Hello, Boston.

After a day of walking and traveling and pretending we belonged in Boston, Nicole and I both decided that we most definitely, positively, 100% could very happily live in the city.

Honestly, I love the country a little too much to think of this in forever terms.  But a year or two would be nice.  You know.  To soak it all up.

There’s a lot to love about Boston.

(And the Prudential Center.)

Yes.

We have our priorities in life.

Obviously.

Nicole has been raving about the Maggiano’s Little Italy to me ever since she visited the place with her husband.

So today, she treated me to lunch, as a belated Birthday gift.  Which I told her didn’t really apply, since she already bought me a really nice gift back in October.  But she insisted and I didn’t really feel much like arguing, especially after catching a whiff of lasagna. 😉

Warm, crusty bread to start…

…raspberry iced tea to drink.

Nicole ordered the Butternut Squash w/ Sage Ravioli which was heaven.

It tasted rich and indulgent but not at all heavy.  The sauce was light and simple, and with just a pinch of parmesan for an accent, the squash and sage could quite easily show themselves off.  So many flavors going on in each bite, and yet it was easy to pick apart each and every flavor.  Loved this.

I ordered the Pasta Aglio (…I just learned that “Aglio” means garlic in Italian…) which was also lovely.

Very simple, very flavorful.  The whole wheat penne was cooked perfectly and tossed in a sort of white wine/garlic/olive oil sauce, combining with broccolini and sun dried tomatoes.  All topped with just a pinch of salty parmesan.  Delicious.

We had contemplated going out for cupcakes afterwards, but both of us felt quite content and happy after our meals.  So we instead walked all over the city with a couple of hot starbucks lattes to keep us warm.

Until next time, Boston.

We’ll be back soon.

QUESTION: What is one of your favorite cuisines?  I love Indian food, although I don’t seem to go out for it very often.  I also love French-Canadian foods, mostly because of the memories surrounding it.  And, of course, you can’t go wrong with Italian.

14 comments on “Hello, Boston.

  1. Becky Sue says:

    I love Boston and that ravioli looks amazing! I’ll need to search out that restaurant for our next trip to the big city. I, too, am a big fan of Indian food… Malai Kofta or Kofta Lajwab is my favorite dish accompanied by stuffed breads and Papadam. Good thing there aren’t Indian restaurants nearby or I’d have weight issues. lol

  2. wonderful pics!! What kind of camera do you have?

    • Thanks, Lindsay! 90% of the time, I’m using my Canon Rebel XS. It’s a great camera. Very user friendly and fun to work with.

      The other 10% of the time (for times when I’m hiking and don’t want to risk falls or scratches) I use my Kodak Easy Share, which takes great outdoor shots. 😀

  3. Bea says:

    Boston! One of the cities I want to visit badly. Looks like you had a great time.

    As for favourite cuisines, it’s funny you mention Indian because that’s what I’ve been saying for the past year. I don’t like giving non-answers, so since I don’t eat Indian that often (I think it’s always nicer to eat it with a group and that’s harder to the control), I just tell people Indian. Now everyone think I looove Indian food, which I do, but I love so many other cuisines too!

  4. Caitlyn says:

    Boston looks like a lovely city. I’ve never been there, but I sure would like to visit sometime. It sounds like you have a fun time with your sister 🙂

  5. i’ve never been to boston before. actually…i’ve never even been to the east coast! i gotta go 🙂 as for my favorite cuisine, i would have to say mexican. in southern california, we get some killer mexican food

  6. Aww that sounds like an awesome day. Boston is a really nice city and it looks like you had great weather for walking around and exploring.

    Cute shoes, by the way.

  7. BroccoliHut says:

    Boston is such a fun city to visit! I haven’t been since the Healthy Living Summit in 2009–I think I’ve due for a return visit!
    I typically like Japanese cuisine, but I’m always up for trying anything!

  8. Maggiano’s has such great food! And, I love your pictures, especially the first one with the fall colors 🙂

Leave a Reply

