it’s as easy as chopping.

I’m working part time as a dietary research collector.  I cook the family meals.  I do the grocery shopping.  I help out where I can and when I can.

I’m not currently employed full time.  I shouldn’t feel so busy.

But somehow, I still find myself at the end of the day, wondering where the day even went.  How does this happen?

The morning flew by yesterday.  As did the afternoon.

And once I arrived home from grocery shopping, it suddenly hit me that I hadn’t yet planned dinner.  But that’s okay.  Nicole (aka, loving simple moments) did that for me, in her very own sort of way.  She provided the idea, the spinning point.

After that, it was as easy as chopping.

I stayed true to the recipe, while only adding in a little extra garlic and a little less oil.

On the side, I threw together a quick salad complete with a handful of garbanzo beans, a sprinkle of walnuts and half of a clementine (for that extra touch of sunshine!)

Drizzled in Bragg’s Healthy Vinaigrette.

While the veggies cooked, I put together the flavorful sauce….

smearing it on the wrap.

And then, voila!  The veggies were done in an instant.

Well.

Twelve minutes to be exact.  Which is still faster than cooking a frozen pizza. 😉

I love combining cold and crunchy (i.e., salad) with hot and steamy.  It’s the perfect combination for a truly satisfying meal.  Especially in the cooler autumn months of New England.

Quick.

Nutritious.

As easy as chopping.

Roasted Vegetable Wrap–as seen on Loving Simple Moments
(serves 3-4)

Double up on the veggies if you’d like leftovers for the week.  They’re just as great on salads and pizzas as they are in a wrap.  Make this vegan by taking out the mayo and adding in some guacamole.  Enjoy!

  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 zucchini, quartered lengthwise and sliced thin
  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • handful of white mushroom caps, sliced 1/4 inch
  • 2 Tbsp. oil
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp dried or fresh garlic
  • 3-4 whole wheat wraps.
  • sauce: combine 1/4 cup olive mayonnaise, 1 tsp garlic, and dried parsley
  1. Heat oven to 450.  Spray baking sheet with cooking spray.
  2. Add vegetables, drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with basil and garlic and toss to combine.
  3. Cook for 12-15 minutes or until tender and beginning to brown.
  4. Meanwhile, make sauce.  Spread about 1 Tbsp. sauce on each wrap.  Once vegetables are cooked, add to wrap, roll up and enjoy.
QUESTION: What is your go-to quick and easy meal?  You can’t get much faster than scrambled eggs with toast, leftover roasted vegetables and a fruit.  Or a toasted pb and jelly with a glass of milk.
6 comments on “it’s as easy as chopping.

  1. kholidwakhid says:

    looks yummy :9

  2. I always have a batch of quinoa or brown rice cooked up in the fridge so my easy to go meal would be a serving of the grain/seed, plus chopped veggies (i.e. peppers)+ half a can of any bean or sprouts + herbs (basil, mint, parsley or coriander), + any dressing of choice. so easy so fast and so yum! your wrap looks gooood!!

  3. Matt says:

    Nice looking wrap! I always cook beans (lentils, garbanzos, black-eyed peas, black beans are the staples) by the boatload and freeze servings for emergency use only. Can mix them with greens and random veggies for a hearty salad. I’ve also usually got quinoa/brown rice that I mix with veggies, eggs, bread crumbs, spices for some easy burgers on the skillet. Absolute go to is a regular, untoasted PB & raw honey sandwich with banana, raisins, and walnuts.

  4. your pictures are always so pretty! and the quick and easy meal i always go for is a parfait 🙂

  5. BroccoliHut says:

    The fastest thing for me these days is a smoothie–I’ve even been known to have one for dinner on occasion. Hey, it’s got protein, calcium, vitamins, and fat–why not?

Leave a Reply

