This Weekend, I… (Part II)

This weekend, I…

1. Ran my first 5k.

Now I’ve got a 5k, a 10k and a half under my belt.  I do realize what this means, but I have to mentally prepare myself for that next big step before taking the plunge. 😉

I have to say, running a 5k was one of the funnest events I’ve yet to attend.  It was great being in a crowd of like minded individuals.  It felt fun vs. feeling scary and competitive (although there were definitely some super competitive athletes at this event as well!)

Dad ran with me, and burned up the course with his pace of 7.3 minute miles.  I ran my heart out with 8.? minute miles.  It felt good to run for speed vs. running for distance.  I’m normally a slow runner, but I like the idea of increasing my speed for future races.

The front runners finished with a pace of 5 minute miles which is absolutely awesome and absurd.  I can’t even imagine.

Whole Foods was handing out free apples and apple cider which made for a delicious post-run snack.  I also took a couple bites of Dad’s chili after the race.  Delicious.  It was nice and chunky with plenty of veggies and local grass fed beef.

We considered waiting in line for the locally dug potato fries (they seemed to be the hit of the day,) but the line was long and we were starving…

…so we mingled around for the free samples of breads and vegetables and things like that.

Check out these gorgeous heirloom garlic braids.  For those of us obsessed with all things garlic.  So pretty.

Later, we stopped off at Whole Foods for some more food (5k races apparently make me hungry.)

Dad made himself a roast beef sandwich by stopping in the bread department and asking for some lean roast beef at the deli.

I snagged a piece of dad’s baguette and got a little bit of this and that (kale, tempeh, 3-bean salad, and butter beans in olive oil) from the salad bar.

We also got some complimentary goodie bags complete with locally made strawberry and tripleberry jam.

Fun race, fun day.

I’m already planning another 5k for next month. 😀

2. Registered for a Masters Degree Information Session in November.
I’m still not really sure how I feel about this.  But lately I’ve been thinking about going for my Masters Degree.  It would be a big financial leap, but it might also be a smart career move.
I’m just going to start studying for my GRE exam, go to this informational session and take it a day at a time (while still applying for jobs in the meantime.)
We’ll see what happens with this one. 😉

3. Had a cookout with the family.

Who cares that it’s 32 degrees outside?

Or that I’m wearing mittens and thick wooly socks and I can see my breathe when I step outside?

It’s never too late for a cook”out.”  Complete with grass fed burgers, whole wheat buns from Trader Joes, onions and mushrooms (for the burger), root fries and side salads.

I wanted to try something slightly different than your typical “fry” so I baked up some root veggie fries, thanks to some inspiration from the cookbook Clean Food.  I changed the seasoning options, as it’s easily tweakable.  Go with what you like…the cooking method is no-fail.

Root Veggie Fries

  • 4 parsnips, peeled
  • 4 carrots, peeled
  • 1 rutabaga, peeled
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/4 cup cornmeal
  • salt and pepper
  • garlic powder to taste
  1. Preheat broiler to high.
  2. Cut vegetables into stick shapes.  Steam for 3 minutes.  Transfer to cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray, drizzle with oil, and toss with cornmeal and seasonings of choice.
  3. Broil for 5 minutes.  Flip.  Broil another 5 or until browned as desired (longer if you prefer them more crisp.)
Just like your typical french fries, these were delicious served with ketchup.  As much as I love potato fries, these really do make a fun twist now and then.
4. Recharged and reflected.
We all need “me time.”  Time to just unwind and reflect and journal and sip a cup of tea.
I heart holiday teas.
QUESTION: What did YOU do this weekend?
28 comments on “This Weekend, I… (Part II)

  1. Looks like an awesome time!! And I’m with you – I can’t imagine being able to run a 5 minute mile!?!? Crazyness.

  2. sofia says:

    i want to run races in the country where everything is green and they give you whole foods snacks afterward! what fun.

    love parsnip fries! the cornmeal sounds like a nice touch.

    a lovely weekend, indeed 🙂

  3. Caitlin C. says:

    I am running a cute New England 5K soon too, in Dec, it’s called the Santa’s Run! Everyone dresses Christmas-y 🙂 and I too grilled out last night in the cold New England weather. Well…my dad did. But it was awesome and cozy to eat by the fire!

