Special Edition: “Breakfast Week” (continued)

“Join me as I eat my way through a week of new breakfasts.  Thanksgiving marks the finale, which means I have one full week to try a new breakfast each and every morning.  It could be delicious (it could be outrageous!)  But the whole idea is to just have fun.”

The Thanksgiving preparations have officially begun!

I talked all about Martha Stewart’s gingerbread man recipe back when I was “Running To Slow Things Down,” and I still believe it’s one of the best gingerbread recipes.  I love the rich, spicy flavors.  And the dough is ridiculously easy to work with.

So that’s what I’ve been up to all afternoon.  Mixing flour and cracking eggs and dancing around my cozy little kitchen.

This morning, I fueled up well with some PB&J French Toast.

I always crave sweet for breakfast, but lately I’ve been craving it even more than normal (this might have something to do with all those sugary, buttery things floating around the house!)  A little raspberry jam and some coconut made for a very happy girl.

Considering the fact that the French Toast came together quicker than my typical bowl of oatmeal does, I’m surprised I don’t make it more often.  Delicious.  And the extra protein from the eggs kept me full and content all morning long.

Tomorrow is going to be an incredibly busy cooking day for everyone.  I’m going to be putting my brain to work by creating a gluten free, vegan apple crisp for my brother and his girlfriend, and then I’ll be dicing and chopping vegetables all afternoon.

And then tomorrow night I’ll be at my sister’s house, gussying up the gingerbread men with some festive decorations.

Sigh.  Life sure is delicious. 

PB&J French Toast

I’m convinced that the splash of vanilla extract and the sea salt are the two key ingredients for this breakfast.  The sprinkle of coconut doesn’t hurt either. 😉

Use any bread that you have on hand for this.  Day old cinnamon raisin bread is a nice change, as is cranberry pecan bread and sourdough.  The recipe can be tweaked to fit what you have on hand.  Enjoy!

  • 1 whole egg + 1 egg white
  • splash of milk
  • splash of vanilla
  • dash of cinnamon
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 2 slices whole grain bread
  • 1 Tbsp. almond butter
  • 1 tsp raspberry jam
  • sweetened coconut
  1. Heat nonstick pan over medium heat and spray with cooking spray.
  2. In a shallow dish, whisk together eggs, milk, vanilla, cinnamon, and salt.  When pan is hot, take one slice of bread and dunk it in the egg mixture.  Flip and douse the other side.  Using a fork, place the bread on the heated pan.  Continue with the other slice.
  3. Cook for about 4-5 minutes or until bread is browned on one side.  Flip.  Continue cooking for another 2-3 minutes or until other side is lightly browned.
  4. Top with almond butter, jam and coconut.  Enjoy!

Question: What is your favorite Thanksgiving dessert?  I’ve always wished that I could like pumpkin pie (because, really, who doesn’t?) but I unfortunately never have.  I do, however, love gingerbread men, apple crisps and anything involving chocolate. :mrgreen:

7 comments on “Special Edition: “Breakfast Week” (continued)

  1. Yum yum! I love french toast and this recipe looks right up my alley! Thanks for sharing.

    Happy Thanskgiving, friend!!!

  2. BroccoliHut says:

    I do love pumpkin pudding, but this year I am looking forward to making apple turnovers:)

    • Sarah says:

      Mmm…pumpkin pudding! That’s something I need to try. Sounds lovely.

      As do apple turnovers! Another dessert I’ve yet to try. Must get on this. 😉

  3. Nicole says:

    Hmmm, I heart French toast!

  4. jelillie says:

    I think my favorite Thanksgiving dessert has to be mincemeat pie…no grapenut custard pudding…no pumpkin roll…no…Sigh! I think I will just have one of each 🙂

  5. livvy30 says:

    Enjoy your holiday!

Leave a Reply

