A Spare Moment (or two.)

This is Part VI of the “31 Days of Healthy Living” series.

How do you spend your “me time”?

Shopping?

Reading?

Walking?

What do you like to do?

This morning, I woke up to a sparkling layer of fresh dust on the ground.

The air was too warm to make the snow crunchy.  Too warm to make it last.  The speckles of snow melted as soon as I stepped out, leaving foot steps of grass wherever I went.

Everything felt so new.  So energetic and fresh.

There’s something about spending time in the outdoors–even for just a moment or two–that always leaves me feeling energized for the rest of the day.

Which probably explains why I feel so strongly about taking some “me time” each and every day.

Tonight, I had another spare moment to myself.

A spare moment.

All to myself.

What to do?

How about throwing on some music and making a pot of soup?

I’ve made this nutrient dense soup dozens upon dozens of times, but I love it so much that it bears repeating.

As is true with many vegetable stews, this recipe is far from fussy.  It offers you just the right amount of “me time” to spend in your kitchen before it goes off and does the rest of the work by itself, simmering on the stove.

I like that about vegetable soups.

I really like this Gypsy soup.

I think you’ll like it too.

Gypsy Soup–modified from the original version seen in Moosewood Cookbook

I almost always double this recipe, as it freezes well and will save you lots of time in case you need a quick and easy dinner the following week.  Serve with a hunk of wheat bread for dunking and enjoy!

  • 1 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 2 c. chopped onion
  • 3 medium cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 stalk celery, minced
  • 2 c. peeled, diced sweet potato
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. mild paprika
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp basil
  • dash of cinnamon
  • dash of cayenne (I use about 1/8 tsp to make it spicy)
  • 3 c. water
  • 1 medium bell pepper, diced
  • 1 15 oz. can of chick peas (drained and rinsed)
  1. Heat the olive oil in a large pot.  Add onion, garlic, celery, and swee potato.  Saute over medium heat for about 5 minutes.  Add salt, and saute 5 more minutes.  Add seasonings and water, cover and simmer for about 15 minutes.
  2. Add tomato, bell pepper, and chick peas.  Cover and simmer for 10 + minutes or until all vegetables are as tender as you like them.  Taste to adjust seasonings and serve.

QUESTION: What is your favorite thing to do when you have a spare moment to yourself?

11 comments on “A Spare Moment (or two.)

  1. Yay I just posted a Moosewood soup recipe too! That pretty green bowl full of vegetable soup looks wonderful.

    I, like you, enjoy going for walks and cooking for “me” time. Being outside always puts me in a good mood, even in the dead of winter…as long as there’s some sunshine 🙂

  2. amcoballes says:

    beautiful pictures 🙂

  3. mixxedtape says:

    I sure love some ‘me time’, I think my family likes it too when I take some time for myself cause I tend to get a bit grumpy when I haven’t done that in a while 😉

  4. IamSimplyTia says:

    These are amazing shots and that soup looks so hearty and comforting.

    Happy 2012!

  5. “Me” time is so essential. I need some every day or I go nuts!

  6. Dawn says:

    That soup look realy good.

    It’s so rare that I have any time at the hosue alone but when I do I like to listen to music and clean the kitchen…is that odd?

    The other thing I have been doing is going into my bedroom for a few min. alone to meditate this year and I am really starting to enjoy that “me” time.

  7. azuki says:

    just to let you know, i made this the other day (left out the celery) and it was great! it made quite a bit so i froze some of it for quick meals. thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

