Christmas Reflections (and a GIVEAWAY)

I didn’t take very many pictures this Christmas.

Mostly, I just ate a lot of good food.  I laughed a lot.  I took a bite or two (or three) of every single dessert (we have a family of wonderful bakers.)  I hugged, I remembered, I enjoyed.  And I savored every moment of food, family and faith.

Christmas embraces a lot of memories for me and I didn’t want to miss a second of anything.

I quite simply allowed myself to not be in charge of anything.  Instead, I jumped head first into savoring each delicious moment.

It felt absolutely wonderful.

(That would be me, my stocking, and a bag of Godiva Truffles on Christmas morning…I may have acted just a tad over-excited about this. 😉  )

I did, however, help prepare some things on Christmas Eve, when the family came over for dinner.  I also made some pecan bars and baked up some gluten-free/vegan cookies which turned out quite good, if I say so myself. 😉

Recipe here: Veganomicon’s Wheat Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

After one too many of those…

…and this French-Canadian meat pie (homemade by my cousin Melissa)…

…and Nicole’s lemon cake…

…and these…

…I’m feeling a little like an overstuffed French toast.

Thank goodness I have a fridge full of healthier snacks to get my digestive system back in working order. 😉

And thank goodness (for you!) there are some very generous people over at Chobani who want to share THREE tubs of their new 32-OZ containers (0%, 2% and vanilla) with one lucky reader.  Note: It’s only open to US readers and Canada readers (except for the vanilla, which isn’t yet offered there, but they’ll send you two big tubs of their plain…the 2% is by far my favorite!!!)

All you have to do is leave a comment letting me know what your favorite part about this weekend was and you’re in the running.  I’ll let you know who the winner is on Thursday morning. 😀

To Enter The Chobani Giveaway: Tell me what the best part of your weekend was…winner will be announced Thursday morning!

71 comments on “Christmas Reflections (and a GIVEAWAY)

  1. My favorite part of the weekend was definitely walking around the neighborhood and looking at Christmas lights with my family. Its one of our traditions and something I look forward to each year!

  2. merry christmas, sarah! glad to see you had a wonderful and blessed time. my favorite part about the weekend was getting to spend christmas morning with my husband and i, just the two of us, at our house. we moved into our house last year and was up in seattle visiting family last christmas, so this was the 1st christmas we had in our house (we spent christmas eve with all my family, but just drove after the party back to our town). plus it is our last christmas just the two of us before our baby gets here in april! ps – my other favorite thing? getting to see les miserables on christmas eve!

  3. katherine d. says:

    i got to eat vegan pie with the ones I love

    katherinedibello (at) gmail (dot) com

  4. Lisa Fine says:

    I spent Saturday night with my sister…catching up, watching a movie, and eating Chinese food. It was perfect.

  5. Laura says:

    My favorite part of Christmas was spending the day with my extended family. We’re spread out across three states so it’s a rare occasion when we all get together. We had a great time!

    • Sarah says:

      That is so great! I have some relatives who live far, far away, so I know exactly what you mean. I’m glad you had a lovely Christmas together! 😀

  6. my best part of my weekend was hanging out with my brother who came home from NYC! happy holidays 🙂 hope you had a great Christmas!

  7. Mitra says:

    My favorite part of the weekend was definitely the food! I ate so much, but it was worth it.

  8. Emily says:

    My favorite part of the weekend was seeing my family! Hope you had a good one!!

  9. anne strauss says:

    Best part is my early morning walk on Christmas Day – so quiet, so still – it’s magical.

    • Sarah says:

      I went out for a walk on Christmas Eve morning and it was so lovely. After all the hustle and bustle from the holiday preparations, it felt good to be out in the fresh air, while everyone else still slept. Very peaceful. 😀

  10. edmontonjb says:

    My favorite part was watching my kids open their gifts. There were some huge surprises and the smiles and laughter could not be beat!

  11. Nicole G says:

    Best part of my weekend was definitely dressing up as Santa for my younger cousins. I managed to convince the two youngest at least =)

  12. Megan says:

    The best part of the weekend was coming home and spending Christmas with my family. I don’t see them often so it was nice coming home!

  13. Watching my sister wake up with a smile on christmas day because her boyfriend proposed to her.

  14. the best part of my weekend was last minute Christmas shopping. i know it sounds crazy, but I love the crowded togetherness the holidays bring, even if parking is impossible.

