Egg Fight.

If you ever want to start a food fight conversation at the dinner table, bring up the conversation of “eggs.”  Instantly, you’ll watch the room divide into this cluster of ideas and opinions.

It’s quite an interesting experiment, but I only recommend it if you’re willing to spend an hour or so defending your stance on the issue. 😉

 

In case you haven’t noticed, eggs have a bad reputation.

“They’re high in cholesterol!!”

Which is true.  They are.  But the cholesterol found in foods has been shown to have very little effect on our blood’s cholesterol.  In other words, if you’re concerned with high cholesterol, your best bet is to limit the amount of saturated fats you eat, notably found in things like solid butters and high fat meat products.  It’s also a good idea to limit or avoid trans fats, found mostly in baked goods.

In other words?  Eggs are in.

When people study the bioavailability or protein (how much protein your body can actually use after breaking it all down into its useful form,) they compare the item to an egg.  Eggs are the gold standard when it comes to protein.

Recommendations on how much egg yolks the healthy adult should eat still vary.  Some health organizations recommend keeping it to 3-4 whole eggs/week.  Other studies have shown no negative effects with upwards of 7 eggs/week.  My personal thought is that balance is always key, and having eggs a couple times a week can fit into any plan.

Oh.  And don’t forget.  The tasty yolk is jam packed with healthy nutrients.  Specifically the ones that are good for our vision, like lutein and zeaxanthin.  To limit the amount of saturated fat/cholesterol, I like to use one whole egg with one extra egg white.

ezekiel bread, smashed avocado, 1 whole egg + 1 egg white, cilantro, salsa

That’s what I love about nutrition.

Proving that the delicious foods we love to eat are actually quite healthy after all.

Oh.

But I know what you’re thinking.

And no.

I don’t think Twinkies will be making this list any time soon. 😉

QUESTION: Did you ever avoid a food because you thought it was “bad” for you? 

QUESTION: What are your thoughts on the health effects of eggs?

9 comments on “Egg Fight.

  1. Tine says:

    My god, that egg looks great! So beautiful on your plate with the salsa and cilantro!
    I definitely gonna eat an egg tomorrow. Love your exposition about eggs. I totally agree.

  2. I get on crazy egg kicks sometimes where I’ll eat about 10 in a week. Then I’ll go for weeks and weeks without even buying any.

  3. Nicole says:

    This is hilarious, because Nate and I had an egg fight the other night!! 🙂 Nate was really hungry and I was making fried eggs, so I told him that I’d make him three eggs. (When I make omelets, I usually use extra whites, but I couldn’t in this case). And I told him, “It’s okay. Eggs are healthy.” And he said, “No, they’ll give me high cholesterol.” And I replied, “Hmmm, no, that’s not true.” Lol.

  4. Kit-Kat says:

    I’m vegan, but I believe people can eat eggs.
    I used to think after having my ED that having sugar again was bad for me. SO WRONG.

  5. mixxedtape says:

    That’s so useful that you know all these things, my mum always worries about all the cholesterol in eggs, but now I can tell her this and she doesn’t have to worry about it any more 🙂 I really like poached eggs or adding eggs to my oatmeal so it’s great to know these do good things for you as well!

  6. BroccoliHut says:

    I love eggs! I tried veganism for a while, but I eventually came back to eggs because I love them so much! I think their benefits outweigh their potential dietary drawbacks–it’s one of the few foods that provides all the fat soluble vitamins 🙂

  7. Growing up, I absolutely detested eggs and avoided them. However, after I got married, my husband convinced me to give them another chance, and now, I love them even more than he does! 🙂
    I think the claims that eggs and butter are too high in cholesterol and saturated fat are somewhat unfounded. Our great-great-grandmothers safely ate them all of the time, whereas the increase in heart disease and such illnesses is still only a relatively new phenomenon. The human body needs cholesterol and saturated fat to make our hormones, which regulate every function of the body. They are particularly essential for women, who can experience infertility when they eat low-fat, low-cholesterol diets.

  8. Mmm egg + avocado + salsa = ULTIMATE DELICIOUSNESS. I used to avoid eggs most of the time but after working on a farm and being able to eat legitimately free-range chicken eggs from the coop right next to our house, I gained a new appreciation for them!

  9. What a timely post! I am planning on eating more eggs now that I am striving to get better with all of this… they are so so good for you and obviously tasty 🙂
    Your pictures, wow… I can never say enough how talented of a photographer you are!

Leave a Reply

