not your average blueberry muffins.

Guess what I made today??

You know, even after all that juicy talk we had about the perfect simplicity of the blueberry, I went off and baked some muffins with ’em.

The weather has been rainy and cloudy and dark for the past two days.  I knew that the blueberries would brighten up everyone’s mood.  Especially if they were in the form of some cheery baked good.

I can see it now.  Come breakfast, there will be smiles all around the table, as one by one, family members wake up to a little spritz of sunshine, sitting on their plate.

So, yes.  It simply had to be done.

Sometimes the hardest part about making muffins is figuring out which recipe to use.

Tried and true?

Brand new?

Grandma’s secret recipe?

I don’t know about you, but my favorites are usually the tried and true.  The ones that bring me right back to Memere’s kitchen.  Right back to standing up high on a stool, breathlessly watching as my mom whisked some egg whites into a frothy foam.  Just by a whiff of the batter or a lick of the spoon…a recipe can bring me right back to remembering when.

But today, I went with something slightly new.  A fun twist on the standard blueberry muffin, with the simple addition of dried cranberries.

The blueberries were at the end of their perky stage, somewhere between soft and mushy.  So I figured that between the cranberry’s tart addition and its chewy texture, we’d come out even.

A little sugar and flax went on top as well…

And then, 20 minutes later, it was time to dig in.

(because nobody waits to let them cool for 10 minutes…right?)

These bright muffins were healthified with the addition of whole wheat flour and a reduction in the sugar content.  But the flavors and the textures were still there.

In fact, if I didn’t know any better, I may have almost believed that I was right back to being an eight year old, plopping down at the kitchen table for my 3 o’clock snack after school.

Remember when?

Not Your Average Blueberry Muffins

  • 2 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 large egg white
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup buttermilk (or 1 cup milk + 1 Tbsp. lemon juice)
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons grated orange zest
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries (or frozen, tossed with about 1 Tbsp flour)
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries (such as Craisins)
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 tablespoon crushed flax
  1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Coat one dozen muffin cups with cooking spray.
  2. Whisk whole-wheat flour, baking powder, and baking soda in a large bowl.
  3. Whisk egg, egg white and brown sugar in a medium bowl until smooth. Add buttermilk, oil, orange zest and vanilla; whisk until well blended.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients; stir with a rubber spatula until just combined. Gently fold in mixed berries and dried fruit. Scoop the batter into the prepared pan.  Combine flax and sugar together in a small bowl and sprinkle over the tops.
  5. Bake the muffins until the tops spring back when touched lightly, 20 to 25 minutes. Let cool in the pan for 5 minutes. Loosen the edges and turn the muffins out onto a wire rack to cool slightly before serving.  ENJOY!

QUESTION: Are there any foods that bring back certain memories??

127 comments on “not your average blueberry muffins.

  1. BroccoliHut says:

    I love your twist on the classic! I happen to think dried cranberries make everything taste better, and the flax is a great addition from the nutrition standpoint. Yum, yum!

  2. these look wonderful. i agree – sometimes just finding a recipe to use is the hardest part! i’ve been known to hunt for ages before deciding to just wing it, haha. love love LOOVE your addition of cranberries, though!

  3. madryy says:

    The photos are so clear and vibrant, absolutely loved them!

  4. dottylizzy says:

    These look SO good! I’m with you all the way … baked goods just have to be eaten hot, straight out of the oven!! 😉
    A food that takes me back is chocolate microwave sponge pudding, with chocolate sauce … my Grandma made it for my sisters and I and our young uncle and aunt growing up and even now, one snif, one hot, gooey bite, and I’m a little girl banging her bare legs against the big old wood dinning chairs with leather covers and big brass buttons to hold the covers in place …ahhh! Ok, so now I’m feeling hungry … ! 😉

  5. Ahhh, every time I eat Filipino food, I’m reminded of my childhood and all the times my family and I ate together. Always a loud, fun time together. My dad is the best cook I know and we always had such delicious food.

  6. natasiarose says:

    YUM! I love that tablecloth.

  7. Alessandro Paiva says:

    Well, I gotta make this SOON!!!!

  8. These look amazing. Dried cranberries? sugared flax? Gotta remember these delicious additions!

  9. […] not your average blueberry muffins. (via "The Flying ONION.") Posted on August 17, 2011 by flyshafinaz not your average blueberry muffins. (via "The Flying ONION.") Guess what I made today?? You know, even after all that juicy talk we had about the perfect simplicity of the blueberry, I went off and baked some muffins with 'em. The weather has been rainy and cloudy and dark for the past two days.  I knew that the blueberries would brighten up everyone's mood.  Especially if they were in the form of some cheery baked good. I can see it now.  Come breakfast, there will be smiles all around the table, as one by … Read More […]

  10. NOT fair.

    I’m SOOOO hungry now. For these!

    😉

  11. jgins says:

    These look absolutely wonderful!

