a bite of somethin’ special.

I baked some muffins.

They’re really nothing fancy.

I’m not going to stand here and brag and tell you that these are beyond superior to any other muffin that you will ever try.

You know.  These are really just your ordinary, every day kind of muffin.

These muffins won’t blow your socks off.

Nor will they suddenly convert you into becoming a bouncing, jumping bean of a morning person (unless, of course, you already are that person.)

But.

I still kind of think these muffins are somethin’ special.  And I’m not just saying this because I’m hopelessly obsessed with walnuts and dates and pineapple.  Or anything at all to do with breakfast, for that matter.

They’re just.  You know.  Somethin’ special.

Anyways, I think after you take your very first bite, as they come all hot and steamy from the oven, you’ll completely understand.

Morning Glory Muffins–recipe modified from an original that was seen in Cooking Light

If you don’t have muffin cups, just spray the empty muffin pan with cooking spray (this works just as well.)  I like to freeze at least half of these so that I can have breakfast in a cinch for the weeks to come.  Enjoy!

  • 1-1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup regular oats
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon wheat bran
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup plain fat-free yogurt
  • 1 cup mashed ripe banana (about 2)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup chopped pitted dates
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup chopped dried pineapple
  • 3 tablespoons ground flaxseed

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. Place 18 muffin cups liners in muffin cups; coat liners with cooking spray.
  3. Lightly spoon flours into dry measuring cups, and level with a knife. Combine flour and next 5 ingredients (through salt) in a large bowl; stir with a whisk.  Make a well in center of mixture.
  4. Combine yogurt, banana, and egg; add to flour mixture, stirring just until moist. Fold in dates, walnuts, and pineapple. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups. Sprinkle evenly with flaxseed.
  5. Bake at 350° for 20 minutes or until muffins spring back when touched lightly in center. Remove muffins from pans immediately; cool on a wire rack.  Enjoy!

QUESTION: Are you a morning person?

14 comments on “a bite of somethin’ special.

  1. Great recipe!! I like how they are healthier too, thank you for this 🙂 I am definitely a morning person, I like to get things done then!

  2. BroccoliHut says:

    These sound delicious!! I’ve never baked with dried pineapple before, so I will def be trying this recipe 🙂

  3. im OBSESSED with morning glory muffins. luckily i haven’t had a morning glory muffin i hated, and i bet these would be MY ABSOLUTE FAVOURITE! they look so yummy!

    xoxo ❤

  4. Caitlyn says:

    I like the new layout 🙂 It’s very warm and welcoming!

    I proclaim you the official muffin go-to girl! You always blow me away with your delicious muffin recipes and beautiful photographs. I love that added dates and dried pineapple- such a fun twist!

  5. They sound delicious – and I just love your place setting!

  6. Matt says:

    Mmmmmmm, I’ll have to try these. Do you have an all-time favorite muffin recipe???

    I’m definitely a morning person….5:30am every day! I love going out on the lakefront path here in Chicago early to run/bike during sunrise. I feel like I have the whole city all to myself sometimes, it’s so peaceful!

    • That sounds so nice! I love running early like that, when the rest of the world is still sleeping. 😀

      Favorite muffin recipe…oh gosh. That’s hard. I’d probably go with the whole wheat pumpkin muffins. Even moreso when some dark chocolate chips are added in along with the walnuts. 😉

  7. I’m definitely a morning person! And I love this post. Sometimes I just need normal food!

  8. Katie says:

    I just made a vegan version of these a couple of weeks ago – the combination of stuff in there is so good! And muffins are like cake to me, so I love them – even if they don’t blow my socks off. 🙂 And yes, I LOVE the morning!

Leave a Reply

