Road Trip (to Hartford, CT.)

Road Trip!

Destination?  Hartford, CT.

My grandparents lived there for a little over a decade and my mom was born there.

Personally, I’ve never been to this part of New England, but Pepere, my dad, my mom and I have been talking about reliving this part of history, ever since our summer’s road trip to Canada.

First Stop: the hospital where my mom was born.

(Pepere joked that he was going to demand a refund.  😉  )

We visited the capitol building.

We drove around downtown Hartford.

And did a little bit of walking here and there.

On the way home, we stopped at Cabela Outfitters, which is this huge hunting & fishing store.

The menfolk were drawn in by the guns.

And the very awesome cowboy hats. 😉

I was more interested in the ginormous “stuffed animal” display.

Truthfully, I can’t stand most zoos (although there are some good ones out there!!) and the sight of stuffed animals makes me a bit queasy.

But this was a really interesting display.  It was great to see the size comparisons and to learn a little bit more about each of the many different animals.

Oh.

And there was one live animal.

This massive fish.  But he didn’t seem at all happy to be having his picture taken. 😉

Four travelers.

One smart GPS.

Several destinations, six turkey finger roll sandwiches, one memory-filled family road trip.

The End.

QUESTION: Do you live close to where you grew up?  Did you move a lot?

10 comments on “Road Trip (to Hartford, CT.)

  1. Seems like everybody had a great time. It seems like a nice city to visit.

    And to answer your question…I was born in Cherokee, NC, moved to Oklahoma for several years, then moved back to Cherokee. I went to college in a city about 4 hours away, after graduation I moved to NYC for about 3 years, then moved back to within 15 miles of my birth place….I suppose the leaf doesn’t really fall far from the tree after all…..just gets blown around alittle.

    Raven

  2. Woo hoo I love road trips 🙂

  3. Fun trip! I do live close to where I grew up – about 3 hours away. I’ll be making it back for Christmas. Looking forward to it : )

  4. Evan says:

    Awww, my stomping grounds! I’m from CT – in fact, I was there this weekend 🙂

    I live in NYC, which is just close enough…but just far enough away, too. It’s a win-win.

  5. Hmmm… your pictures don’t seem to be loading for me 😦

Leave a Reply

