finding the source(s) of motivation.

This is Part XV of the “31 Days of Healthy Living” series.

Have you ever asked yourself why?

Why do you look for nutritious, delicious recipes?

Why do you work out (even on the days when you really don’t feel like it)?

Why do you care about being the healthiest version of YOU?

I ask myself this question sometimes, because I’m curious as to what my answer might be.

Because it changes, you know.

Just like my motivation.

Speaking of which, I’m not going to lie.  Some days, my motivation is a pair of skinny jeans sitting in my closet.  But more often than not, my motivation runs a whole lot deeper than that.

Energy.

Eating well and staying active literally KEEPS me well and active.  It gives me boundless energy…and I love that feeling!

Life.

Because feeling healthy and vibrant lets me enjoy my life and the life of others to the absolute fullest.

Happiness.

Because nothing beats the feeling of knowing that you can do anything (ANYTHING!) you set your mind to.

Peace.

Because the actual movement of walking and running gives me the most delicious taste of peace.  God created our bodies to move…it just feels good!

The source or target of motivation can constantly change and develop in our lives.

But it’s important to know why we want to get (and stay) healthy.

It is, really, the very starting block.

The starting block to a life full of energy, LIFE, happiness and peace.

QUESTION: Why do YOU care about being the healthiest version of you?

5 comments on “finding the source(s) of motivation.

  1. Caitlyn says:

    I really liked this post! My motivation to be healthy is the same as yours. Happiness, peace, energy, and the enjoyment of life. Plus, I just feel so darn good when I’m healthy! There’s no better motivation than that.

  2. Trisha says:

    I am loving this 31 days of healthy living series! Not only do you inspire people to be healthier, you also inspire them to live a happier, SIMPLE life. I look forward to reading your blog every day! 🙂

    Where you live looks beautiful, I’m from michigan, and we don’t have any mountains here! I really am missing out on those gorgeous views. I’ve always wanted to move but I wouldn’t be able to leave my friends and family!

  3. I was asking myself that question yesterday, actually, when I was saying no to a chocolatey temptation I really didn’t need. The answer eventually came out because I have set goals, and I want to feel my best (which is different than look my best). Treats are good. In moderation. And goals are good. In moderation.
    Thanks for this post!

  4. Sarah, your blog is so encouraging and inspiring! I can’t stop reading it!Thanks!

Leave a Reply

