Special Edition: “Breakfast Week”

“Join me as I eat my way through a week of new breakfasts.  Thanksgiving marks the finale, which means I have one full week to try a new breakfast each and every morning.  It could be delicious (it could be outrageous!)  But the whole idea is to just have fun.”

Granola makes me happy.

My cupboard always has at least 1 mason jar filled with the chewy bits of oats and nuts and dried fruit.  When it gets below half a mason jar, I suddenly develop separation anxiety and quickly make another batch.

It’s a good thing granola is easy to throw together.

Aside from eating this granola by the handful (and spoonfuls and bowlfuls!) I also like to use it as part of my breakfast.

This morning, it became a granola parfait.  Super simple to make, even simpler to eat.

If you make the granola ahead of time, this breakfast can become part of you busy week’s breakfast repertoire.  Delicious.

Your Basic Granola

I call this my basic granola for one reason: you can tweak it any which way you want, thereby making a completely different recipe out of it.  Add some chopped dried mango and ginger.  Add chocolate chips (after it’s cooled) and pistachios.  Try it with molasses or honey or agave for the sweetener.  Consider this your basic granola…just the starting point for many new and wonderful possibilities.

  • 2 cups regular oats
  • 1 cup almonds
  • 1/2 cup sweetened coconut
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 1/4 cup crushed flax seed
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • dash of sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 3/4 cup dried cranberries
  1. Preheat oven to 300.
  2. Combine oats, nuts, coconut, flax, cinnamon, sea salt, and vanilla in a large bowl.
  3. Combine maple syrup and olive oil.  Add to dry mixture and stir well until combined.  Spread evenly on a sprayed cookie sheet and bake for about 30 minutes, flipping and stirring every 10 minutes.  Granola is ready once it’s browned lightly (beware of overcooking!)  Add cranberries after granola is cooked.
  4. Cool and store in containers.  Last 1-2 weeks.

QUESTION: Do you have a favorite brand of granola?  Favorite recipe?

9 comments on “Special Edition: “Breakfast Week”

  1. Your granola looks so good! I’m always so intimidated by making granola and end up buying or bulk binning it from the grocery store! I may just have to try your recipe though 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      This one is almost fool proof! I say almost, because I have burned it once. 😉 But as long as you keep a close eye, you’ll have a delicious batch of granola in no time.

  2. em says:

    yum, your granola looks delish. i used to make granola a lot more but haven’t in quite a while.

  3. Yum! My favorite granola recipe is my coconut almond granola. It’s healthy, perfectly sweet and satisfying as a snack or breakfast. I love granola as well! AND I’m loving your breakfast week!

  4. oh wow this looks and sounds amazing! i will definitely have to try this out 🙂

    i recently tried KIND’s new granola and it was really good. it’s just so expensive! so making it will be a great way to save money 🙂

  5. BroccoliHut says:

    I really love Nature’s Path granolas, but I have been looking for a good granola recipe–thanks!!

  6. Katrina says:

    I don’t remember ever making my own. That’s a little sad because I love it but am usually complaining that it’s hard to find commercial granola without a lot of extra added sugar/ev. can juice/ etc.
    I’m adding this to the list of things to make while on Christmas break. 🙂

  7. Nicole says:

    I’m trying to get Nate into granola… I haven’t done it yet, but I thought I’d make him a parfait with the granola, frozen blueberries, and vanilla yogurt. 🙂

Leave a Reply

