that little last bit of birthday.

My birthday has felt a little like a non-stop celebration for the past few days.

First, there was the indulgence at the Cheesecake Factory.

Followed by hiking Mt. Cannon with the family in New Hampshire.

And then yesterday, this lovely duo came over for an autumn inspired dinner, for that little last bit of birthday.

Oh gosh.

Three days of delicious food, being outdoors and enjoying the people I love most.  What a weekend.

But, apparently, birthdays can be exhausting too.  And this has nothing to do with Sunday’s hike (well, maybe a little.)  Which is why I decided to keep last night’s dinner perfectly simple.  Yes.  Simple, warming, hearty, relaxed and friendly.

I put together a simple cheese plate for some pre-walk munching.

I love pre-dinner walks almost as much as I love morning runs.

The day was chilling down when we arrived back home, and there were bowls of steamy vegetable soup and homemade honey whole wheat bread waiting for everyone (thanks to mom’s well-advanced preparation!)

And hot apple crisp with freshly whipped cream for dessert.

And then, as tradition would have it, Dad bought me a dogfish punkin ale for that very little last bit of birthday celebration.

Thanks to everyone for a fabulous birthday.  I am so blessed. 😀

Apple Crisp–moderated from the original recipe as seen in Betty Crocker’s Cookbook

This will quickly become your go-to apple crisp.  It’s a perfect way to use up those tart but delicious cortland apples which are absolutely wonderful right now.  I like to eat mine hot with a dollop of fresh cream, but others feel strongly about serving with vanilla ice cream.  You really can’t go wrong with either choice. Enjoy!!

  • 4-6 cups peeled, sliced tart apples (about 6-7 medium apples)
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 3 Tbsp. butter, softened
  1. Heat oven to 375.  Arrange apples in square pan, 8x8x2 inches, which has been coated in cooking spray.  Mix remaining ingredients.  Sprinkle over apples.
  2. Bake until topping is golden brown and apples are tender, 30-40 minutes.  Serve warm with cream or ice cream.
QUESTION: What is your dessert of choice?
15 comments on “that little last bit of birthday.

  1. Caitlin C. says:

    Oh my goodness that cheese plate! I have been super into cheese after getting to try so many kinds at farmer’s markets and festivals lately. Yours looks divine!

  2. Matt says:

    Yum! That apple crisp makes me want to whip up a batch of my German apple strudel!

    Lately my dessert of choice has been a handful of dark chocolate chips that I keep in the freezer 🙂

  3. Happy belated birthday! What a tremendous celebration you’ve had. Aren’t b-days the best!!?

    Thanks for sharing this apple crisp recipe. I love apple crisp but hate that it can be heavy in the butter department. Wa WAAAAA. But this version looks light and delicious. Can’t wait to try it!

  4. BroccoliHut says:

    What a perfect meal to finish off the celebration!
    I love a good apple pie, but I think my dessert of choice is spice cake 🙂

  5. Nicole says:

    I don’t think I could pick a favorite dessert… but I imagine that it would have chocolate in it! 🙂

  6. Kiah says:

    Oh wow, what an awesome way to spend your special day! I’d have to say is home baked oatmeal chocolate chip cookies…original, I know 🙂

  7. Picking a favorite dessert is pretty impossible! I will narrow it down to a few 🙂 Ice cream, warm chocolate chip cookies (I mean how can you go wrong?) and blueberry crisp, with ice cream on top!

  8. Dubliner cheese…

    Well done 🙂

  9. Ashlei says:

    Happy belated birthday! Your photos look beautiful. Always admiring them.

Leave a Reply

