Movin’ and Groovin’.

This is Part IV of the “31 Days of Healthy Living” series.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned about being a New Englander, it’s that you can’t take yourself (or your fashion) too seriously in January.

And February.

And March.

(probably December and quite possibly April too)

It was zero degrees this morning.

Yes.

You heard me right.

Zero degrees.

I  pulled out the most unfashionable things that I could find, just to keep myself warm for this morning’s run.  The biggest down jackets.  The thickest scarves.  Warm, winter running tights.  Apparently, all I need are some wool socks. 😉

(This is from last year!  No 6.5’s for me lately, although I’d like to work up to that again soon!)

That being said, my motivation isn’t quite the same when winter rolls around.

Sure, I love running through the first snow fall, when the ground is pure white and not a soul would dare venture out except for the few and the brave (at least that’s what I like to tell myself.)

But still.  It’s tough.  It’s not like summer, when I can just roll out of bed, throw on my sneaks and just run.

I have to lean on other ways to keep me motivated in staying fit.

1. Having an exercise companion.

My dad runs through negative degree temperatures with me, no excuses.  I can’t think of anyone else who would do that night after night after night, even during snow storms.

(Which is why it’s so important to find someone who’s as dedicated as you are!)

2. Find more ways to move.

In the summer, the days are longer.  Which means I can usually sneak in a morning run and a short walk after dinner.

During the winter?  I’m lucky if I get my morning run in!  So I try to find new ways to move.  Parking far in the parking lot.  Shoveling.  Yoga.  Dancing to the radio while I make dinner.  And so on and so forth.  Little bouts of activity really do add up!

3. Mix it up.

Some people need to mix up their workouts, or else they risk being bored.

I literally have to force myself to branch out from running and my twice-weekly yoga.

But once I do, I realize what I’ve been missing.  It’s a good idea to try something new, whether that means a new gym class, a workout DVD, or snowboarding!

(by the way, snowshoeing may LOOK easy…)

4. Reward yourself with something you love.

When I have the time, I like to end a chilly winter run with a cup of hot tea and 30 minutes of reading under a warm, toasty blanket (post-stretching, of course!)

5. Remind yourself of what it feels like to finish a good workout.

You may have heard this a million and one times, but it’s still very true.

You’ll never regret working out.  You’ll almost always regret NOT working out.  Unless you’re sick, of course.  In which case, listen to your body, rest, and get healthy so that you can head back out there!

QUESTION: How do you stay fit in the winter?  Do you find it tougher to stay motivated?  Share your tips and secrets on staying fit!

17 comments on “Movin’ and Groovin’.

  1. Great post!

    In the wintertime I try to get out and run as much as possible, when it’s not miserable. But I usually opt for my fitness center where I dabble between the bike, treadmill and elliptical. I also do more weight training in the winter so I can build lean muscle and burn off more hearty winter foods like chili and DQ blizzards : ) It’s all a balance.

  2. sofia says:

    the pictures in this post are adorable 🙂 i definitely up my yoga in the winter – it’s just so much more enjoyable. when i do brave the cold and run, i’m sure to move fast and bundle up!

  3. Katie says:

    I like that idea of rewarding yourself with something after you exercise…I’m going to do that! And good for you getting out in zero degrees!

  4. Becky Sue says:

    You ran today? Good for you. I was going to but it was too darn cold. I really don’t like to run when it goes below 28. I’ll get out there in the next couple of days as it warms up. Right now I’m mixing it up quite a bit with yoga, tennis, pilates and running plus a dog walk or two.

    • Sarah says:

      I am so looking forward to today, which is supposed to be a lot warmer than it has been these past couple of days. 😀

      I love tennis! It’s been forever since I’ve played, but I’d love to get back into it. 😀

  5. Nicole says:

    I joined a gym I really like… So hopefully this winter, I’ll actually work out. 😉 So far, so good!

  6. BroccoliHut says:

    Sometimes my motivation does wane in the winter, because i know I can hide whatever imperfections my body might have with all those thick scarves!
    Great tips though–thanks!

  7. Haha I just run on the treadmill.

  8. It’s tough to get out of bed though!

  9. apachegirl15 says:

    in reading this, i feel a bit like a wuss…it’s 71 degrees today in Arizona and I don’t wanna run before work…(or after for that matter!) outside. Gym time

  10. Caitlyn says:

    I can’t get my head around zero degrees! I dont’ think I’ve ever been in zero degree weather! It’s 68 degrees outside right and if I weren’t at work I would be outside in shorts and a t-shirt. What a difference!

Leave a Reply

