eat the cupcake.

This is Part VII of the “31 Days of Healthy Living” series.

You know…

If being a Registered Dietitian ever gets old…

If I ever go through some midlife crisis, desperately needing a change…

It’s okay.

I have a Plan B.

I’ll just move to the city and make an awesome living by selling cupcakes.  Easy Peasy.

Maybe it’s a little ironic that  two of my greatest passions in life are preparing healthy foods and baking cupcakes.

And maybe it’s a little ironic that I’m talking about buttery, chocolatey things during a “healthy living” series.

But then again.

Maybe it’s not.

My philosophy on health and food still stand firm, after all.

It goes along with what Michael Pollan so simply stated in his book.  “Eat food.  Not too much.  Mostly Plants.”

(I really wish I had said that first.)

I’d like to add to this famous quote a finishing line. “And when in doubt, eat the cupcake.”

In other words.

Find the balance in your life.

Eat mostly wholesome foods.  Lots of vegetables.  Plenty of greens and grains.

And then find the wiggle room for a cupcake now and then.

Embrace life.

Don’t let fear stand in the way of your dreams.

Be active.  Move.  Dance.

Sing at the top of your lungs.

Cry if you have to.

Try not to get hung up on hard-fast rules of what you can and can’t have.

And don’t feel that by saying “no” to your favorite foods all the time, that you’re actually being really, really good.

“Eat Food.  Not Too Much.  Mostly Plants.”

And when in doubt, eat the cupcake. 

HAPPY 54th BIRTHDAY, MOM!  You are the best and I thank you for being such an encouragement in my life!!

Love and cupcakes,

Sarah

QUESTION: If you had to make a career change today, what would your new “dream job” be?  I’d be the owner and operator of a quaint little cafe shop.  With cooking and healthy living classes on the weekends.  😀

11 comments on “eat the cupcake.

  1. Great post! If I had to change ‘jobs’ right now, I’d honestly say I’d be a full-time blogger! I love experimenting in the kitchen and working on my photography so much!

  2. Caitlyn says:

    I could not agree more! Now, if only I could have one of those cupcakes 🙂

    PS Happy Birthday Sarah’s mom!!

  3. livvy30 says:

    Sarah, your photography is getting sooo good! I want to eat those cupcakes now 🙂 My ideal job would be similar to yours. I’d like to have a cafe where artists could show their work-photos/paintings on the walls, new music playing etc… Lots of mismatches sofas and tables. Lots of books and free wi-fi! I wouldn’t make any money at all, but I suspect I’d be happy!

    • Sarah says:

      Thank you, Livvy!! 😀

      And I *love* those kinds of cafes! There’s one in New Hampshire, where people can walk through local art displays with their coffees and there are plenty of seats and couches and music. It’s lovely. 😀

  4. BroccoliHut says:

    Love the cupcakes–particularly those elegant little liners!
    If this whole dietitian thing doesn’t work out for me, I thought maybe I’d go into the marketing side of food…

  5. Nicole says:

    I think my dream job would be to become a novelist… I’d totally write in your little cafe and eat cupcakes and drink tea. 🙂

  6. apachegirl15 says:

    I would own a coffee shop. Is there such a thing as coffee cupcakes?

Leave a Reply

