Five Delicious Ways (Part I)

Five Delicious Ways To…

…Enjoy A Mindful Morning.

1. Stretch out before stepping foot from your bedroom.

Spend a few minutes practicing some basic yoga poses.  Downward dogs.  Sun salutations.  Or, just reach tall and high for the sky, looking up and stretching out.  Focus on how you feel upon rising.  How does your body feel in this particular moment?  Tight?  Loose?  Energetic?  Tired?

2. Choose a mindful breakfast.

Do you always feel cold in the morning?  Opt for a warm bowl of oats, a couple of whole wheat waffles with peanut butter, or some fried eggs with toast.

Always feeling uncomfortably warm?  Choose a chilled fruit smoothie, a bowl of cereal with walnuts and low-fat milk, or a breakfast cookie.

3. Be present during breakfast.

Even if you have but 10 minutes to spare, you can still eat breakfast mindfully.

Give a short word of thanks for being so richly blessed with the opportunity to fuel up for your day.  And then, before eating, check in with how you feel.  Is your stomach growling?  What does being hungry feel like to you?  Notice how the food tastes to you.  The textures, the colors, the feel, the temperature.

4. Savor a cup of steamy hot coffee or tea.

There’s something wonderful about a cup of hot coffee or tea in the morning.  While you’re sipping, spend some time just being present.  Don’t read the newspaper.  Don’t watch the cooking channel.  Don’t feed the dog while simultaneously making today’s lunch (been there, done that.) 😉

For at least a few moments, just let yourself be.

5. Take a walk.

Again, let yourself focus on this given moment.  Notice what it sounds like when your feet touch the ground.  When the wind rustles through the trees.

Notice what it feels like when the sun hits your face.  When a gentle breeze whistles your hair into a frenzy.  What it feels like when your body is in motion, walking or running along a path.

(If morning walks aren’t a possibility, you can still practice being mindful of these things as you walk from your parking spot to the office building!)

Enjoy the moment.

Enjoy your morning.

QUESTION: Do you tend to be mindful of the moment or are you normally a million miles away?  I have to really work at being mindful, as my brain tends to go a million miles a minute with things I need to do, or things that I THINK need to be thought of.  For me, it’s a continuing practice. 😉

12 comments on “Five Delicious Ways (Part I)

  1. #1 is such a good idea! i am horrible at stretching. need to get better at it asap haha

  2. Nicole says:

    Ugh, I’m so bad at living in the moment. I’m always so busy, busy, busy… I have to remind myself to slow way down! 🙂

  3. jelillie says:

    This is really good! I am trying to get better at exactly this thing! In my prayers I have heard “Be slow constant and intentional” Thanks for the reminder!

  4. Tracey says:

    Beautiful pictures and comments.Good job.

  5. jamiddix says:

    I’ve read this post probably 3 times – I love it. Good reminders about everything….I love stretching while I’m still laying in bed. And, mornings at my house are crazy…getting two small kiddos ready, constantly telling them to “eat your breakfast.” Part of it is my need for control and everything needing to happen at a certain time, when really we’ve got plenty of time in the morning. Can I ask an egg question? A fried egg sounds like it should be bad for you. In fact, I hardly ever make them that way because I feel guilty. But, when I do, I use a tiny tiny bit of butter and that’s it. Is eating it that way really any different than eating a scrambled egg? (Does that sound as stupid as I think it does?)

    • Not stupid at all!!

      The word “fried” tends to carry a negative connotation with it (many times, unfortunately, so do eggs in general!!) We tend to envision fried chicken and deep fried mozzarella and fried________. The “evils” of frying comes down to the type and amount of fat used, but the way in which you’re making your fried eggs is very healthy. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with a little bit of butter (it offers great flavor) and “frying” a couple of eggs in that way offers up a tasty bite of high quality protein that you can feel good about.

      Definitely enjoy eating fried eggs!! 😀

      • jamiddix says:

        Oh sweet heaven, I’m glad I remembered to come back and see if you replied. You just made my night. I’m going to have to go buy me some organic eggs at Costco tomorrow:) THANK YOU!

  6. Alexiasana says:

    what a great and mindful post 🙂 i had to read the post a second time because i enjoyed it so much! so often we are so distracted and stressed and thinking about so many other things. but it can be so beautiful when we are actually living in the present and are aware of it too. thanks for this amazing post!

  7. What a lovely and mindful post! I definitely need to pay more attention to the first one… I am soo bad with stretching and really must work on this
    Stunning pictures as usual 🙂

  8. erraffety says:

    Love this! Mornings are my favorite time of the day, and I love pacing myself- taking some time for silence, mixing up a great big bowl of my latest favorite, peanut butter and banana oatmeal, and of course, a fresh mug of coffee. When you have all those little things to look forward to, it makes getting up so much easier!

  9. Aranelindale says:

    […] duchu článku, který mě minulý týden obzvláště zaujal na blogu The Flying ONION. Jmenuje se Five Delicious Ways (Part I) a dnes jsem si vyzkoušela číslo 2, 3, 4 a částečně 1. Zjistila jsem, že mi to zklidnění […]

  10. Aranel says:

    Erm… this is because I linked your article on my own blog. I know I am a next person in the long line, still: many thanks. Yesterday I started and found out it was a great problem for me to concentrate on the breakfast – seems such an easy thing, but is not. So, Five Delicious Ways are my set of rules for a next term 🙂

Leave a Reply

