Five and Random.

This is Part IX of the “31 Days of Healthy Living” series.

Two blogs (Reinventing the We’ll and Loving Simple Moments nominated me for The Versatile Blogger Award, which I am ridiculously excited about. ๐Ÿ˜€

I’m supposed to share 7 Random Facts about myself, but I was having such issues with finding 7 random things that I decided to tweak it and create a list of Fives.

(Because, in case you didn’t already know, I’m obsessed with lists and organization!)

Today, for example, I went to Target and walked out with a big bundle of new notebooks, post-it notes and a huge smile on my face. ย You’d think I had just won the lottery.

Hence my excitement to dedicate an entire blog post to lists. ย It really is the little things. ๐Ÿ˜‰

5 Words/Phrases Which I Overuse

1. “Sure!”

2. “Like”

3. “You know?”

4. “Seriously?”

5. “Howdy”…seriously. ๐Ÿ˜‰

5 Healthy Living Blogs You Should Be Reading

1. Kath Eats Real Food

2. Healthy Tipping Point

3. The Broccoli Hut

4. The Spoonful of Life

5. Graceful Fitness

5 Foods I Eat On A Weekly Basis

1. Lentils…for their versatility, affordability and nutrient dense properties!

1

2. Kale…it’s not listed as a super food for nothing. ย This green is powerful stuff, chock full of vitamins and minerals.

(Plus, it makes an awesome chip!)

3. Wild caught salmon…for its omega-3’s, high quality protein and impassible flavor.

4. Quinoa…for it’s high quality complete protein, fun texture and speedy preparation.

5. Blueberries…for their high antioxidant and fiber content and their sunny burst of flavor. ย Shoot for the frozen varieties now that winter is in full swing!

5 Items That I Almost NEVER Leave The House Without

1. Pony tail ties on my wrist.

2. Scarves. ย My closet is full of ’em!

3. Burt’s Bees Lip Balm. ย I have one in each purse just in case I forget. ย I’m obsessed and slightly OCD with this. ๐Ÿ˜‰

4. A snack. ย There is almost always a bag of almonds or an apple in my purse. ย For emergency snackage.

5. Camera.

5 People Who I Pass This Award On To:

1. Yes I Want Cake

2. Rebecca the Housewrecka

3. My Little Celebration

4. Katrina Runs For Food

5. Bikini Birthday

THANK YOU to both of the fabulous blogs for the nomination! ๐Ÿ˜€

QUESTION: What are 5 foods that you almost always eat on a weekly basis?

17 comments on “Five and Random.

  1. amcoballes says:

    Hello Sarah ๐Ÿ™‚

    5 foods.. hmm..

    1. rice and yes i’m very asian.. heart and soul!
    2. greens.. cleans up my tummy like crazy
    3. fruits.. not really a fan but im trying to make my diet balanced
    4. pork.. i’ve always loved pork since i was little
    5. chicken.. when i get tired of pork

    6. sweets.. oopps really have to squeeze that in!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Cheers!!

  2. BroccoliHut says:

    Thanks for the shout-out!
    5 foods I eat weekly…
    -Tofu–such a great (complete!) source of protein.
    -Apples–I eat one a day, literally.
    -Hummus–I make a batch every week.
    -Squash–I pick up some kind of winter squash every time I go to the store. It was butternut last week:)
    -Pistachios–I like them because they slow down my eating pace by having to shell them. Plus I know how tasty they can be in *someone’s* granola recipe…

  3. Aranel says:

    Weekly? Hmm…
    1. and foremost: Apples – I consume AT LEAST one a day.
    2. Cheese – some kind, some time.
    3. Wholewheat bread.
    4. Gherkins, my love.
    5. Rice, which I prefer from other side dishes.

  4. Caitlyn says:

    Scarves and pony tail ties on wrists are essentials! I think I’m more confident when I have my “security” bands on my wrist ๐Ÿ™‚

    My food list…
    1. Bananas…if theres’s such a thing as too many, I’m there.
    2. Almond butter
    3. Spinach
    4. WW bread or wrap
    5. Milk

  5. I’m with you. I can’t go anywhere without a snack.
    I’m a creature of habit, so I could easily make this list longer. But here are my 5 foods:
    1)Salmon Burgers–Quick and easy
    2) Broccoli
    3) Salads
    4) Apples
    5) Peanut Butter (usually with the apples)

    PS: Love your blog and this healthy living series. I discovered you through Dana at My Little Celebration. I appreciate your approach to live and look forward to all you have to offer!

  6. Faith says:

    Thanks for including me on your list!
    5 Foods I Eat on an Almost DAILY Basis
    1. Local, pastured eggs*
    2. Oats
    3. Beans of some kind
    4. Yogurt from grass-fed cow milk*
    5. Some sort of green vegetable
    *I’m a frugal girl but pastured eggs and grass-fed milk are way more nutritious and thus I spend the $$

    • Sarah says:

      During the summer months, there is a local farm that sells eggs and I find myself buying and eating more eggs than normal. The taste is incomparable and it’s nice to actually SEE the chickens walking around outside and living the life that every chicken should. Not to mention how much more nutritious they are.

      Love your list! ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. Becky Sue says:

    Hi Sarah, thank you for the nomination! I, too, can’t come up with 7 random things. Why is that? Why can some people make a list a mile long about themselves, lists that are funny and interesting and then there are people like me that can’t come up with more than 3 and even those are dull.

    However, I can come up with 5 foods.

    1. My daily Morningstar Farm sausage and a glass of orange juice.
    2. At least once a week with the avocado.
    3. My go to snack… Sabra roasted pine nut hummus and Pretzel Crisps.
    4. Glass of wine/beer a day. Switching from Chardonnay to Pinot Noir because of the resveratrol.
    5. Water, lots of it.
    6. Just because… Kraft Mac & Cheese because I cook it for my kids and I sneak bites before I serve it to them. It’s the only kids food holdover that I still really like. My guilty pleasure. lol

    I’m making your spring rolls this week!

  8. Emily says:

    I’m changing this to five foods I eat DAILY: peanut butter, greek yogurt, apple, banana, skim milk. HMMMM

  9. You are too kind! Thanks for passing this onto me. I’ll do my best to follow up!

Leave a Reply