  4. Caitlyn says:

    Aren’t 5K’s wonderful?! They leave me hungry the rest of the day! I have never been to a race that serves chilli afterwards. I’m quite jealous of that…and the fact that you have a whole food nearby!

    And you won’t believe this (or you may), but I also bought parsnips to make fries! Great minds think alike 🙂

  5. Health Freak College Girl says:

    that 5k sounds like so much fun! glad you had a good time 🙂

  6. Becky Sue says:

    Congrats on your 5k! You and your dad are fast! I’m lucky to get under 11 min./mile. I’m working on it though by starting to break up my running routine and adding sprints. Hopefully I won’t get hurt. Looks like a fun and pretty run. I have a couple coming up… one in Monson and Bright Nights in Springfield. So awesome you are thinking seriously about your Master’s! Do it now before other things in life get in the way.

    • Great advice about the masters…thanks! 😀

      And 11 min/mile is really great!! I ran unusually faster than my normal pace because the trail was flat as a pancake. A nice change from New England’s typical hills! 😀

  7. Lisa says:

    Girl, you are fast! Go ahead and get your Master’s now. ADA (or soon to be AND 😉 is wanting to make it entry level. If you want to work and do it at the same time, consider one of the online programs. I did the one at the University of Alabama and loved it. I agree w/the other poster, do it before life gets in the way. I did it with 2 kids under 6 years old, but it would have been MUCH easier before I had them!! Good luck on whatever you decide.

    • Thank you, Lisa!! I so appreciate advice like this. I didn’t realize ADA (or AND..still not sure which to call it in the meantime!) was going to be making it entry level. And that is so awesome that you went for your masters too. 😀

      Thank you, thank you!

  8. Lisa says:

    I don’t know how likely it is to happen, but I know it is something they want to do. Good luck whatever you decide. I think you are going to be a great dietitian!

  9. Melissa says:

    Was that 5k the 5k for Farmland? I was there too! Such a fun race…and that apple cider was delicious!

  10. Congrats on your 5k – you and your dad are speedy, and what beautiful scenery! Those root veggie fries look like an excellent complement to the meal!

  11. BroccoliHut says:

    I just bought my first box of holiday tea of the season–pumpkin spice. I was very tempted to get the Egg Nog, but decided the pumpkin was more closely Halloween-y 🙂
    Keep us updated on the graduate school situation. I can assure you that the GRE is nothing compared to the RD exam–I think I studied a total of one day before taking them?
    Happy Monday!

    • I almost bought the pumpkin spice…let me know how you like it! 😀

      And that is good news regarding the GRE…haha. I bought a book on it last night, and it doesn’t seem too bad, although I’ll definitely have to review some of the math (geometry!) and the vocabulary. So, in other words, don’t mind me if I start using fancy words now and then. 😉

  12. Congrats on the 5k! I am going to have to be on the lookout for that tea… I am rather intrigued by that flavor 🙂

  13. So I did the Run for the Cure at the beginning of October with my whole family. It’s not a real timed race, but they do give prizes to the first people to cross the finish line.
    My cousin, who has been an athlete all her life came in first place. I was jealous.

    Oh, and did I mention that she had just given birth to a baby 5 weeks before the race?

  14. Nicole says:

    Did I tell you yet that I love the new look of your blog? (I know, it’s not really new anymore, but it’s still kind of new). HA, ha. Well, I love it, in case I didn’t tell you. And congrats on the GREAT run! I can’t wait to do my first 5k!

  15. em says:

    sounds like a great race! and your dad’s chili looks wonderful, especially with the freeezing weather we’re having here in MI. 🙂

Leave a Reply