  12. Tastiest blueberry muffins I’ve ever seen! I like the idea of adding craisins to it. I have to try this recipe out!

  13. JUNE says:

    Looks good! =D

    Shall try to make them soon =)

  14. Jasmine Lee says:

    Wow, this looks so tasty! I think I’ll have to try this! 🙂 Congrats on FP!

  15. livvy30 says:

    Congratulations on being Freshly pressed! I’ve passed your recipe on to Mike, so hopefully I’ll have some of these muffins when i come home from work tomorrow! 🙂

  16. dottylizzy says:

    PS Big congrats on being Freshly Pressed!! 😀

  17. Jecka says:

    Yum! This looks great!

  18. 4myskin says:

    I loooove blueberry muffins! My all time favorite! These look good, I might have to try this recipe. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  19. My mom makes Dutch pancakes (she grew up in the Netherlands), and I have never been able to recreate them for myself. The recipe is ridiculously simple: 1 cup flour, 1 egg, 1 cup milk, with a little dribble of oil. Hers are flat and moist and raisin-studded and wonderful, and I can only hope that after I try to make them for the hundredth time, I will capture something of their perfection.

    • There are so many recipes that my Memere would make, that I simply can’t recreate in my own kitchen either. Just like you, I keep on trying. Because one of these days it will come out perfect. Just like the Dutch pancakes (which sound fabulous, by the way!)

  20. shannonbird says:

    Definitely will make! Do you think nuts could be added?

  21. Looks yummy! I love dried cranberries!

  22. Caitlyn says:

    Your post popped up in my google reader when right after I stuck a batch (the first batch that day) of blueberry muffins in the oven! Great mind think alike 🙂 I am making these next.

  23. Delicious pictures. That’s not fair.

  24. forageporage says:

    WOW, either great minds, really do, think alike, or it’s happy cranberry day! I made cranberry chocolate chip cookies, this morning; and they certainly are not your average chocolate chip cookies!
    Nice post! Thanx for the recipe.

  25. Delicious looking muffins, and so beautifully shot. Nice one.

  26. Josh says:

    A good spaghetti bolognese makes me remember being exhaused from the swimming pool when I was really really small.

    Did you have to adjust anything else to accommodate the change in flour?

  27. ceciliag says:

    I am hopeless at muffins. My muffins are a family joke because I just keep trying. And failing. However I am going to take one last gaspy breath and plunge in again with your recipe. Wish me luck!

  28. bigeyedbob says:

    Ohhh you have made me hungry. They look so nice. Thanks for the recipe.

    I will give it a go at the weekend. Ill have to be extra good until then!

    From Shane @ http://dailyweeklynews.wordpress.com/

  29. Eva McCane says:

    aw man! i’m sitting at work drooling like a saint bernard. and i still have a couple hours till i can skidaddle. for now, i’ll try to distract myself, but once i get home i plan to make a batch of muffins! thanks for sharing. and making me hungry.

  30. I love the drided cranberry idea. Great photographs of the process as well.

  31. Bella says:

    I found your blog on the WordPress homepage. What lovely photos! I can’t wait to try this recipe.
    Bella 🙂

  32. Zak Suhar says:

    These are some really awesome shots, and looks like some tasty treats!

  33. We will definitely try it out. I bet the cranberries add that wonderful sourness that I like so much!

    Congratulations of Freshly Pressed status 😉

  34. your photos are great! 🙂

  35. tonjemeinstad says:

    I am so making this tomorrow. And also, I am so following your blog from now one 🙂

  36. […] Guess what I made today?? You know, even after all that juicy talk we had about the perfect simplicity of the blueberry, I went off and baked some muffins with 'em. The weather has been rainy and cloudy and dark for the past two days.  I knew that the blueberries would brighten up everyone's mood.  Especially if they were in the form of some cheery baked good. I can see it now.  Come breakfast, there will be smiles all around the table, as one by … Read More […]

  37. […] Guess what I made today?? You know, even after all that juicy talk we had about the perfect simplicity of the blueberry, I went off and baked some muffins with 'em. The weather has been rainy and cloudy and dark for the past two days.  I knew that the blueberries would brighten up everyone's mood.  Especially if they were in the form of some cheery baked good. I can see it now.  Come breakfast, there will be smiles all around the table, as one by … Read More […]

  38. I love the tart cranberries with the sweet blueberries. Great choice. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

  39. Yu Kim says:

    Beautiful pictures! How can I store more for later? Can I freeze them once they’re made, or refrigerate the batch? I work to keep a balanced diet of carbs and other food (and if I made this batch it may be the only thing I eat that day!). Everyone’s got to have muffins in their life!

