What are some of your favorites?

13 comments on “tofu kale lasagna.

  1. WOW! I’m definitely going to give this a try! Thanks so much for posting this!

  2. wartica says:

    Thanks for such a unique recipe: I’ve been looking for alternatives – to the common meat-based lasagna – and this just did the trick. I;m definitely going to try this out , very soon:) Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

  3. sarahnsh says:

    My fiancee got me into drinking soy milk which I must admit isn’t that bad and depending on what kind you got is really good. I can’t quite make the jump to tofu though, I tried it once before and couldn’t get past the texture. I’d try it again though if I had to. 😉

    • Sarah says:

      Haha, yes the texture is a bit odd! It’s grown on me to the point where I really enjoy it now, but at first I would only eat it silken in a smoothie or frozen (and then dethawed, of course!) which gives it this great meaty texture.

  4. Becky Sue says:

    This looks so good that I’ve got to give it a try! We eat edamame and love it so much. I’ve never cooked much with tofu but I do like it.

    Love that blue pot. I need one of those!

    p.s. I thought of you last night as I was making dinner, perhaps something you’d like… roasted mushroom and butternut squash, kale, diced tomato, shaved Parmesan, goat cheese, black olive and walnut flat bread pizza. It was so yummy and I have leftovers!

  5. Haha I did something similar with stuffed shells. I subbed tofu for ricotta cheese and didn’t tell my boyfriend until after he ate them, you couldn’t even taste the difference!

  6. Dawn says:

    Wow…that looks good and you are getting my ready for our dinner tonight. Hubby is making lasagna but my portions will be in control 😉

    I had a veggie lasagna before and even thought I did not have faith that it would be good it was AMAZING! This one looks interesting and I will have to add this to my “must make” list.

    • Sarah says:

      Portions are everything (which is fine and dandy for me, until we start talking Italian food…be still my heart!)

      Let me know if you give this lasagna a try and how you like it! 😀

  7. […] taky v korekturách, e-mailech, překladech, vaření. Chtěla bych zkusit tyhle podivuhodné lasagne a leccos jiného ze Sařina blogu. V běhání!! Ale teď už bude asi opravdu veliký […]

Leave a Reply

