at home on the farm.

The more I think about it, the more I realize that my family is right.

I need to marry a farmer.

There’s just something special about a farm.

I realize that the work gets dirty.  Smelly.  Tiring.

But still.

Still.

I can’t help but smile and laugh whenever I’m around farm animals.  I find cleaning out stalls to be therapeutic (don’t laugh!)  And nothing makes me feel more at home than when I’m taking care of horses and dogs and cats.  So I’m pretty sure that I’d love taking care of cows and pigs and goats too?

Yep.  I think I need to marry a farmer.

Or.  If that doesn’t happen, I’ll just need to open up my very own goat farm, complete with a few cows, some chickens and a trusty ol’ farm dog.   😉

Anyways.

Not much cooking went on over here today, as it was way too warm to fire up the oven.  Instead I opted for some leftovers and sauteed a bunch of kale that had been picked this morning.

I love early fall when all the stands start selling greens and cabbage and squash.  It makes me feel slightly better about having to say goodbye to peaches and watermelon.

(And pumpkin?  Well.  Pumpkin makes *everything* better!!!)

Driving to some of the nearby farms was worth the trip, as we now have a fridge full of produce and a yard full of pumpkins and corn stalks.

It’s starting to really look like fall around here.

Which I love, love, love.

I also love farms.

And cows.  And goats.  And produce.

And.  Well.  I think I need to marry a farmer.

QUESTION: Is there a lot of local produce available where you are right now?  What are your some of your favorites?

17 comments on “at home on the farm.

  1. Melissa says:

    So much good produce!! I went to a farm stand called Atkins the other day and got a beautiful squash and some raspberries (so surprised)!

  2. i can not get over how pretty your pictures are. they are literally breathtaking!

  3. Dev says:

    The pics are forcing me to become a farmer! 🙂

  4. Nicole says:

    Yes, I think you should marry a farmer… Then I’ll save so much money on produce. 😉 LOVE the pics!! (And I’m slightly jealous that you bought pumpkins so cheap. I paid $5 each for mine!).

  5. sofia says:

    such beautiful pictures! i love my city life too much to marry a farmer, but these photos do tempt me…

  6. I always thought it would be very cool to be a farmer. I love being on the farm and I especially love farm animals.
    I never really thought about marrying a farmer though! I guess it’s too late for that now.

  7. janetha says:

    I am obsessed with these photos. BEAUTIFUL.

  8. adeline says:

    What farm did you go to? I miss New England so much! North Carolina is just not the same~they are selling pumpkins and such but it is still summer here and doesn’t feel like fall even though my New England clock is telling me it should be.

  9. Ahhh farms are wonderful indeed. Look at those sugar pumpkins!!

    Your photos are so beautiful and make me miss the farm life.

Leave a Reply

