Beer Baked Beans.

This is Part XIV of the “31 Days of Healthy Living” series.

You know, I’ve seen some people add beer to their baked beans,” I yelled to dad from where I was standing in the kitchen, stirring away at a pot of simmering beans.

I’m not entirely sure if I was just commenting on some random fact or if I was looking for approval from an outside source.  Or, maybe, I was just looking for someone else who I could put the blame on if things didn’t quite pan out. 😉

I waited.  Wondering.

“I’m up for trying it!” Dad shouted back from den.  

That’s just like Dad.  He’s always up for trying “it.”  A ridiculously hot chili pepper in (any) soup.  A pizza stone in a 500 degree oven.  Beer in baked beans.  He is quite often the convincing vote to my indecisive nature.

A while back, I posted one of my most favorite recipes from my Memere’s kitchen.

Baked Beans.

I could eat bowls and bowls of it, along with big hunks of homemade bread.  If you looked up comfort food in my own personal dictionary, this is what you’d find.

And then Samantha (aka, the author of Bikini Birthday) had the brilliant idea of adding whiskey to the recipe.

The idea was a brilliant one and I wanted to copy her creativity immediately.

Only I didn’t have whiskey, so I added a bottle of beer.  It added just the right touch of flavor and sweetness, and it totally complemented Memere’s recipe.  

Being Saturday and all, I wanted to keep this healthy living recipe simple and soulful.  And baked beans are one of the best things you can make on some lazy Saturday afternoon.  They do take a while to come together, but that’s all oven time.

Which means you are free to browse Pinterest or read or tag a friend on facebook.

Or browse through home good stores with your sistah…

…contemplating whether you have just enough money to purchase a new soup bowl or that jar of half-priced peanut butter…

..(the peanut butter almost always wins)

…or you could spend your afternoon at the ‘bucks, sipping on a hot soy mocha latte…

…(or you could be like me and do all of the above, since that’s what Saturdays are made for!)…

Well.  Whatever it is that you decide to do, I guarentee you that your house will smell amazing once you return.

And then you can indulge in a bowl of deliciously nutritious baked beans for dinner, making you feel as if your lazy Saturday afternoon was totally productive after all. 😉

Beer Baked Beans

I recommend doubling this recipe, as leftovers are great to have on hand.  They freeze well too!

I like to serve this with a side of hearty bread.  Or a side of buckwheat pancakes and a bowl of sauteed collard greens, which is equally delicious and fun.  Enjoy!

  • 2 c. navy beans
  • 1-2 onions, finely diced
  • 3 T. molasses
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp dry mustard
  • 1/2 c. ketchup
  • 1 T. Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 T. packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 bottle of beer
  1. Soak beans overnight in cold water.  Simmer beans in same water until tender, approximately 1 to 2 hrs.  Drain and reserve liquid. (keep in mind that you don’t want the beans sooo tender that they’re falling apart on you…they should be a little firm)
  2. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
  3. Arrange the beans in a 2 quart bean pot or casserole dish and top with onions.
  4. In a saucepan, combine rest of ingredients.  Bring mixture to a bowl and pour over beans.  Pour in 1/2 bottle of beer and just enough of the reserved bean water to cover the beans.  Stir gently with rubber spatula and cover dish with lid or aluminum foil.
  5. Bake for 3 to 4 hrs in preheated oven.  Stir occasionally.
  6. ENJOY! :D
    QUESTION: Describe your perfect weekend…
8 comments on “Beer Baked Beans.

  1. Evan Thomas says:

    Mmmm, I haven’t made baked beans since July. I hate that certain foods get attached to seasons, especially when they’re food I would eat year round.

  2. Caitlyn says:

    My perfect weekend…cool fall weather, sun bright in the sky, nothing on my agenda but baking, reading, and sitting on the porch with the sun on my face! Not that I’ve ever thought about this before 🙂 You beans look absolutely divine! I will be making these pronto.

  3. BroccoliHut says:

    I’ve never really used beer in my cooking, but I am getting inspired both by this post and by the blackberry-flavored beer Seth bought yesterday. The wheels are turning…

  4. Oooh yes, beer would be good too. :d

Leave a Reply