    • Sarah says:

      That doesn’t sound crazy at all!! I’ve always said the same thing, that I like the crowds right before Christmas. It’s nice to know I’m not alone. 😉

  15. sofia says:

    best part of my weekend: spending time with the boyfriend’s family. and eating lots of cookies. can’t forget those. mmm.

  16. best part of my weekend was relaxing with my family, for sure 🙂

  17. Janice says:

    my fav part of the weekend was getting new clothes for myself. Heh. Have to pamper oneself sometimes 😉

  18. SpaceySteph says:

    My favorite part of the weekend was that it was my very first Christmas- I’m Jewish but I spent a real Christmas with my Catholic boyfriend and his family so we were kidding that it was “baby’s first Christmas.” It was really awesome!

  19. Kori says:

    Your food looks so incredible!!! Lemon anything is my absolute favorite (my mom always made her dad a lemon meringue pie for his birthday, so I think it runs in the family =]), so I would love to have sunk my teeth into Nicole’s cake. 😉 My favorite part of this past weekend was simply being with my family. I love them more than I can express, and having the opportunity to spend time with them, laugh, and be ourselves was the best present of all. It certainly allows me to leave 2011 with a big smile on my face and excitement for all that 2012 will bring. Merry late Christmas to you, Sarah, and all of your family!

  20. Christina says:

    Spending time with my family is always the best part of any holiday 🙂

  21. Julie L says:

    spending the day with a few relatives of my husband’s…very relaxing and fun

  22. Mami2jcn says:

    My favorite part was seeing my 2 year old open her Elmo gift and yell out “Melmo!”.

  23. Jessica says:

    This was prolly my favorite Christmas…being just married in Novemeber and having a new step daughter who is three…we spent two days making cookies for Santa…then watching her open Santa…

    Then ending the day with the my husband and me…just the two of us with a grown up dinner…
    I couldnt ask for anything more.

  24. eryka says:

    Oo! My favorite moment of the weekend was waking up to freshly baked cinnamon rolls and opening stockings with my husband–a first time for us!

  25. Blayne says:

    my favorite part of the weekend was the lull after the frantic present-opening and before the frantic dinner-making, when my family was occupied with new books and a game of cribbage. christmas music was playing in the background in a most satisfactory fashion. =]

  26. Cat says:

    Best part of my weekend was spending time with family and baking gingerbread men. Of course it was a lot of fun eating them too 🙂

  27. Kellie says:

    My favorite part of the weekend was spending Christmas with my husband and son. I’m unemployed so we got a few presents for our son what we could afford. My husband and I didn’t exchange presents but thats ok we have each other and our family.

    • Sarah says:

      I love this! You truly found the spirit of Christmas. It’s not about the gifts, it’s about having the ones you love around you during one of the most lovely times of the year. Have a great New Year!

  28. Kirstie Jiongco says:

    My favorite part about this weekend was having the time to try out a bunch of new recipes using healthy substitutions i.e. all whites, applesauce and of course CHOBANI!

  29. Favorite part of the weekend? Watching Henry open his light saber. Then pretending to be Darth Vader. So great.

  30. Kate Wassel says:

    I spent most of last week taking care of my dog, who had a high fever and throat infection. The best part of my weekend was having her healthy for Christmas.

  31. Jordan says:

    My favorite part of my weekend was delivering gifts to the kids I work with. Most of them don’t get a lot of presents for Christmas because their families can’t afford it, so it was awesome be to able to give them a little something extra.

    • Sarah says:

      Jordan, that is so great!! I’m a firm believer in the spirit of giving. It really is better to give than to receive and I’ll bet you felt amazing afterwards. 😀

  32. My favorite part of the weekend was BAKING!

  33. The best part about this past Christmas weekend was enjoying some of Mom’s homemade nut bars. She only makes them at Christmas and they are a wonderful blend of sweet and salty. Love Chobani by the way, they make the best Greek yogurt available, and I’ve tried lots of brands.

  34. Elise says:

    Best part of the weekend was spending time with my family and looking at Xmas lights

  35. anash says:

    the best part of my weekend was praying with my family! Thanks for a super giveaway!

  36. Sarah says:

    Thanks for entering, Anash! The winner is going to be announced this morning. 😀

Leave a Reply

