forever a classic.

Thank you—each and every one!!—for the warm comments and shouts of recognition, after what I now fondly call my 15 minutes of fame in being Freshly Pressed.  What an absolutely delightful surprise; and I’m so glad that you were all able to share with me, in my overabundance of blueberries.  Speaking of which, I now have a fridge full of even more berries, which will most likely be eaten out of hand or in my morning oatmeal.

But.  Who knows?  I’ve said that once before.  The fun just never stops. 😉

You know, now that I think of it, the overabundance of produce never seems to stop around here, either.

More specifically, the tomatoes and basil.

(and the cucumbers too, but that’s another conversation for another day)

I’ve come to the conclusion that if I ever have to choose but two ingredients to define the tastes of summer, this is what I’d choose.  Yes.  Tomatoes and basil.  Fresh from the garden, straight to my plate.

Bumper crops and overabundance aside, this combination of flavors is forever a classic.  I can’t imagine a summer without them.

(especially when garlic and olive oil are involved!)

I was lucky enough to find this bright, perky piece of Cod at the grocery store.  Freshness of the fish is key here (as it almost always is!) as anything “fishy” tasting will only put a damper on the summery mood.

Because, after all, nobody will notice your lovely tomatoes if there’s a fishy aftertaste going on. 😉

The entire meal came together in just under 20 minutes.

The delightful combination of tomatoes and basil.  Yes.  This is exactly what I’d choose.

Summer—defined.  And forever a classic.

Side Dishes: Baked Sweet Potato and Sauteed Zucchini in olive oil, balsamic vinegar and topped with a slice of fresh mozzarella

Cod with Tomato-Basil Salsa

  • 5 medium/large tomatoes, seeded and diced
  • 1 large handful of basil, chopped
  • about 1/4 cup chopped chives
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 large clove garlic
  • salt & pepper, to taste
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1-1/2 pounds cod (or haddock or other firm, white fish)
  1. Preheat oven to 425.
  2. Combine tomatoes through salt & pepper, in a medium bowl.
  3. In a oven safe dutch oven or cooking pan, heat oil over high heat.  Add fish, skin side up.  Cook for 2 minutes, flip, and pour tomato mixture on top.  Continue cooking for another 2 minutes or so.
  4. Place cooking pan or dutch oven in the oven for about 7-9 minutes, or until fish flakes with a fork.  Serve immediately and ENJOY!
QUESTION: Do you have a vegetable garden?
10 comments on “forever a classic.

  1. BroccoliHut says:

    Wow, what a gorgeous meal! I live in an apartment so I am limited to growing my own herbs. I grew up in a household that always had summer vegetables in the garden though–I miss the tomatoes and zucchini!

  2. realfunfood says:

    I love basil too much. And cod. And zucchini. Congrats on getting Freshly Pressed! The first time I got Freshly Pressed (on my non food blog) I was over the moon! When I saw my blog up there I was like OMG and I took a screen shot in case it wasn’t real ha ha.

  3. crissy says:

    Hi Sarah! How are you today? i don’t have a garden but I plan to have one when I hopefully work there in the US by next year. I want an herb and veggie garden. I hope I can see more pics of your garden. I’m delighted to meet you here because you start to influence me to really be serious in my diet. Thank u!!! 🙂 😉 God bless u!

  4. crissy says:

    I had a pot of basil before but the insects must have been attracted to the smell, I don’t know, but the leaves got holes in them. Too bad.. so I only buy from the supermarket.

  5. Oh my goodness what a gorgeous meal! Your pictures are so impressive and I absolutely love cod so this meal is rather ideal for me 🙂

  6. Emily says:

    I go absolutely CRAZY for tomatoes from the garden. People think I’m nuts when I go on and on about fresh tomatoes.

  7. wowww I like everything here!! And the tomatoes look truly truly fresh. I want to grow my own veggies, but someday when the time comes 🙂

Leave a Reply

