a rainy day and a bowl of beans.

Guess who I’m paw-sitting this week?

Don’t let these handsome good looks fool you…

These guys find themselves in more mischief than a 6 week old kitten.

Still not sure where an indoor cat manages to find sticks to chew on?

We spent the day running around the room and cuddling.  Stitch (the gray and white) loves bumping heads and playing hide and seek.  Highstreet (the black) just loves being held and pampered.  And fed.  He’s obsessed with those fishy Friskies Temptations. 😉

By the time I drove back home from the playing, feeding, pampering session, it was still raining (surprise, surprise!)  New England is getting so much rain, it’s almost ridiculous.

This does, however, warrant an excuse to eat a big bowl of beans for dinner.  The perfect rainy day fare.

With a basic side salad, adorned with a couple of sunny clementines.

And some toasted whole wheat honey bread, homemade by mom.

Sometimes, I miss the sunshine.

But then again.  Sometimes you can’t beat a rainy day and a bowl of beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Quite possibly the easiest, tastiest beans you’ll ever make.  Double if you want to freeze and have leftovers throughout the week.

  • 2 c. navy beans
  • 1-2 onions, finely diced
  • 3 T. molasses
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp dry mustard
  • 1/2 c. ketchup
  • 1 T. Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 T. packed brown sugar
  1. Soak beans overnight in cold water.  Simmer beans in same water until tender, approximately 1 to 2 hrs.  Drain and reserve liquid. (keep in mind that you don’t want the beans sooo tender that they’re falling apart on you…they should be a little firm)
  2. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
  3. Arrange the beans in a 2 quart bean pot or casserole dish and top with onions.
  4. In a saucepan, combine rest of ingredients.  Bring mixture to a bowl and pour over beans.  Pour in just enough of reserved bean water to cover the beans.  Stir gently with rubber spatula and cover dish with lid or aluminum foil.
  5. Bake for 3 to 4 hrs in preheated oven.  Stir at least every hour.  ENJOY!
    QUESTION: What is your favorite rainy day activity?  Reading, baking, sipping tea.  And/or running, if it’s not thundering. 😉
14 comments on “a rainy day and a bowl of beans.

  1. mixxedtape says:

    Those cats are so photogenic (and pretty!)! My cat can’t be bothered with sitting still long enough for someone to take a photograph 🙂

  2. Nicole says:

    Awww, thank you for posting the adorable pics of the cats! 🙂 I LOVE the one of Highstreet playing in the bag. It totally cracked me up.

  3. Matt says:

    Can’t say I’ve ever had truly homemade baked beans…….maybe after I get to that spaghetti squash. And honestly, who isn’t obsessed with fishy Friskies Temptations?!?

    Favorite rainy day activities: running (and purposefully stepping in puddles), crosswords, documentaries, crossing something off of my never ending To Do list. Oh, and learning something new. Never stop learning! 🙂

  4. Caitlin C. says:

    That toast looks SO GOOD! You have such a way of creating a cozy vibe through your photographs. I’m a New Englander too and can feel the New England fall even in your indoor shots. Beautiful!

  5. That first picture is a great one of Highstreet! So cute.

  6. your black kitty looks just like mine! but she’s at home and i’m in college 😦

    but anyways…those baked beans look really good!

  7. BroccoliHut says:

    Can’t wait to make this! I am a huge fan of baked beans, but I don’t think I’ve ever made them myself–I just always eat my mom’s version by the ton:)
    I am loving that clementines are back in season too–I just bought my first bag a few days ago.

  8. Maren says:

    What a great dinner! I eat beans plain when it rains too. It’s the ultimate comfort food, especially with a side of mashed potatoes.

  9. Lou says:

    Yum, I LOVE baked beans… so much better when you make them from scratch. Your photos are gorgeous… that broccoli is the best green! Rainy day activity would have to be sewing, drinking copious amounts of hot chai and making pickles!

  10. Is this the same recipe as your memere’s that you posted on the old blog? I used to have that one noted in my google reader, but when I got rid of the ‘notes’ feature it disappeared.

Leave a Reply

