a cup of health.

This is Part XII of the “31 Days of Healthy Living” series.

“The coffee tastes kind of week this morning,” I uttered, walking around the house in my pajamas with hair that screamed “it’s still way too early.”

I wasn’t always a coffee snob.  But then I drank Starbucks.  Which eventually tasted too week for my tastebuds too.

(And then I discovered the espresso shot.   😉 )

Don’t get me started on the watered down Dunkin Donuts coffee (I’m sorry, but I did warn you…I’m one of those stuffy coffee snobs!)

So, naturally, I figured that tea was out of the question.

Because if week coffee in the morning had me grumbling, then what would tea do?

(I really do realize how silly this sounds.)

Anyways.  You’ll be happy to know that I finally got over my initial, inexcusable dislike for tea.

Now I drink all kinds.  Having a cup of tea with a splash of soy milk (and a piece of dark chocolate on the side!) has quickly become my post-lunch ritual.

Sure, coffee has health benefits to brag about.

But so does tea.

According to an article by Registered Dietitian Barbara Quinn, some studies show that tea can lower your cholesterol levels.  Green and black teas can fight infections with similar compounds that are shared by antibiotics.

Peppermint tea may fight against cancer growth.

Black and green teas are full of antioxidants.

Ginger tea has been routinely used to calm upset stomachs.

Of course, we can’t expect tea to act like a magic pill, curing all of our ailments while giving us great longevity and health.

But.

As with coffee and its high antioxidant content (along with its possible protection against memory loss too!)…if you like tea, then enjoy a cup or two!  It offers many health benefits and it’s a great way to warm up during the chillier winter months.

(And it tastes great served with a hot batch of muffin from the oven!)

QUESTION: Are you a tea drinker?  What kind(s)?  I am in love with chocolate peppermint tea, but I also like regular mint, licorice, green, chamomile and chai.

24 comments on “a cup of health.

  1. Lisa Fine says:

    I love tea.

    As long as it’s not berry or fruity, I’m game. Peppermint, chamomile, ginger, fennel, green – any of those will do. And this time of year is just perfect for it.

  2. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    Jasmine Tea Pearls (loose tea kind) is the best! If you can find a local loose tea store that sells this-buy it! It is amazing, and the “pearls” turn into a fun flowery seaweed thing once immersed in water!

  3. I LOVE tea. My husband and I got into loose leaf tea in 2010 after discovering how amazing it can taste when brewed properly at a little tea house in Seattle, and we’ve been drinking it every since!

    We love peppermint for upset stomachs, chamomile for bedtime, green tea for antioxidants and overall health, and flavored red and black tea for post meal time. In other words, I’m a huge tea fan, but I still think coffee is my ultimate fave 😀

    • Sarah says:

      I’m such a coffee girl too! 😀

      I love that you’ve categorized the various teas according to their main purposes. I fell into the habit of drinking chamomile before bed as well, and it’s just so lovely. I really like Tazo’s chamomile with just a pinch of sweet. 😀

  4. BroccoliHut says:

    I LOVE tea! I have at least one cup per day. I usually buy any of the Stash varieties, but I am currently loving the green chai and good ol’ chamomile.

  5. Kit-Kat says:

    You’re looking at a girl who lives with a dad that NEVER has an empty mug of black tea, and a mom who NEVER has an empty mug of green tea. Thus, you bet I’m a tea drinker! Unlike the two, though, I hedge towards the herbal “tea”. Have you had Good Earth tea? By far THE BEST!!! Then it would be Celestial Seasoning’s Bengal Spice, Sugar Cookie Sleigh ride, Candy Cane Lane, and Gingerbread.

    • Sarah says:

      I don’t think I’ve *ever* tried Good Earth tea! I’m going to look for it today at the grocery store. 😀

      I love Celestial Seasoning’s holiday teas! So comforting, so delicious. 😀

  6. Becky Sue says:

    Hi Sarah! I made your spring rolls tonight for the first time and they were A.Mazing! I can’t believe I hadn’t tried them before. So easy and so yummy! Thank you!! I added shrimp.

    My all time favorite tea is Yogi Echinacea Immune Support http://www.yogiproducts.com/products/details/echinacea-immune-support/ and not because of the immune support I just love how it tastes. I used to buy it at Target but they stopped carrying it so I bought a case from Amazon. Some afternoons I add a bag of green tea and some I don’t. I also love the positive and uplifting messages found on the tea bag tags http://www.flickr.com/photos/rslaflam/6637900703/.

    • Sarah says:

      I’m so glad you enjoyed them, Becky! That’s one of my favorites. 😀

      I love Yogi teas, so I’m going to try this Immune Support variety the next time I buy a box. Bummer that Target doesn’t carry it any more! I may have to order it as well. 😀

  7. i love love love tea! at work i keep several different kinds so i have one for every mood. in the morning i love earl grey, green tea and matcha, in the afternoon earl grey and vanilla rooibos. throughout the day i also drink lots of herbal tea. i ama tea addict…. paired with a few squares of dark choc! amazing!

  8. Nicole says:

    I LOVE tea!! 🙂 My favorite is probably apple cinnamon.

  9. apachegirl15 says:

    there’s nothing like a nice hot cup of coffee in the morning and a nice hot cup of green tea in the evenings!

  10. I’ve tried so hard to like tea. Despite going to a pretentious artsy school where EVERYONE friggin LOVED the stuff, I just could not stomach it. Something about it just made me feel gross no matter what. However, lately I’ve decided that fruit teas are okay, and Green tea is tolerable with enough sweetener, so I choke it down for the health benefits. Also Chai is almost coffee-tasting, so I can trick myself with that too.

    I keep trying though, since I know there’s more antioxidants and such than coffee…

  11. Being from Seattle, I completely understand the coffe snob thing. It’s hard to go back to a poor quality joe. I do drink tea every day also, and my favorites are jasmine tea and a seasonal one Trader Joes puts out called Vanilla and Cinnamon Black Tea. Sadly I won’t be able to get any more of this one until next Christmas. 😦

  12. Haha I am a bit of a picky coffee drinker too, but I also have developed a fondness for tea! Some of my favourites are Chai, apple cinnamon, peppermint, lemon ginger and Lady Grey.

Leave a Reply

