Focused on Fat.

This is Part 1 of the “31 Days of Healthy Living” series.

Let’s talk fat.

“Fat”, in case you haven’t noticed, can be a very scary word.

This is, after all, the one single nutrient that sent the 1980’s food scientists, advertisers and marketers into a frenzy, as they thought up new ways to make their foods taste good while appealing to the newly popularized low-fat craze.

(This is before they went into a frenzy about carbohydrates, but that’s another tale for another day. )

But wait.  Did you know our body needs fat to survive?

Picture, for a moment, how fluid and slippery and smooth a drizzle of olive oil can be.  This is exactly what omega-3 fats can do to keep our arteries healthy and happy.  Fluid, flexible and smooth.  Omega-3 fats, when combined with other preventative measures, can prevent hardening and thickening of the arteries.

Found in things like fatty wild caught salmon, flaxseed, walnuts and canola oil, omega-3 fatty acids keep more than just our heart healthy.  They also protect our eyes and our brain.  As if that wasn’t enough, a small dose of fat also keeps us full after our meals, keeps our blood sugars stable, and they makes our hair and skin supple and healthy.

As a side note, it’s true that fat contains more calories per gram than either carbohydrates or protein.  However, weight loss studies have shown that a moderate fat intake can actually help in weight maintenance and/or weight loss.

In other words, it’s a good idea to eat more fatty fish.

It’s a good idea to add some walnuts to your morning dish of yogurt.

And it’s a good idea to cook your stir fry in a bit of olive oil.

It’s a new year.  It’s time to get over the fear of fat.

Grilled Orange Marmalade Salmon w/ roasted broccoli and potatoes
(serves 6-7)

Grilling is one of my favorite ways to cook salmon.  I’m even willing to keep an eye on it for dad in the middle of winter, as the taste just can’t be beat.  Although on those really cold New England days, I’ll use the broiler for pretty good results too. 😉

I like to use wild caught salmon for its heftier dose of omega 3 fatty acids.  Not to mention the very big taste difference which you’ll notice immediately.  Enjoy!

  • 2# wild caught salmon
  • 1/4 cup orange marmalade
  • 1 Tbsp. low sodium soy sauce
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  1. Preheat the grill to medium-high.  Place salmon skin side down on a large plate.
  2. While preheating, combine orange marmalade, soy sauce and garlic.  Spread on top of salmon.
  3. When grill is heated, place salmon skin side down on grill.  Cook for about 4 minutes.  Flip.  Continue cooking another 4-6 minutes.  Salmon is cooked when it flakes easily.  Try to avoid overcooking. 😉  Enjoy!
  4. Roasted Broccoli and Potatoes: Preheat oven to 425.  Combine 3 large heads of ch0pped broccoli, 1 chopped red onion, a sprinkle of sea salt and 2 Tbsp. olive oil on a large baking pan.  In another baking pan, combine 4 diced potatoes with 1 Tbsp. olive oil and cajun seasoning to taste.  Place both pans in heated oven, one on bottom sheet and one on top sheet.  Cook for 12 minutes.  Flip and rotate so that the other is on top and the other on bottom.  Continue cooking another 12-16 minutes or until browned and tender to liking.

QUESTION: What are you favorite “fat” sources?  I’m a big fan of walnuts.  I add them to my yogurt or oatmeal every morning, along with some flaxseed.  I also adore any kind of nut butter, wild caught salmon and olive oil. 😀

16 comments on “Focused on Fat.

  1. BroccoliHut says:

    Yay for fat! I am still working on friends and family who are still convinced that all high-fat foods are created equal…my mom still won’t even touch olive oil.
    Anyway, my favorite sources of fat would have to include nut butter (I usually have multiple jars open in the fridge), avocado, and olives.

  2. Kit-Kat says:

    Nut butters, chocolate, and certain brands of nutrition bars… and soymilk.

  3. I love me some fat. And some salmon! Great post, friend! Looking forward to the series!

  4. Katie says:

    yes! I’m all about the fat…I try to convince friends/family of the benefits (necessity!) but they rarely want to hear it. Oh well…I’ll just enjoy my full belly, satiated appetite, and smooth skin all by myself. 🙂

  5. Lisa Fine says:

    Such a cool idea to have a running series all month. I’ve been thinking of doing something like it, but more on a monthly basis. But now you have me thinking… 🙂

    I love cashew butter, peanut butter, and sunflower seed butter. And avocadoes. And full fat yogurt. Fat is definitely my friend. Happy New Year!

    • Sarah says:

      I’m a big fan of full fat yogurt as well. It keeps me satiated for the longest time and tastes absolutely indulgent.

      Happy New Year, Lisa! 😀

  6. Evan says:

    A post all about fat! Be still my heart 🙂

    I love it all. Butter, chocolate, salmon, steak, avocados, coconut, cheeses (brie, gorgonzola dolce, and manchego are my favorites), sesame oil, tahini, cashews, full-fat dairy… I could go on and on.

  7. Nicole says:

    Nate and I need to try making that salmon! It’s SO good!!

  8. Crissy says:

    Hi Sarah! I love your 31 days of Healthy Living. Thank you for sharing your knowledge to us. 🙂 I’m always raring to see your posts.

  9. […] addition to your diet.  It has as much complete protein as meat and is a good source of those healthy omega-3′ fats  that our bodies need.  In addition, soy may help lower blood pressure in people who have […]

Leave a Reply

