Christmas Shopping.

As of this morning…

…Christmas shopping COMPLETE! :mrgreen:

I spent a very full day at the mall yesterday, with Nicole and Mom, but found absolutely nothing (except some basic essential stuff for me…how does this always happen?)

So, this morning I went online and finished the rest of my Christmas shopping within 5 minutes (I love modern technology!)

I’m not gonna lie.

I feel pretty darn proud of myself.

Especially considering the fact that I’m usually that last minute girl who’s scrambling around on Christmas Eve, trying to find the “perfect” gift.  It’s a sad state and I promised myself that this wouldn’t become me this year.

So I decided to just have fun during yesterday’s trip.

No big purchases.

No last minute scrambling.

All of a suddenly, I experienced the known joy of a non-procastinator.  Don’t smirk or laugh.  This a completely new feeling for me. 😉

So.

Yes.

I found myself in this happy non-procastinator state of mind and just enjoyed the day.  Shopping with two lovely ladies.  Walking around the mall.  Dining at the Cheesecake Factory (thanks, mom!)

I ordered the Mexican Chicken Lettuce Wrap Tacos off the Lunch Menu.

And helped myself to their deliciously hot and crispy sweet bread.

Honestly, I’m not sure I’d order the lettuce wraps again.  They were good but I would have doctored them a little.  They needed some cheese.  And rice.  And beans.  The avocado and spicy fresh salsa were nice touches, but not enough to make me swoon with delight. 😉

Still tasty though, and they still hit the spot.

Favorite dining companions.

Before heading home, we finished off the day at Red Mango.

I ordered a small vanilla with blueberries, pineapple and strawberries (amazing.)

(Thanks, Nicole!)

So.

I guess you could call it an unsuccessful shopping trip, since I didn’t buy anything.

Or.

You could call it very successful.  Because I spent the day with two lovely ladies, ate at the Cheesecake Factory, ate my fill of frozen yogurt (and a peppermint mocha latte at the ‘bucks) and then completed my Christmas shopping this morning.

Yep.

I’d call that successful.

QUESTION: Are you a last minute shopper for gifts or do you plan ahead?  This is totally new for me to plan ahead, but I’m liking it.  I was actually able to put some thought into each gift instead of freaking out at the very last minute. 😉

15 comments on “Christmas Shopping.

  1. The Cheesecake Factory bread is the best! And I agree, I always seem to find Christmas presents for people when I least expect it but then when I specifically go Christmas shopping, I only find things for myself!

  2. Dawn says:

    I am a late shopper…or I overshop…I will just keep buying things until the “buzzer” rings to tell me I am out of time or out of money…lol.

    I did notice that I have found better items online…the mall is more for “me” not for who I need to shop for.

    • Sarah says:

      This is the first year I’ve bought so much online, but it’s really worked out well. I found some great deals and found exactly what I wanted. 😀

  3. Before I saw that you named the place, I knew it was the Cheesecake Factory based on the bread! Gosh that bread is tasty there…. 🙂 I laughed when you talked about the lettuce wraps… they needed just a bit more of something, err cheese, rice, beans lol, just a few things
    I am jealous you are done with shopping! I haven’t even started, oops

  4. Kit-Kat says:

    I tend to plan ahead, and then I might modify my plan last-minute when I’m at the store… either physically there or online.

    • Sarah says:

      Smart, smart, smart! Having a plan is such a great idea. I had somewhat of a plan this year which helped so much. Otherwise I get frantic and have a hard time deciding what to buy people. This year, I just stuck to my list. 😉

  5. BroccoliHut says:

    Wow, I am very impressed! I usually wait until I get home (mid-December) to start shopping so I don’t have to lug the gifts on the airplane.

  6. Katie says:

    What a fun afternoon! I dislike shopping so intensely…I do most of it online. And always the week before. 🙂

  7. I always seem to find all my Christmas presents throughout the year. I’ll be out somewhere and I’ll see something that I know a certain person will like and get it then. I often have all my shopping done by the end of summer. The hardest part is trying to find a good hiding spot and then REMEMBERING where it’s hidden at Christmas time to wrap it.

    • Sarah says:

      You are *ambitious!* That is such a great idea, being able to get the exact gift that suits someone.

      And done by the end of summer?? I could handle that. 😀

  8. Ashlei says:

    Shopping looked like a lot of fun!! I love Cheesecake Factory. Eat light then get dessert is how I roll. 😀

Leave a Reply

