new beginnings.

I’m obsessed with new beginnings.

New days.  New months.  New years.

I pull out my olive green planner, make a list of goals and sigh with content as I cross one item off after the other.  It’s like a grand, beautiful, very exciting to-do list.  And each new day, new month, new year begins the process all over again.

One of December’s goals is to try at least one completely new vegetable a week.

Like acorn squash.

Which (you may find this hard to believe) I’ve only ever cooked with once (maybe twice) in my lifetime.  Crazy, right?

So even while it’s not a completely NEW vegetable, it still kind of is.  Sort of.

Anyways.  It’s a great starting point.

Acorn squash are terrific when roasted with some maple syrup (attempt #1) and served over a bed of greens with barley and earthy mushrooms as accents.

Or.

When they’re stuffed silly with a tasty pilaf.

I’m afraid you may end up experiencing a lot of roasted versions of these “new” vegetables for the month of December.  I’m hopelessly obsessed.

But.

If I know you guys like I think I do, then this will be more than okay.

New days.

New months.

New years.

I’m obsessed with new beginnings.

Stuffed Silly Acorn Squash

For quick and easy preparation, make the filling ahead of time.  The squash can also be baked ahead of time, stuffed and placed in the fridge until eating time.  These will reheat well!

Feel free to tweak the filling.  Acorn squash are terrific serving vessels to anything you can dream up. 😀

  • 2 acorn squash, cut in half, seeds removed
  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 package tempeh, sliced into 8 sections and steamed (see note at bottom)
  • 2 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar
  • 1 can diced tomatoes with basil, oregano and garlic, liquid drained (or plain)
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh dill
  • 1 tsp. allspice
  • salt and pepper
  • parmesan cheese (optional)
  • spaghetti sauce (optional)
  1. Heat oven to 400.  Place acorn squash cut side down on baking sheet that has been sprayed with cooking spray.  Bake for 25 minutes or until knife enters squash easily.
  2. Meanwhile, cook quinoa according to package directions, using vegetable broth in place of water.  Add 1/2 cup raisins after it is cooked and set aside.
  3. Heat oil over medium high heat in nonstick pan.  Add onion and pepper.  Cook until soft and tender.  Spread to the sides and add tempeh to the middle of the pan, adding more oil if needed.  Crush the tempeh, using a spoon, until bite size pieces are formed.  Add balsamic vinegar and continue cooking until tempeh is browned.
  4. Add diced tomatoes, dill, allspice, and salt and pepper to taste.  Add quinoa mixture and stir to combine, turning off the heat.
  5. Once the squash are ready, fill the middles with the stuffing mixture, sprinkle with parmesan cheese and bake for 5-8 minutes, until cheese has melted slightly.  Top with heated spaghetti sauce if desired.  ENJOY!

QUESTION: Do you make goals for each new month of the year?

8 comments on “new beginnings.

  1. Na N'trance says:

    OMG this looks soooo yummy!!!

  2. Bren Murphy says:

    “Tempeh” leapt out at me as I scrolled down these photos. Have you ever made your own? It’s easy. Especially where i live in the heat of summer. Fresh is soooo much better.

  3. Tine says:

    Lovely recipe!
    I would roast all my vegetables… Roasted food is so good!

  4. mapollard says:

    That stuffed Acorn Squash looks amazing! I always bypass it and buy the spaghetti and butternut squashes- but now I will have to pick some up to make this recipe!

  5. I actually don’t think I’ve ever had acorn squash!

  6. Kit-Kat says:

    Sure do!
    This month is to continue with my new running program, and to stay on a budget when it comes to buying vegan ice cream (a huge addiction, so I hope to make my own!)

  7. Mmm wonderful winter meal!

    I made squash (buttercup) for supper tonight too – I need reminding of how amazing a simple meal of roasted stuffed veggies is 🙂

Leave a Reply

