Tis The (Autumn) Season

Tis The (Autumn) Season.

For going apple picking…

…eating hot, crispy, and ridiculously doughy cider donuts…

…and splurging on $24 worth of apples for pies and crisps and muffins.

Tiis The (Autumn) Season.

For spending an entire afternoon taking in the glory of summer and early autumn at a favorite farmer’s market…

…people watching, strolling, laughing, free sampling…

…and purchasing as many ‘mums’ as the car can possibly hold.

Tis The (Autumnn) Season.

For petting zoos…

and maybe—sort of—wishing you had one of your own...

Tis The (Autumn) Season.

For things like spaghetti squash…

…pumpkin patches…

…and finally eating that very first bowl of pumpkin spiced oats…

Yep.

It’s official.

Tis The (Autumn) Season.  

Pumpkin Spiced Oats

I go back and forth between cooking oats on the stove-top and using the microwave.  I’d like to say the stove-top is superior, but honestly?  I find the microwave gives very similar results (shhh!!)  The secret is to stir everything really well halfway through, which really gives the oatmeal a nice, creamy texture.  The perfect bowl of warmth for a chilly morning.  Enjoy!

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oatmeal
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 banana (fresh or frozen), sliced
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • toppings: 2 Tbsp. walnuts, 2 Tbsp. pumpkin spice granola
  1. In a large, microwave safe bowl, combine oatmeal with milk, water, cinnamon and banana.  Stir well and place in microwave for 3 minutes.
  2. Stir in pumpkin.  Return to microwave for another 2-4 minutes or until it has reached desired thickness.
  3. Pour into bowl and top with walnuts and granola or your other favorite toppings.  ENJOY!
QUESTION: What do you love most about the fall?
17 comments on “Tis The (Autumn) Season

  1. Jacqueline R. says:

    I must say my favorite thing about fall is being able to be outside with a blanket just watching whatever. Not too hot, not too cold.

  2. Great post! I can tell you enjoyed putting it together. And your oatmeal looks YUMMY! I’ll have to give it a try, microwave style : )

    My favorite things about fall are super cheap, super delicious apples. apple pie. pumpkin pie. pumpkin carving. scarves. leggings. boots. 60 degree weather. and turning the clocks back : )

  3. BroccoliHut says:

    SO jealous of that sack of apple goodness!
    Looks like you and I were on the same wavelength for breafkast this morning:)

  4. Holly says:

    I too love going to the apple orchards and getting ridiculous amounts of apples — apple pie and apple crisp are two of my favorite desserts ever.

    I really like the leaves changing color + the cooler air. It feels so good to take an evening walk in the fall.

  5. Katie says:

    Gah, I NEED to go apple picking! I hope there is a cute little pig there for me to pet!

  6. Nicole says:

    Loved this post… LOVE fall! 🙂 I can’t wait to try those pumpkin oats!

  7. Melissa says:

    Apples and cider donuts!!

    Hi Sarah,

    I am a long time reader and love everything about your blog! I don’t want to be creepy but I go to school near UMass. I don’t know if you are near there but if so, I and am wondering if you would ever want to meet up for a cup of coffee or a run in the pioneer valley?

    Let me know!

    Enjoy you apples,

    Melissa

  8. Shannon says:

    I love picking fresh apples and using them in recipes! 🙂

  9. I love the fall. It’s my favourite season.

    I also love that little piglet. I would have been very tempted to steal him from the petting zoo!

  10. mixxedtape says:

    This post inspired me to try pumpkin oats for the very first time in my life 🙂 I really liked it!!
    I love the smell of fall and the fact that there are a lot of apples and fresh nuts and all that yummy stuff to eat 🙂

  11. Alexiasana says:

    I love fall- perfect weather and and of course pumpkin time! I am in India right now and its boiling hot, but this post inspired me to go get a pumpkin and join the fall festivities with pumpkin pie oats.

Leave a Reply

