Special Edition: “Breakfast Week” (continued)

“Join me as I eat my way through a week of new breakfasts.  Thanksgiving marks the finale, which means I have one full week to try a new breakfast each and every morning.  It could be delicious (it could be outrageous!)  But the whole idea is to just have fun.”

I had an interview at 11 this morning, which means I needed (a) a breakfast with complex carbs for lasting energy, (b) a bit of sweetness (since I always crave sweet when I’m anxious) and (c) a breakfast that wouldn’t take more than 20 minutes tops from start to finish.

Bulgur saved my day (well…at least my morning!)

Bulgur is a quick cooking, highly nutritious, high-fiber whole grain, and it can be used in place of rice or other grains in most dishes.  It also makes a delicious breakfast.  Much like oatmeal—only nuttier and chewier.

Sigh.  Bulgur and coconut make me very happy. 

After eating a hot bowl of Apple Spiced Bulgur, I headed off to the interview.

To say I was anxious would be an understatement.  I was literally shaking on the inside (not on the outside…thank goodness I’ve learned how to look cool as a cucumber despite what I’m feeling on the inside!)  😉

I just kept telling myself to remain confident.  Cool.  Collected.  And to breathe.  Don’t want to forget that one.

The interview itself went pretty good.  The Clinical Dietitian Manager was incredibly friendly and the position just sounds so, so, so absolutely perfect for me!

There are a lot of people applying for this position, so I won’t know if I’ve been picked for a second interview until next week.  Just gotta keep praying and trusting.  If this is the right job, it will all work out.  If not?  It won’t be the end of the world (although I may groan once or twice 😉 ).  As always, God knows what He’s doing.

Apple Spiced Bulgur Bowl

Using the microwave helps you pull breakfast together in no time.  Be sure to use a very large microwave dish so that you don’t have to worry about anything boiling over (THAT does not make for a very pleasant morning…been there, done that.)  Enjoy with a steamy cup of coffee or your favorite tea.

  • 1 cup vanilla soymilk (or low fat milk with a splash of vanilla + a little brown sugar)
  • 1/4 cup uncooked bulgur
  • 1 small apple, diced
  • 1 Tbsp. crushed flax seed
  • 2 Tbsp. raisins
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • dash of sea salt
  • 2 Tbsp walnuts
  • sweetened coconut
  1. In a very large, microwave safe bowl, combine soymilk, bulgur, apple, flax, raisins and salt.  Microwave on high for 8 minutes, stirring after every 2.  Some microwaves may require longer cooking time.
  2. Add walnuts and a sprinkle of coconut on top.  Enjoy!

QUESTION: Do you feel confident/good with interviews?

15 comments on “Special Edition: “Breakfast Week” (continued)

  1. Matt says:

    Whew, I sure do love breakfast week! Thanks for the great recipes Sarah!

    I actually have a job interview tomorrow and I’m pretty excited/nervous about it. It’s at a place called World Bicycle Relief and normally I feel pretty good about interviews but this is pretty much my dream job where I could be for the rest of my career, so I feel as if there’s a lot of pressure!

    Good luck in your job search!

    • Sarah says:

      Thank you, Matt! I’m glad you’re enjoying the breakfast week. 😀

      And best of luck on your interview tomorrow! You’ll be great. I think when it’s truly a dream job, they pick up on how excited you are about the position.

  2. Yum! I’ve never tried bulgur but this sounds like a perfect way to do so.

    I’m glad to hear your interview went well. I’m sure you did great. And you’re right, if it’s God’s best for you then you’ll get the job. If not, you’ll find your place somewhere else! We can trust him – he definitely knows what he’s doing.

    Hugs!

  3. Katrina says:

    I was hoping to read about the interview and I’m glad you feel good about it. Enthusiasm is essential in interviews. You would be surprised by how many people show up for an interview and do not look or act interested in the position. I’m anxious to hear how it went.

    Breakfast looks perfect for a cold morning this week!

  4. BroccoliHut says:

    Yum! I love bulgur, but I’ve never tried it in a sweet way. I always seem to add it to chili to add heartiness.

  5. That bulgur looks delicious! But it’s so hard to find it around here. 😦 I think it’d be great in a salad though.

    I normally feel quite confident in interviews, ’cause my philosophy/belief is that as long as you’re being ‘yourself’ and really try to speak up, you’re good to go.

  6. My fingers and toes are crossed for you 🙂

  7. em says:

    good luck! interviews are always a little scary. i have a list of questions that I go over before interviews, so I’ll be less likely to fumble with words. 🙂 My interview for my current job was really fast and informal. I interviewed on a Friday and got offered the job on Monday. When it’s a good fit, you will know! 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      GREAT pointers! For my first time ever, I reviewed a lot of the top interview questions and this really helped me answer the questions with much more ease.

      And that’s awesome that you got the job so soon! 😀

  8. I never would have thought to have bulgur in the morning! Looks great though!

    Interviews are always awkward but I try to remember that it’s not me being interviewed, I am also interviewing the company to see if it’s a good fit and if I could see myself working there. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

