A “Hair”y Post.

The best advice ever given by my hairdresser:

“Sarah, will you please stop fighting against your hair!!?!  Start fighting with your hair.”

Sigh.  I’m telling you.  That hairdresser of mine.  She’s a real philosopher.  I honestly don’t know what I’d do without her.

When I was small (see above,) my hair was stick straight and blond.

When I was a teenager, it was brown and fluffy.  Think “60’s hippy” wannabe (without really trying.)

Now it’s somewhere in between straight and curly and it continues, as always, to do what it wants to do.

(Especially post-blow dry, which is when I tend to resemble “Cousin It.”)

I can’t tell you how many hours I’ve spent trying to straighten my hair.  Fighting the kinks and curls.  Pulling and prodding it to behave.

“Why are you always trying to force your hair to be straight?  It wants to curl.  Let it!”   

Sigh.

I think we all need an honest hair dresser in our lives.

Now when I want to look polished and put together, I spend about 10 minutes in the morning curling my hair, versus spending 30 minutes attempting to straighten it.

I don’t normally talk beauty or hair or makeup on this blog, but I’m so in love with these two products that my hairdresser recommended, that I just had to mention them!

#1. Chi Silk Serum

I use this stuff every day!

I’ve had mine for over a year now and it’s only about half empty.  Just a small dollop spread throughout my partially damp hair before blow drying acts as a great heat protectant.  And on the days when I don’t blow dry (which is very, very often!), I still like to use it as a de-frizzer.

2. Redken Wool Shake Gel-Slush

I lift up my hair and spray this stuff on the roots, working one section of hair at a time with the curling iron.  It produces volume, shine and gives my hair a natural salty air, sea breeze look (hello, ocean!)

So.

I’m finally learning that we each have different hair types and that different products work well for different people.

Now, if only I could figure out what I did wrong with tonight’s overly crumbly, gluten-free, vegan oatmeal cookie recipe, I’d be happy.

There are no cookies left standing, as they all crumbled apart as I transferred them one by one to a cooling rack.

Oh well.

Nothing a little coconut ice cream can’t cure.

Because sometimes you have to fight with the situation.  Not against it. 😉

QUESTION: What is your typical hair routine in the morning?  I’m a throw it up in the pony tail and GO kind of girl.  So I’m always looking for short cuts and quick styles that don’t require too much time on the days that I want something different. 😀

16 comments on “A “Hair”y Post.

  1. Nicole says:

    I LOVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE your hair! Did you get it cut or just styled?? LOVE it!!!!! Now you need to help me figure out what to do with mine! Ha, ha.

    • Sarah says:

      Thanks, Nicole!! I had it trimmed and asked her to bring up the pieces near my eyes a little more, since it was getting much too long and strangly. We should totally try different hair styles on each other! 😀

  2. My hair is still wet when I get to work. I have no routine. LOL.

  3. Alison says:

    Your hair does look fab!! I too have naturally curly hair that I’ve been fighting/straightening for more than a decade. Seriously, seriously curly. I like it much better straight, I don’t care how much work it is, it’s worth it! I use Frizz Ease Hair Serum now, I just might check out that Chi Silk Serum, is that something you can only get in a salon? I’m due for a trim anyway!

    • Sarah says:

      I actually bought mine for half the price in a supermarket, despite being told that it’s always better to buy straight from a salon! Supposedly, they can mix and mingle the products, thereby watering them down. I’m not sure it’s true though, since I always seem to like the results of the salon products whenever I buy them cheaper. 😉

  4. BroccoliHut says:

    I am the same way–I much prefer easy “wash n go” cuts. These days, I just blow it dry and hit the road! I don’t have any particular products…other than my beloved Dove shampoo and conditioner.

  5. mixxedtape says:

    Your hair looks great!! I find that the longer my hair gets, the more curlier it gets, which is really nice. Before I had ‘waves’ and I had to straighten everything out or else it would be al strange and frizzy, but now it curls a bit I can just let it dry and it will work out just fine.

  6. I have recently started using Argan oil for my hair as a anti frizzer and kind of silk enhancer 🙂 its fabulous! I cant tell you enough how much i love it compared to any other hair product. I dont like spending a lot of time doing my hair in the morning so I either use a bit of coconut wax and knead it in to make it a bit wavy or curly ( i have natural curls) or I straighten them, which takes about 5-10 minutes with the amount of hair i have. 🙂

  7. Kit-Kat says:

    I just brush it and put it in a pony, since I exercise in the morning. IWhen I shower, I brush as I blow-dry, and brush it after blow drying. My hair is pretty straight, and it poufs out a bit after a shower, but then it starts to oil up around my bangs after exercising, so I have to shower a lot.

  8. sofia says:

    the layered style looks great on you! i’ve gone through so many hair-volutions, it’s crazy. i had a serious fro (no joke) til the age of seven, then slightly less poofiness/curls, then curls, now that weird somewhere between curly and straight (wavyish?) that you describe. it’s confusing. i usually just let it be natural and see what happens each day. it’s quite an adventure, let me tell ya. when i’m going out for a fancy event, though, i blow-dry it straight. i’m really into the curls though!

  9. It looks so good! I love all the body and volume.

    My hair routine involves me waking up, looking in the mirror, and deciding if i’m too lazy to put my hair into a pony tail.
    I usually just let my hair dry overnight while I sleep. It gets a bit frizzy but I don’t think it looks too bad.

  10. Kate Wassel says:

    I use Agadir Argan Oil. Its been a life saver. My hair is a large puff ball without it. It also allows me time away from my straight iron. The other trick I love is putting hairspray on the brush and then brushing my hair. Its great for humid days.

Leave a Reply

