a bowl of bow-ties.

It’s a good thing that I’m not a politician.

Why?

Because I have that unattractive tendency of being a flip-flopper.

For example.

I’ve told you time and time again how much I strongly dislike pasta.  Tonight, however, I found myself craving it.  So I just went with it, and ended up declaring my newly discovered love for farfalle pasta (aka, little bow-ties.)

Maybe this had something to do with my recent shopping finds at Trader Joe’s.

Maybe this had something to do with all the other delicious add-ins.

White Beans

Spinach

Garlic (lots of)

Fontina Cheese

One of the many things I love about Trader Joe’s is their very affordable gourmet cheese section.  In my experience, usually things are cheap for a reason.  Not so at Trader Joe’s.  Their cheese is delicious and (very) friendly to the wallet.

I don’t know what else I’ll end up falling in love with during this flip flopping period in my life.

Maybe I’ll wake up one morning craving rib eye for breakfast (wouldn’t Dad be happy?)  Maybe I’ll groan at the sight of oatmeal (really?)  Maybe I’ll suddenly discover that I’m really not that big a fan of chocolate after all (ha!riiight.)

Or.

Maybe not.

Maybe this is just a one time occurrence.

Because we all reserve the right to change our minds now and then.

Because, in the end, who doesn’t love a bowl of cheesy bow-ties?

Spinach, White Bean and Fontina Pasta–modified from an Eating Well recipe
(Serves 4)

I like to use the Barilla Plus Farfalle for this recipe instead of whole wheat, because I think it blends better with the cheese.  Thanks to the addition of things like legumes, oat fiber and flax, the pasta boasts a higher fiber and protein content than white pasta, but it doesn’t take on the hearty flavor of whole wheat.  It’s the perfect “transition pasta” as I like to call it, for people still on the border about trying whole wheat pasta over white.

Serve with a side of steamed vegetables or a crisp salad for a contrast of texture.  Any leftovers will heat up well for your next day’s lunch.  Enjoy! 😀

  • 8 ounces pasta (preferably whole wheat)
  • 8 cups baby spinach
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 tablespoon all purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 (19 ounce) can white beans, rinsed
  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 3/4 cup shredded Fontina cheese
  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil.
  2. Add pasta and cook, stirring occasionally, according to package directions. Stir in spinach during the last 2 to 3 minutes.
  3. Drain.  Dry the pot.
  4. Whisk broth and flour in a small bowl until smooth.
  5. Heat oil in the pot over medium-high heat. Add garlic and cook, stirring constantly, until fragrant, about 30 seconds.
  6. Add the broth mixture and bring to a simmer, whisking constantly, until it thickens, 5-7 minutes.
  7. Add beans, vinegar, salt and pepper and the pasta and spinach.
  8. Cook, stirring, until the mixture is heated through, about 1 minute.
  9. Remove from the heat; add cheese, stirring until it melts. Serve immediately and enjoy!
    QUESTION: What are some foods you now like that you never did before?  Any foods that you’ve stopped liking that you used to like?  I’ve never been very picky, but I like even more vegetables than I did when I was small.  I stopped liking certain types of seafood like clams and scallops.  Unless they’re deep fried. 😉

8 comments on “a bowl of bow-ties.

  1. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

  2. Faith says:

    I used to only like my egg yolks and my fish completely solid and [over]cooked all the way through. Now I understand the beauty that is slightly runny yolks and perfectly cooked fish. I also eat raw fish now and even ate mussels at the beach-never thought that would happen. Nutritionwise, I used to think that it was a good idea to save calories by eating nonfat dairy and egg whites, oh how wrong I was on that one!

  3. BroccoliHut says:

    I am a big fan of TJ’s cheese section too! I love all their flavored goat cheeses–blueberry vanilla! pistachio crusted! So good.
    I am slowly coming around to grapefruit. I used to despise it completely, but I’ve really been enjoying it in salads with avocado lately.

  4. Nicole says:

    Hmmm, I can’t wait to try this!! 🙂

  5. Kit-Kat says:

    Being vegan, I’ve never liked meats, and I’ve stopped liking avocados a while back, as well as that I’m not very keen on walnuts. They make my throat feel dry and crummy.
    I have actually started to love brussel sprouts (the only veggie I detest). They are actually pretty good!

  6. I am 100% completely obsessed with Trader Joe’s for a million different reasons (seriously, it’s a bad addiction) but you’re so right about the cheese- how is a block of plain mild cheddar $4.50 at a conventional store and a great, local sharp cheddar is $2.60 at TJ’s? They work miracles.

  7. I’m normally not one for pasta either, but this dish looks scrumptious!! Spinach and white beans go so well together,

    Also I continue to lament the fact that there’s no Trader Joe’s in Canada…perhaps one day…

  8. […] Dinner tonight was a variation of Sarah’s Spinach, White Bean, and Fontina pasta. […]

Leave a Reply

