staying focused.

I pride myself on staying very positive and upbeat throughout mostly everything.  I recall smiling through the tears after Memere passed away, despite my achy heart.  I laughed and joked my way through 9 miles of limping in my Half Marathon.  I smiled at the face of organic chemistry, determined to overcome.

Even still.  When I received an email telling me that “a more qualified person had been chosen” for my dream job position, I was crushed.

Not that I’ve ever been in serious, head over heels, what planet am I on? love, but I imagine that this is a little like falling in love with a guy, telling him you’re mad about him, and then finding out that he never really liked you in the first place.

I was all ready to throw a mini tantrum, all ready to make a fuss.  And then I realized something.  Admittedly, it is something that I need to be so humbly reminded of sometimes.

I am blessed.

I have a roof over my head.  A good education.  I have a sister for a best friend, a mom who remains my number one fan, a dad who’s always there despite having an unbelievably stressful job, and friends who tell me I can do anything.

I have a part time job to help pay the bills.  A God who comforts me and provides the grace that I need in the moments when I need it.  I have a home.  More than enough food to eat.  I am, when you get right down to it, more than happy.  

(Which, by the way, suddenly made me feel very guilty for ever being so darn upset in the first place!)

Now I’m off to go for a run.

Because.

Because I can. 😉

QUESTION: What are you most thankful for in your life?

35 comments on “staying focused.

  1. Becky Sue says:

    So sorry you didn’t get to job but it wasn’t meant to be, right? You will find something and they will be lucky to have you. Beautiful photos!

  2. mixxedtape says:

    Sorry to hear you didn’t get the job, but congratulations on how you’re dealing with it, we all should learn to be more grateful with the things we do have rather than being upset because of things we can’t have. As for the job, I’m sure you’ll find exactly what your looking for in the end, just give it some time 🙂

  3. I don’t know you except from this blog but through the short period of time I have been here, I’m sure it’s their loss!

  4. jelillie says:

    Thanks for reminding me to count my blessings! 🙂

  5. Sorry you didn’t get the job. But that just means God has something better in store for you. This, I know.

    Some things I’m thankful for in life are my health, my husband, the Christmas season and what it means. I’m incredibly blessed!

  6. fabulous post–love that you were able to look to blessings instead of turning bitter…a valuable lesson!

  7. Oh man, that is really bad news. It can be tough to e positive after hearing that you didn’t get a job. You start thinking, “maybe I’m not good enough for any job? maybe I’ll never get a job?” and then a downward spiral of misery and despair starts. Or that’s how it goes for me. You apparently think about going for a run which is way awesomer (<- new word, use it).
    I love that you are always able to look on the bright side. Both you and your sister seem to have that uncanny ability. It must be something in your faith and your upbringing.

    • Sarah says:

      Thank you, Samantha! You’ve been so helpful through all of this job hunting stuff.

      And I definitely have my moments of *not* looking at the bright side (and sometimes acting like a 2 year old…haha!) but my faith in God definitely keeps me in a positive frame of mind and always encourages me to continue strong through the ups and downs. 😀

      And. “Awesomer.” Definitely using that one. 😉

  8. Matt says:

    Aww, sorry to hear you didn’t get the job! Keep on running and pushing forward…everytime I go for a run or a bike ride it’s easy to forget about other things in life. Just keep searching and don’t let it rattle you…most of the best things in life come after you get back up with a little perseverance and hard work!

  9. I’m sorry about the job but way to stay positive about everything! You’re right we often get so caught up in day to day problems that we forget all of the good and positive things in our lives. Hang in there!

  10. Kit-Kat says:

    I’m thankfull for many things.
    I feel for you, though, because every job I apply for they turn me down, or they rudely just don’t give me a follow-up if I’ve recieved the job or not.
    And the boyfriend example? Benn there. I still love him, though (Ugh, but Kelby really need a shaking! He’s into the “I just wanna be everyone’s friend” thing right now, and we’re not young forever!).

  11. Emily Clark says:

    I totally feel you on this one Sarah. It is so easy for me to forget about all the blessings and decide I am unhappy based on one door closing in life. Thanks for the reminder that there is so much more out there than this little thing that we think will make us happy…his name is Jesus, and he is wonderful, even when we don’t see what the heck He is doing up there! 🙂

  12. Megan C. says:

    It is never easy when we get excited about something and then it doesn’t work out the way we thought! But jobs are like everything else in life the right one will come our way when we least expect it! Keep looking at the positive and be amazed at what life brings you!!

  13. So sorry to hear that. 😦 But keep your chin up! There will be other offers!! And it really is their loss!

  14. em says:

    so sorry to hear about the job! i remember how discouraging it was for me post internship…i graduated in august and didn’t get a full time job until february! hang in there…i just kept reminding myself that if i didn’t get a certain job, it just wasn’t meant to be. definitely one of the most difficult periods in my life. but keep dreaming and applying and running (i did a TON of that during those stressful months), and know that your current environment can also be a place to grow. i actually reconnected with an old friend (now my boyfriend!) during that jobless period of life…i never would have done that had i obtained a job right away and moved to a different city. things work out in funny ways sometimes…persevere! 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      Thank you, Em! This was very encouraging…and I’m glad to hear that you *did* get that full time job. It just takes time, which I have to remind myself of sometimes. 😉 Thanks!!

  15. BroccoliHut says:

    So sorry to hear about how the job situation turned out. You are such an inspiration with how you’re handling it though–it’s so easy to forget the many blessings we have and sometimes it takes a little reminder. You seem like such a bright and knowledgeable person, I’m confident that you’ll find the right job soon 🙂

  16. Emily says:

    Wonderful post. When something like getting turned down for a job happens to me, I always think it wasn’t meant to be. And then I think about all the opportunities I have had in my life and I just KNOW something good will come along.

  17. jamiddix says:

    I’m sorry! Something else to be grateful for – your good head on your shoulders. We’ve all been there…felt sorry for ourselves and overlook how luck we really are. Hang in there. Something even more awesome will happen.

  18. Aww Sarah I am sorry you did not get the job! But you are having such a fantastic attitude about it right now and realizing that we have so much more to think about helps… I believe it was not meant to be

  19. Evan says:

    I’m just catching up on your posts from this week – I’m so sorry about your job news 😦 It’s not meant to be! There’s something BETTER out there waiting for you just around the corner…just keep chasing your passions and doing the best you can, which sometimes means honoring feelings of disappointment. When you do, you wake up much more refreshed and ready to start anew.

Leave a Reply

