Productive Mornings.

I heart mornings.

And everything morning related.

Like hot cups of coffee, warm cinnamon scones, journaling, running and those breath taking sun rises.

Don’t ask me how meatloaf fits into this equation.

(Please note the stains, due to (a) being a messy cook and (b) overuse & abuse.)

Sometimes, I wake up early in the morning with a deep desire to pull out some pots and pans and make a complete mess cook.

Yesterday that meant granola.  Today this meant meatloaf.

I decided to just roll with it.

By 10:30am, dinner was made for dad, lunch was made for Pepere, and my appetite to cook was satisfied.

I heart mornings.

Especially the productive ones.

Turkey Meatloaf with Brown Sugar Glaze–slightly modified from the original recipe seen in the Cooks Illustrated Light Cookbook and the Cookbook Junkie’s website.

(Serves 8 )

For the breadcrumbs, I like to make my own.  This time, I had Ezekiel Bread on hand, so I crumbled about 6 slices and toasted them in a 350 degree oven for about 5-10 minutes.  They’re ready when they feel completely dry and crumbly.  Place in a food processor or blender until very fine.

  • 1 medium onion, chopped fine
  • 2 medium garlic cloves, minced or pressed
  • 1 teaspoon vegetable oil
  • Salt
  • ½ cup milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons minced fresh thyme leaves
  • 2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
  • 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
  • ¼ teaspoon hot pepper sauce
  • ½ teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 2 pounds 93 percent lean ground turkey
  • 1 1/3 cups fresh bread crumbs
  • ¼ cup minced fresh parsley leaves
  • ½ cup ketchup
  • ¼ cup packed light brown sugar
  • 4 teaspoons cider

1. Adjust an oven rack to the middle position and heat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil and spray with cooking spray.
2. Combine the onion, garlic, oil and 1/8 teaspoon salt in a medium skillet. Cover and cook over medium-low heat, stirring often, until the onion has softened, 8 to 10 minutes; set aside to cool. In a medium bowl, whisk the milk, eggs, thyme, mustard, Worcestershire, hot sauce, pepper and ¼ teaspoon salt together.
3. In a large bowl, mix the turkey, bread crumbs, parsley, cooked onion mixture, and egg mixture together with your hands until uniformly combined. Press the mixture together in a compact mass, the turn it out onto the sprayed and foiled baking sheet. Using your hands, press the meat into and evenly thick loaf about 2 inches tall.
4. Stir the ketchup, sugar and vinegar together, then brush half the mixture evenly over the meatloaf. Bake the meatloaf for 45 minutes.
5. Brush the meatloaf with the remaining ketchup glaze, and continue to bake until the center of the loaf registers 160 degrees on an instant-read thermometer, about 15 to 20 minutes longer. Cool at least 20 minutes before slicing into 1-inch pieces.

QUESTION: When are you most productive?

12 comments on “Productive Mornings.

  1. Violaquarius says:

    My favourite creative time is night, but if someone would wake me with the smell of the meatloaf mentioned, I would jump out of bed, I swear!
    🙂
    Viola

  2. Tine says:

    I love the steam on the picture from that hot, tasty meatloaf! Great!

  3. i am definitely most productive in the morning. i like to get things done so i don’t have to worry about it for the rest of the day 🙂

  4. BroccoliHut says:

    I love mornings too…but that’s not my most productive time. I like to lounge and relax in the morning hours!
    I am much more productive in the afternoon.

  5. Mornings are my absolute favorite too. I feel like I am dying a bit when that alarm first goes off haha, but then the quiet of the morning and peaceful atmosphere is just wonderful
    However, afternoons are when I am most productive, because I like to blog/do what I want to in the mornings 🙂
    Great recipe! Happy Saturday Morning to you 🙂

  6. jelillie says:

    I am most productive between 7:30 and 8 A.M.

  7. Simply Life says:

    I’m with you and am SO much more productive in the morning! I could get about 10x the amount of stuff done before 8am than after 8pm!

  8. Alexiasana says:

    i love mornings but my most productive times are in the evening and night. i used to stay up so late to study and to calm down, i even started cooking something after midnight. it relaxed me so much…

  9. Matt says:

    Love the fact that you make lists (first photo)….I’m a huge list maker, great way to get things done and feel accomplished about something!

    I’m most productive in the morning right when I wake up and the rest of the world is asleep. Feels even better to get that jump start on everyone and keep it going for the rest of the day!

Leave a Reply

