New Years Resolutions

Did you know that studies show a 92% failure rate when it comes to New Years Resolutions??

One of the main problems with resolutions is that people anticipate perfection on the very first day of January.

No.

That’s not how it works.

Successful resolutions take time.  They’re tweaked, they’re perfected.  They go up, they go down, they get hidden, they pop out.  It takes a good year or so to make most of them work.

You wouldn’t give up on your entire running regimen after deciding one day that you didn’t feel much like running, would you?  Would you?

(For the record, I love making New Years Resolutions and am notorious for creating lists and lists of goals and ideas.)

My 2012 New Years Resolutions:

  • Become a more mindful eater.
  • Start a workout journal and run injury free in 2012!!
  • Begin a prayer/study journal.
  • Cook my way through the “Clean Eating Cookbook.”
  • Spend <$180 a week on groceries (not including paper products!)
  • Frequent Starbucks once or less a month (eeps!)
  • Begin taking CEU’s to maintain Registered Dietitian status.
  • Read at least 2 scientific journals a week.
  • Begin Master’s program.
  • Read 12 or more books in 1 year (without buying any!)
  • Enhance my photography skills.
  • Let go, Let God.

Phew.  That’s a lot.  The good news is that they’re totally achievable.  While I plan on keeping all of them in the back of my head, I really want to focus on one a month.

I also want to introduce a new series for the month of January…”31 Days of Healthy Living.”

Starting tonight.

Stay tuned.

Simply Simmered Shrimp
(Serves 2) 

My parents, sister, brother-in-law and I had a very low-key New Year’s Eve party at my house last night.  It was lovely and perfect and very much me.

Unfortunately, I don’t like the traditionally served Chinese food.

Fortunately, I love shrimp.

I threw together a very simple dish of simmered shrimp with tomatoes, spinach, garlic, white whine and a dollop of feta cheese.  The meal was completed with a hunk of bread from Panera for dipping purposes.  Perfect.

  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 4 large cloves garlic, minced
  • 28-oz. can diced tomatoes with basil, oregano and garlic seasoning (or plain, if unavailable); liquid drained
  • 2-3 large handfuls of baby spinach
  • splash of white wine (about 1/4 cup)
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 12 oz. cooked shrimp, tails removed
  • feta cheese (optional)
  1. In a medium saucepan, heat olive oil.  Add garlic and cook for about 30 seconds or until fragrant.  Add diced tomatoes, spinach, white wine and red pepper flakes.  Bring to a light boil, reduce heat to medium and simmer until spinach is wilted.
  2. Add cooked shrimp, lower heat, and simmer for an additional 5-10 minutes.
  3. Place in bowls, top with feta cheese, and serve with bread for dunking.   ENJOY! 😀
QUESTION: Do you make New Years Resolutions?  What are some of your resolutions for 2012?


9 comments on “New Years Resolutions

  1. Becky Sue says:

    Happy New Year, Sarah! Did you know that you are Pinned and re-Pinned all over Pinterest? Keep the recipes coming! It’s my kind of food. A few of my New Year’s resolutions are to run not one but two 1/2 marathons this year!, learn how to design my own blog and to start writing in a journal.

    • Sarah says:

      Thank you so much, Becky! 😀

      And I love your New Year’s resolutions! I would love to run another half marathon as well! Great plan. 😀

  2. Katie says:

    New Year’s resolutions just end up stressing me out and making me want to control everything…so I usually steer clear, but there are things that I want to focus on more in 2012. Good luck with all of your goals!

  3. Liz says:

    I love your goals, they sound a lot like mine. I especially want to focus on the prayer journal too, it’s amazing when you pray about something and let it go, how God magically does his thing to work out in your favor 🙂 I plan on using more recipes when cooking (using more of your recipes – they are just so up my alley because they are healthy!) because I’ll get too caught in a rut with making the same type of salad or turkey burger or whatever and then I get bored. Can’t wait to see how it all unfolds! 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      I know what you mean! It’s so easy to get stuck in a rut. I’d really like to branch off more and try new cuisines and styles this year. It’s fun to try new things. 😀

  4. BroccoliHut says:

    I love your list of resolutions!
    I do make a list of my own every tear, although it’s a bit dangerous with perfectionistic tendencies.
    This year, I am hoping to get placed in an internship program, lose some weight for my wedding, run throughout the year injury-free (and maybe participate in a few races), and keep up my sunscreen habit.

    • Sarah says:

      I have complete confidence that you’ll find the right internship program for you! You’re so driven and determined, and the decision committee will notice that. 😀

      I’m definitely hoping to run injury free this year as well! 😀

  5. […] New Years Resolutions and 31 Days of Healthy Eating […]

Leave a Reply

