A Hike in the Whites.

Thank you all so very much for the Happy Birthday wishes!!  You guys are the absolute greatest. 😀

Yesterday’s hike turned out more than fabulous.

It was one of those perfect New England fall days.

The morning air was crisp and cool, softened lightly with summer’s lingering warm breeze and sun.  There were leaves zig-zagging across the air with a comical sort of ease.  There were silent morning bikers, fellow hikers with their big goofy dogs, and the smells of pine and dirt and leaves.

Instantly, I felt peace.  Instantly, I felt home.

One of my life goals is to achieve and conquer each of the forty eight 4,000ft. mountains of NH.  It feels a little overwhelming, a little out of reach, but both my Dad and my brother have accomplished it, so I’m determined that I can to.

(My brother also completed the Appalachian Trail, which I’ll forever be in awe of!)

Climbing Mt. Cannon has made this the 11th.  A long ways to go, but I’m enjoying each step of progression.  The views at the top were absolutely breathtaking, and I’m so glad that I could enjoy such a fabulous birthday experience with the family. 😀

The hike was a toughy (i.e., very steep!) but the views completely made it worthwhile. 😀

When we made it down to the base of the mountain, we were all starving for food, and so we hit the local pizza shop.  Nothing beats a salty slice of pizza and an all-you-can-eat fresh salad buffet after a long day of hiking. 😉

My 24th birthday was unbelievably delicious and fun.

Yes.  The absolute, most very best.

QUESTION: Favorite autumn activity?

14 comments on “A Hike in the Whites.

  1. janetha says:

    ah! i wanna go. and happy belated! ❤

  2. BroccoliHut says:

    My fave autumn activity–pumpkin pickin!

  3. Nicole says:

    I have too many favorite autumn activities to pick just one. Ha, ha. Apple picking, watching football, hiking… and even raking is kind of fun in the fall weather. 🙂

  4. Happy Belated Birthday my dear!
    I can`t think of a better way to celebrate a birthday than by hiking. Especially in the fall when the views are the most gorgeous.

    Also, I can`t believe that your brother hiked the entire Appalachian Trail!? That’s crazy. How long did that take?
    I’ve always thought it would be amazing to hike the entire Bruce Trail here in Ontario (which runs from Tobermory to Niagara along the escarpment) but I don’t think it’s nearly as long as the Appalachian.

    • It took him and his buddy 3-1/2 months! It goes from Georgia to Maine, and I’m awful for not remembering the exact mileage, but I do know that it was way longer than I can imagine ever hiking! Although I do think it would be an absolutely amazing experience. 😀

  5. Katie says:

    Those views!!! Oh my word, it’s deliciously beautiful. And happy (late) birthday!!

  6. Matt says:

    Looks like an awesome hike! The best part about autumn is cyclocross racing!

  7. Becky Sue says:

    Gorgeous pics! When I was a kid I spent a lot of time in the White Mountains. My Dad worked for the White Mountain National Forest.

Leave a Reply

