what I love about October.

You know what I love about October?

Besides the chilly mornings and warm afternoons.

Besides the dramatic change of seasons.  The dramatic change and pops of color.

Besides the (wonderful) valid excuse to eat oatmeal for breakfast and for dinner.  To warm up with, you know.

Besides being able to wear jeans and a cozy hoodie and a pair of sneakers for an afternoon walk.

Besides walking through crunchy leaves and feeling intoxicated by the delicious smells of pine trees and leaves.

Besides apple picking and farm stands and squash and all of those other deliciously wonderful things.

Yes.

Besides of all that.

You know what I love about October?  (Hint: It has something to do with October 9.)

What can I say?  I like my birthdays.  Especially when they involve chocolate cheesecake mixed with chocolate cake and chocolate frosting and chocolate chips and chocolate syrup.

Not that I like chocolate, mind you.  At all.  Obviously.

My parents are such a blessing in my life (not just because of the cheesecake, although that was a definite perk..haha!)  I appreciate and love you guys more than you’ll ever know!  Thanks so much for a fun night out. 😀

So.

I’m a little ahead of myself.  My actual birthday is really not until tomorrow, but I’ll be hiking in the White Mountains, so I figured I’d post pictures now before I’m all covered in sweat and dirt…ha.  I can’t wait to get up there for some October hiking.  The autumn months of New England are the best months to be outdoors.

On Monday, my sister and brother in law are coming over for yet another birthday celebration.  I’m honestly feeling a little like a spoiled birthday girl in this moment.  And.  I’m kind of liking it. 😉

QUESTION: How do you like to celebrate your birthday?

17 comments on “what I love about October.

  1. Paige says:

    Happy Birthday! I’m an April girl, but I honestly think I love October just as much. 🙂

  2. Happy birthday to another Libra!

  3. livvy30 says:

    Happy Birthday! Autumn is my favourite season-could be something to do with a birthday in September…… 🙂

  4. mixxedtape says:

    Happy birthday!! A birthday ain’t complete without some chocolate cake:) enjoy the hike!

  5. Teri Carter says:

    I just wanted to let you know I found your recipe for Banana, Zucchini, Chocolate Chip muffins and they are a huge hit. We just made our 3rd batch in 2 weeks.
    http://terbear287.blogspot.com/

  6. crissy says:

    Hi Sarah! Happy Birthday! U’re back in blogging. I check it once in a while. How young are you?;) Enjoy your birthday!

  7. 24 years young. 😉 Thanks for the Happy Birthday wishes! 😀

  8. Matt says:

    Happy Birthday Sarah! Have fun hiking! If you’re ever up for chatting about food, running, biking, hiking, or healthy stuff in general, feel free to message me!

  9. Echo says:

    Happy birthday, Sarah! I just celebrated my birthday a few days ago, too, and it seems that we are almost the exact same age down to the day. 🙂 I am so glad I am able to celebrate my birthday in the fall! It is a lovely time of year.
    Thank you for sharing all your delicious recipes! I have been reading your blog for a long time, and one of my favorite recipes is your I Dream in Chocolate Granola! 🙂
    Congratulations on passing your RD exam! 🙂

  10. BroccoliHut says:

    Happy happy birthday!!!
    My birthday is December 24, so I like to celebrate by spending time with my family around the Christmas tree 😉

  11. dottylizzy says:

    Oooh!! Happy Birthday Sarah! 🙂 It sounds like you’re having wonderful celebrations … not to mention wonderful chocolate cake!! 😉

    I’m an October baby too – the 17th! Best month for a birthday, eh?! 🙂

  12. Nicole says:

    I believe in celebrating for the entire month, whenever my birthday comes around. Ha, ha. Hope your birthday was the best… and can’t wait to see you tonight! 🙂

  13. hope you had a WONDERFUL birthday! can’t wait to hear more about how you celebrated 🙂

  14. Becky Sue says:

    Happy Belated Birthday!

    I have parents like that too and we are so very blessed. I hope that I can deserve the same feeling from my kids.

Leave a Reply

