favorite cookbooks (and a veggie scrambler)

This is Part 24 of the “31 Days of Healthy Living” series.

I’m a little obsessed with cookbooks.

Okay.

That might be an understatement.

My entire closet is packed full of them, one end to the other.  From Julia Child to Cooks Illustrated to Clean Food.  

(Actually, it might be borderline obsessive?!?)

So I thought it might be fun to share with you, some of my favorite cookbooks of all times.  The ones I turn to when I want something delicious the first time around.  The ones that I without a doubt, trust.

The Moosewood Cookbook might very well be one of the first cookbooks I started cooking with.  My aunt lent me her copy when she heard I was mostly into cooking vegetarian fare.  I bought a copy the next day.  It’s lovely.  I most enjoy the soups.

The Cooks Illustrated Light recipes have never let me down.

Never.

Sometimes the recipes can be a bit time intensive, but I’m okay with that as long as I know the end product will be worth the effort.  This is a wonderful cookbook to have for when company is coming and when you still want to prepare a lighter meal (lighter chicken parm, anyone?)

Better Homes and Garden is my go-to cookbook for when I want basic recipes.  Like granola.  Or sugar cookies.  Or breads.  Basic but essential!

Okay.

I know we’re not supposed to play favorites, but.

Well.

Clean Food may just as well be.  The pages have more spots and stains than any other.  Ah, yes.  The true sign of a well loved, well used cookbook. 😉

~~~~~~~~~~

I made a veggie scrambler tonight for dinner.

The combination is always different.  Always tasty.

First, the brussels sprouts went into the 425 oven for 20 minutes (just a drizzle of balsamic on top.)

And the ‘shrooms, onions and spinach did their thing in the frying pan (with a lil’ olive oil.)

When the spinach started wilting, the scrambled eggs hit the pan…

And everything sort of just finished at the same time.

I love it when that happens.

Veggie scramblers.

Always different.  Always tasty.

QUESTION: What are YOUR favorite cookbooks?

12 comments on “favorite cookbooks (and a veggie scrambler)

  1. BroccoliHut says:

    Ah yes. This is one of my FAVORITE topics. I have a ridiculous cookbook collection, but I just can’t bear to part with any of them!
    Anyway my favorites are Eat, Drink, & Be Vegan, Peas & Thank You, The Foods You Crave, and (obscure one) The Imus Ranch Cookbook.
    I will definitely have to check out Clean Food!

    • Sarah says:

      You would love Clean Food!

      And I really want to pick up Eat, Drink & Be Vegan. I’ve seen so many delicious recipes from that cookbook. Sigh. Yet another cookbook to add to my ever growing collection. 😉

  2. MMMMMMMM veggie scramble. SO good. I’ve been loving eggs lately, kind of a lot.

    My favorite ‘cookbooks’ are all of my favorite blogs! I don’t even own but one or two actual cookbooks. There’s so much available online today I have more than enough inspiration at my fingertips with my computer!

  3. I like the BHG cookbook too for basic common recipes and/or cooking times.

    I LOVE the Bread Baker’s Apprentice. It’s by far the most used cookbook in my kitchen.

    I also really like Viva Vegan which is vegan Mexican recipes. Whenever I don’t know what to make for dinner I go with the refried beans and cilantro lime rice from this cookbook.

    In the Kitchen with a Good appetite is really good for simple recipes (like BHG) that are a bit more refined. Every recipe I’ve made has worked perfectly without any tweaks. (That’s impressive!) There’s no pictures though, so if that’s your shtick then this might not be the book for you.

    • Sarah says:

      I *love* In the Kitchen with a Good Appetite! She just came out with a new cookbook as well, and I’m already planning to add it to my collection. Love her writing style too. 😀

  4. ooh i want that CI’s light cookbook! I love anything by them!

    we have veggie scramblers on the menu for tonight (with homemade english muffins)…i’m already excited! 🙂

  5. I adore the Moosewood cookbook – their soups are the best.

    Some of my favourite cookbooks are Veganomicon, How it all Vegan, and the Williams Sonoma series – mostly because of the gorgeous photographs:P

  6. Katie says:

    I LOVE the Moosewood cookbook – I grew up eating recipes out of it, they are the best!

Leave a Reply

