say hello to tofu.

Thank you, thank you, thank you for all of the warm thoughts and congratulations regarding my dietitian exam!!  You guys are the absolute greatest. 😀

When most people think tofu, most people think soggy, tasteless, boring, and—aside from tempeh—the ugliest non-meaty meat replacer.

I like to prove them wrong.

If you’re new to tofu, you’ve probably never in a million years imagined it could be crispy on the outside, absolutely sopping with flavor and so darn delicious that you can’t stop plopping the little bites of delight into your mouth, as they come piping hot and sizzlin’ out of the oven.

No, this is not a dream.

Tofu is what you make of it.

Boring, if you let it be.

Or wildly delicious if you nurture it.  Doctor it up.  Give it some love.

If you’re new to tofu, this is your recipe.

If you and tofu go way, way back, this recipe is still for you.

And then come back and let me know your honest to goodness thoughts on tofu.

Broccoli, Noodle and Tofu Salad Bowl

  • 8-oz water-packed, extra firm tofu
  • 2 T sesame oil
  • 2 T. low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1-1/2 tsp hot chile sauce, divided
  • 6 oz whole wheat fettuccine
  • 6 cups water
  • 8 oz. broccoli
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 3 T rice wine vinegar
  • 1 T grated, peeled fresh ginger (or a little less dried)
  • 1 tsp dark sesame oil
  • 1/2 cup thinly sliced radishes
  • 2 Tbs. chopped dry-roasted cashews, toasted

1. Cut tofu into 3/4-inch-thick slices. Place tofu slices in a single layer on several layers of paper towels; cover with additional paper towels. Let tofu stand for 30 minutes to drain, pressing down occasionally (or use a tofu press if you have one.) Remove tofu from paper towels, and cut into 3/4-inch cubes
2. Preheat oven to 350°
3. Combine 2 tablespoons sesame oil, soy sauce, and 1 teaspoon chile sauce in a large bowl, stirring well with a whisk. Add tofu cubes to soy sauce mixture, and toss gently to coat. Let stand for 15 minutes. Remove tofu from bowl with a slotted spoon; reserve soy sauce mixture in bowl. Arrange tofu in a single layer on a foil-lined baking sheet coated with cooking spray, and bake tofu at 350° for 10 minutes or until lightly golden.
4. Cook noodles according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain and rinse with cold water; drain well.
5. Combine 6 cups water and salt in a large saucepan over high heat, and bring to a boil. Add Broccoli to pan; cook for 3 minutes or until crisp-tender. Drain and plunge Broccoli into ice water; drain well. Chop Broccoli.
6. Add olive oil, remaining 1/2 teaspoon chile sauce, rice wine vinegar, ginger, and sesame oil to reserved soy sauce mixture in bowl; stir mixture well with a whisk. Add baked tofu, noodles, Broccoli, and 1/2 cup thinly sliced radishes to bowl; toss gently to coat. Sprinkle salad with cashews.

QUESTION: Tofu…love or hate?

22 comments on “say hello to tofu.

  1. Ha! This couldn’t have come at a more perfect time. I just got a block of tofu last week and had no idea how to cook it. Thanks for sharing!

  2. coat stand says:

    This is a really cool post! I know nothing about tofu before, lol. Thanks for sharing:)

  3. Evan Thomas says:

    I’ve always loved tofu(well, always = for the last 2 years anyway) but it definitely doesn’t agree with my stomach 100% so I’ve switched to tempeh primarily. Too bad; I never would have thought I’d miss that tofu texture but I really do!

  4. BroccoliHut says:

    Total tofu lover here! I go through a block per week 🙂

  5. i love love loveeee tofu! i try not to eat too much of it but i wish i could always have it 🙂

  6. Thanks for this… I want to like tofu but I’m not sold, this looks amazing so I’m gonna give it another shot!

  7. I am definitely pro-tofu! Haha. Your recipe sounds fantastic – tofu paired with broccoli is a great flavour combination. I must try adding fresh ginger and cashews to my stir-fries!!

  8. Rachel says:

    i love tofu!! one time i had popcorn “chicken” tofu at whole foods- i honestly couldn’t believe it was the real thing. it was actually a bit concerning. it was SO good. people think it’s weird- and i agree that if it isn’t dressed up much or cooked right i find it strange- but it’s so versatile i find it hard not to enjoy!

  9. Nicole says:

    I don’t think my hubby is ready for tofu yet… Ha, ha. But when he is, I’ll try this recipe!! 🙂

    • You never know…he could totally surprise you! I’ll bet he’d love the tofu stuffed shells that we made way, way, way back when I first learned to love tofu (even though I was picketing against it the entire time…haha!)

  10. Katie says:

    Love! That’s the way I make it too, and I swear I could eat an entire block. So delicious.

  11. I LOVE tofu! This combination sounds awesome 🙂 And though it’s a little late.. congrats on the exam!

  12. […] went searching for the one recipe I remembered seeing that first drew me to tofu. It’s from Sarah of The Flying Onion – […]

Leave a Reply

