returning back to normal.

If you’re like me, you completely forgot it was September 1st.

You forgot that summer would ever come to an end.

You forgot that garden fresh tomatoes and cucumbers and corn don’t last forever (or maybe you just wished it out from your memory.)

And.  If you’re like me.  You have a very difficult time readjusting to real life after vacation.

In fact.

This is about the extent of my creativity over the past 3 days.  Aside from that fancy schmancy bowl of cereal that I had for dinner last night.

(Don’t every say that I’m not honest.)

(I think my parents are missin’ the simplistic joy of vacation too…)

I’ve been trying my hardest to remember what life was like beforehand.  You know.  Six days ago.  Way, way back in August.

So, I went out for a run, in an attempt to “bring me back.”

But I think I might still have some of that remaining Toll House Cookie Pie sitting in my stomach, because I may or may not have been passed by a speed walker.  True story.

And.

Well.

I really would rather be here.

But.  Here’s another confession.

You can’t beat home.

You can’t beat your own bed.

You can’t beat waving hello to the neighbors who call you “that girl who’s always running.”

You can’t beat that steamy morning cup of coffee in your favorite mug.

As much as I love vacations and just being away.  As much as I crave that time to escape and explore.  Even as much.  I love my home even more.

And that’s an honest confession.

QUESTION: What is your favorite vacationing spot?

14 comments on “returning back to normal.

  1. Holly says:

    I totally agree — I love vacations and traveling, but there is no better feeling than coming home and sleeping in your own bed 🙂

    I love to visit northern MN — I lived up there for college and I just fell in love with the area. I hope one day to move back up there. Lake Superior is gorgeous and there are so many nice trails to walk on, hike, explore, etc.

  2. BroccoliHut says:

    I really love my family’s lake home–there’s very little to do there besides play on the water, relax, and read. I love it.

  3. Crissy says:

    Sarah, hello! Just want to say that the blue sky and beautiful clouds looks so beautiful. So relaxing. 🙂

  4. Crissy says:

    Sarah, hello! Just want to say that the blue sky and the clouds look so beautiful. So relaxing 🙂

  5. Crissy says:

    Sarah sorry for the double entry. Wrong grammar. 😉

  6. mixxedtape says:

    ‘That girl who’s always running’, that’s a pretty flattering nickname if you ask me 😀

    I really enjoy any vacationing spot that involves water ( a lake or the seaside), I’m always happy to go back home though!

  7. It’s really great that you said you love home as much as the exciting world out there. Family is the greatest thing we are blessed with and we ought to be grateful for it always.

    And I perused your other posts and I must they were inspiring- all the cool recipes and those fantastic pictures and experiences. I am going to be a follower of your blog 🙂

  8. Beautiful photography 🙂 Your posts are always so calming!

  9. Emily says:

    I love coming home! I love getting back into my routine. My favorite vacation spot is a family friend’s cabin on the north shore of Lake Superior in Minnesota. It’s heaven

Leave a Reply

