putting on my running shoes.

It’s been almost a month since that running injury.  Meanwhile, I’ve been doing little bouts of running in between my daily walks, along with two yoga sessions a week.

I figured it was about time to test the waters, so I set out for a slow little jaunt.

First thought: “This is ridiculously hard.”

It was hard to enjoy the run when I was so focused on trying to gauge how my heel was feeling.  And apparently (as the huffing and puffing clued me in) the walking hasn’t kept me quite at the same running peak which I was at a month ago.

This made me feel frustrated.

Running has been a pretty consistent part of my life for 8 years.  It clears my head, keeps me focused, reminds me to slow down.  Enjoy the moment.  So when I lack the feeling of strength that comes from running, I feel slightly unglued.  Like something just isn’t right.

Second thought: “I’m running.  I’m breathing hard.  I’m really slow.  BUT!  I’m running.”

The first run that takes place, after taking some time off, is always the toughest.  But as I’ve learned from past experiences, it doesn’t take long to get back into it.  I’m just going to take things slow and let my body tell me when to back off.  My heel felt pretty good, but I don’t want to jinx myself by getting re-injured!

Slow and steady, Sarah.  Slow and steady.

When I came back from the run, it was time to hit Whole Foods.  Mom and I were on a quest to find the perfect piece of meat for Christmas.  I think we’re both feeling ambitious this year. 😉

Two women with a very important mission. 😉

Anyways, we found a nice top sirloin roast.  Which, thankfully, mom will be in charge of, come Christmas Eve.  I don’t touch expensive cuts of meat.  Too much pressure. 😉

Lunch came from the salad bar and bread department…

Spinach

Lentils

Shredded Beats

Edamame

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Vinegar and Oil Butter Beans

Sesame Tofu

Roasted Chicken

Seaweed Salad

And a whole wheat cinnamon raisin bagel.

Mmm.  The simple joy that’s found in the variety of a salad bar. 😉

A tall peppermint mocha soy latte became my drink of choice for the drive home.  (I may be slightly addicted.)

Off to decorate the Christmas tree while drinking some hot cocoa!

And.

Off to make some cheesy noodles with spinach.

Stay tuned for the quick and easy recipe to come!!

QUESTION: Have you ever taken a running (or other exercise) hiatus?  For how long?  How did you feel returning?

11 comments on “putting on my running shoes.

  1. Hang in there and stick with it. Your fitness will come back in no time!

  2. Yay for running again! You have a great attitude with it…that you need to get back into slowlyyyy. That is how I am going to be when I start running again
    And that Whole Foods is looking mightyyyy familiar 😀 We should grab a lunch there sometime!

  3. BroccoliHut says:

    I’m in the same position–I’ve had to take some long breaks from running this year due to a recurring hip injury. However, I’ve already put in two short runs this week, and I’m feeling good. I, too, need to remind myself of the “slow and steady” mantra.

  4. mixxedtape says:

    Slow and steady, you’ll get there eventually 🙂 That bagel looks amazing!

  5. Nicole says:

    Ugh, I hate how hard it is to get back into the swing of things. I’m there right now myself. 🙂 You’ll get there though! Oh, and I am officially looking forward to Christmas Eve dinner. HA, ha.

    • Sarah says:

      It’s not always easy, especially when you feel like you’re capable of so much more (but then your body says differently! 😉 ) Don’t worry, we’ll both get there. Completely healthy and recovered from injuries of any sort. 😀

  6. Becky Sue says:

    Beautiful photos! Each summer I end up taking a hiatus for two separate reasons… it’s too hot! and I have kids who are too young to be left alone. Starting back up in Sept. isn’t too hard and I’m usually up to 5 miles in a couple of weeks.

    I went to Whole Foods yesterday. I love their Vietnamese spring rolls the most and pretty much everything else there rocks. Good thing it’s 40 min. away or it would be all we’d be eating.

Leave a Reply

