a drop of pumpkin.

Who put this hill here?

Why do my feet hurt?

“Define yourself”…huff, puff…”you can do it”…huff, puff…”just keep moving”…

With the internship and the RD exam behind me, I’ve just recently started increasing my running mileage beyond my typical 3 miles.  Mostly because these past few weeks of routinely running three miles, three times a week has felt a bit like pulling candy from my teeth (or pulling chewing gum from a lump of pennies, which is another story altogether…I’m sure you don’t care to hear about that one!)

Every once in a while this happens.  I fall into the mold of not really enjoying running.  Border line despising it.

(*gasp!*)

But despite being bored to tears, I kept plodding on, because I knew that one day I would wake up and I would feel like running.  As in really running.  And I didn’t want to be starting back at ground zero when this happened.  Three miles was my base and I planned on keeping it that way.  Sometimes its important to back off.  In this case, I felt it was important to push through.

And then, it finally happened.  Two days ago, I wanted to run 5 miles.  And so I did.  Today I ran another 5.  And I’m beginning to really have an itch for those really long runs.  Soon.

Very soon.  

In the meantime, my appetite is skyrocketing due to this slight increase in exercise.  And so, this afternoon, I decided to make a batch of pumpkin drops.

Admittedly, pumpkin drops are not much to look at.  They’re this funny combination of biscuits and scones and muffins.  Unfortunately for the drops, however, they didn’t obtain any of the muffins’, scones’ or biscuits’ good looks.

But once you get passed all that, you’ll undoubtedly fall in love.

In love with its crusty exterior, its soft, pillowy interior.  Its subtle, soft flavors.  Its spice for life and those little bits of chewy raisins, intermingled with cinnamon, sugar and clove.  Love.

They’re spicy and warm and deliciously comfortable in their own skin.

Grab two with a glass of milk and voila!  You have breakfast.  Or take one with a cup of tea for a light afternoon snack, after a workout, or before a workout.

I think you’ll love them no matter how you decide to eat ’em.

Hearty Pumpkin Spice Drops
  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cups old fashioned oatmeal
  • 1 Tbsp. granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp clove
  • 1/3 cup dried fruit (raisins, cranberries, etc.)
  • 1/4 cup butter, chopped
  • 1/2 cup + 1 Tbsp. milk
  • 3/4 cup canned pumpkin (such as Libby’s)
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Mix together dry ingredients (flour, oats, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, spices.)
  3. Cut in butter and combine using two knives, until the mixture resembles bread crumbs.
  4. Add dried fruit to dry mixture if desired.
  5. In a separate bowl, mix together the wet ingredients (milk, pumpkin, vanilla).
  6. Gradually add wet mixture to the flour mixture and combine until a soft and sticky dough is formed.
  7. Coat baking pan with cooking spray.  With two spoons, drop pumpkin mixture into 8-12, rounded drops.  In a small separate bowl, combine 1 tsp sugar with 1 tsp cinnamon.  Sprinkle on top of drops.
  8. Bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes, or until drops are golden-brown on top and beginning to brown underneath.  Cool on a wire rack or serve immediately.  Best eaten warm…ENJOY!
    QUESTION: What is your go-to way to stay physically active when life gets busy?  I like to fit physical activity into my usual, daily habits.  Running up and down the stairs, parking far away from the grocery store, etc., when I can’t seem to fit exercise in otherwise.  But nothing beats the feeling I get from a really good run. 😀
7 comments on “a drop of pumpkin.

  1. BroccoliHut says:

    I know EXACTLY what you mean! Sometimes I get into the habit of running just cuz that’s “what I do” and not for the enjoyment of it. But when I get a really good run in among the fall foliage and sunshine, I remember why I love running so much!

  2. Nicole says:

    Ooh, can’t wait to try those! 🙂

  3. I saw so many pumpkin recipes recently that i went out (IN DELHI!) to get a whole pumpkin, boil it, blend it and make my own version of “canned pumpkin”. Somehow, i managed to make it too liquid and will have to use it as soup or something. awww… now i am seeing another can of pumpkin on your blog…and im so jealous!!! haha great recipe!

    • Sarah says:

      YOU are my role model. Your very own “canned pumpkin?” That takes motivation and hard work. And I’ll bet it will taste amazing as a soup. 😀

  4. Pumpkin muffins are on the menu for this week and I’m glad I saw this version of pumpkin goodness. As for the activity, I’m no help. I’m on the bench right now with a running…thing..(not really an injury, more of a weird illness).. and I’m not doing anything else. When i WAS injured and not running, I at least did yoga and tons of walking. I have to do something or I will pull my hair out.

Leave a Reply

