happy snacking.

This is Part 26 of the “31 Days of Healthy Living” series.

Research tells us that snacking in between meals can help to control our appetites (and our BMI.)

Personal experience tells me that snacking in between meals is the only way to avoid the grumps before dinner.

I need my snacks (woohoo!…lattes count!!)

But what makes a healthy snack?  And in what amount?

Well, I pretty much hate “food rules.”  But a good rule of thumb is that a snack should be about half the size of your typical meal.  This is just a general assumption, depending on how hungry you are, what you’re in the mood for, and what kind of meals you regularly eat.

And, of course, meals should (usually) decrease a bit in size when we start including a daily snack.

How often?

I like to eat a little something every 3-4 hours.   Some people feel fine not eating for 4-5.  Try to find your “comfort zone.”  It’s important for your mind and your health not to feel ravenous by dinner time (or later in the day.)

I also like to make sure that it has a good dose of fiber and protein to keep me feeling satisfied.  There’s a reason we can’t “just take one” when it comes to potato chips!

~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you’re not a big snack person but find that you’re starving by the time that lunch or dinner rolls around, don’t worry!  There are snacks for all tastebuds.

The Sweeter Side of Snacking

  • One (or half) banana with a half tablespoon peanut butter and one to two tablespoons of your favorite granola.

  • A little low fat plain yogurt with half a crumbled whole wheat pumpkin muffin and a teaspoon of almond butter.

  • cheerios mixed with craisins (or raisins,) almonds and a couple of dark chocolate chips

  • Small soy (or low fat) latte with one pump of your favorite flavor.

  • Low fat, plain Greek yogurt with fresh berries.

Salty Snacks

  • Hummus and whole grain tortilla chips (or sweet potato chips.)

If you find that you’re always on the go, there are plenty of options there too…

Almonds, pistachios, cashews, etc. are totally transportable.

As are fruits and string cheese and peanut butter packets.

And whole grain, high fiber muffins.

Along with staying well hydrated, a little (healthy) snacking can do wonders for keeping you energized throughout the day.

And then you can swear goodbye for good to those ravenous pre-dinner munchies and pesky hunger-related headaches.

Happy snacking!

QUESTION: Do you eat daily snacks?  What are some of your favorite?

18 comments on “happy snacking.

  1. wartica says:

    Thanks for the all these great tips; they’re very valuable to living a fruitful life. Without these different snacks, I would probably go crazy lol. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

  2. BroccoliHut says:

    I do the same thing with bananas except coat them with yogurt rather than nut butter before pouring on the granola. I call them “banana fingers.”
    As you do, I prefer to eat every 3-4 hours. I start to get that empty feeling about 4 hours after breakfast–like clockwork!
    As for favorite snacks, they change depending on my food jags. Lately, I’ve been having a simple mug of cereal as an after dinner snack. I also like rice cakes with PB + J and a tiny mug full of kefir.

  3. sarahnsh says:

    Ohhh, I really, really wanna snack now after looking at all of those yummy snacks. I love the banana, peanut butter, and granola one. I bring snacks with me to work to eat in addition to my frozen food meal, so I’m not starving for the rest of the day. I love doing veggie straws and hummus for a snack, very fun to snack on.

  4. berrypetite says:

    I am definitely the type of person that could never survive on just three meals a day- I get too weak! I like to eat every 3-4 hours as you said. My favorite snacks include a banana with 1 tbsp of peanut butter (or dark chocolate peanut butter by the Peanut Butter Company), greek yogurt, Chocolate Peppermint Luna bars, low fat string cheese, or a protein shake. By the way, I have been loving your blog- great tips!

    • Sarah says:

      I have been chomping my way through the dark chocolate peanut butter this past week. It’s so delicious and hits the “chocolate spot” perfectly. 😀

      Thank you so much for the kind comments!!

  5. Jenn says:

    What great ideas! I snack 3-4 times a day and these ideas are totally going to change up my routine. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Kellie says:

    I am recently new to your blog and I have to say it is awesome and I really look forward to seeing more of these great healthy snack ideas. The images overall on your blog are fantastic and was just wondering what type of camera you are using? Little off topic I know but would greatly appreciate it to find out! Thank you in advance.

    • Sarah says:

      Thank you, Kellie!!

      I use a Canon Rebel XS for most pictures and a Canon PowerShot for when I’m on the go (it’s much smaller but still takes pretty nice shots!)

  7. Becky Sue says:

    Dear Sarah, I love your 31 days of healthy living and will be so sad when it’s over. 😦

    I’m not a good snacker or eater. I tend to not make time to eat until I’m starving. I’m sure that it’s a horrible habit to be in, something that I should change. Confession… I’ll go for a run in the morning then come home to shower quick and do everything else I need to do and it can be hours until I eat. I try to eat a mozzarella stick and drink a little milk right after my run.

    • Sarah says:

      Thank you so much, Becky!!

      I’ve recently taken on the habit of drinking a little milk after I run as well. I find that it helps me feel better for the next run, and it’s a nice (easy) way to refuel. 😀

  8. Katie says:

    I am such a snackaholic. I pretty much eat around the clock. I think lattes are my favorite snack. 🙂 Or a handful of almonds – I have at least 20 a day.

  9. Major snacker here. Regulars are apple slices and peanut butter, graham crackers and peanut butter, veggie varieties and humus, hard boiled eggs and saracha sauce and a smaller portion of dinner leftovers.

Leave a Reply