    • Oh yes! Life without muffins is not really life, in my opinion. 😉

      You can definitely freeze these! After they’re cooked and cooled, I pop them in a freezer bag and take them out one by one throughout the month. 😀

  40. yagerbabies says:

    Yummo! Along with apple pies and brownies, blueberry muffins are my next fave! My 4 year old sitting next to me said ‘oooooh that looks so delicious!’ I agree!
    Awesome way to post a recipe. Not your average recipe thats for sure.
    Beautiful! xox

  41. Wow! Those look amazing! Definitely gonna try these out.

  42. Brooke says:

    Your photos are just beautiful! And I love your story, made me think of my childhood and Granny baking some delicious muffins just for me. Great post!

  43. I just love blueberry muffins! My mom used to make them almost every Saturday morning. Ah the memories! Thank you for the recipe!

  44. thegvnr says:

    Really beautiful pics – they create WANT. Glad to have read your post 🙂

  45. Katie says:

    Mmmm so good looking! I actually think of you whenever I make muffins – you always make them so unique and incredible looking!

  46. rolandalexis says:

    please make sure my business make me good money

  47. There’s nothing like the tried and true recipe, where the book pushes open almost entirely on its own to the exact page you love. For me the recipe for scones lives on that page. And there’s another one for butter tarts. Your photography is amazing and the background of the quilted fabric a perfect touch. Well done on the fp!

  48. Kc Rossi says:

    Great post! It felt like we were right there with you @ every step. :o) YUM!!

  49. reinyputri says:

    What a brilliant idea to mix a great pictures with a good article!
    Love your blog!
    Keep up the good work!
    Waiting for ur new articles!! 🙂

  50. amanda14747 says:

    Great recipe, and wonderful photos. I just made a blueberry cake this weekend and posted about it on my blog. It was wonderful.

  51. O yummy, Can’t wait to give it a go! (:

  52. Beautiful pics! Can I ask what type of camera you are using?

  53. Mmmm… I don’t even like blueberry muffins, but those look delicious… !
    My ultimate comfort food that brings back memories is my mom’s grilled cheese sandwiches – I’ve never had one as good as hers. In fact, I think I just may ask for one tomorrow for lunch (:

    • Mmm… I remember my Memere making a wonderful grilled cheese, as well. She used to really pile high the cheese and she used the perfect touch of butter on the bread before toasting. It was so wonderful. 😀

  54. baligins says:

    Gorgeous photos and these muffins look delicious!

  55. Harold says:

    Must try these! Congrats on being FP!

  56. Joseph says:

    sounds good…..my only suggestion would be for you to try this trick next time you make them….substitute the same amount of applesauce for the fat in baked goods, pancakes, and waffles….I’ve used this trick in all kinds of baked goods and it works very well…even tried it in a batch of chocolate chip cookies and it gave the cookies a nice moist cake-like consistency…it was like I was eating a chocolate chip muffin top….it should work for these muffins to replace the canola oil

  57. Damommachef says:

    Wow….I can totally see a picture book here….the story of the little blueberry muffin. Such pretty pictures. Oddly, I made blueberry muffins today too!

  58. Those look yummy! I have so many memories related to food..wouldn’t know where to start!But my fav has to be soft boiled eggs- takes me right back to my childhood 🙂

  59. kndk76 says:

    im curious as to would it make a big difference in terms of taste when you use frozen instead of fresh berries?

    • Tastewise, they’ll be pretty similar. The one “issue” I’ve ever had was that the blueberries “bled” on me, but mixing them with just a smidgen of flour can really help. That, and not over folding once you put them in the batter. 😀

  60. Looks amazing! I like a little banana in mine, although sometimes I go for the minimalist blueberry muffin, too. I’m blaming you for my extra calories today!

  61. Eric says:

    I love blueberry muffins! Though you may not have this issue, it is usually a better idea to add wet to dry while baking because it lessens the chance of clumps forming.

    I was wondering though…a lot of people are commenting on photos of them, yet I find none? Lead me to your mysterious muffin pictures!

  62. liquidmind13 says:

    am gonna try it out and tell you the result

  63. will have to try! looks good…

  64. these look brilliant !! my mouth is watering !! 🙂

  65. latenotes says:

    it looks so f***ing yummmy! 😄

  66. Great pictures. What kind of camera do you use, if you don’t mind my asking?

  67. 300hikes says:

    That looks delicious. I love the photo of the fork in the muffin. It makes it look almost like a cobbler.

  68. Thought I recognized your blueberry photo on wordpress’ homepage – CONGRATS on being freshly pressed!! 🙂

  69. Myolisi Sikupela says:

    I am as clueless about food as I am of the BIGFOOT myth or fact but the pictures are refulgent. I am certain the only time I will listen to a speech about healthy foods is when I am dying from long years of downing unhealthy foods. Really great pictures. Due apologies for my healthy diet ignorance.

  70. Aisiri says:

    Not a fan of blueberries. Cranberries, definitely.
    Now, a fan of blueberries too!
    Amazing photography!

  71. Ashlee Craft says:

    These look so delicious! Great recipe.

  72. Great photos and wonderful muffins!

  73. Nicole says:

    YAY! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!!!!! 🙂 And can’t wait to try those muffins.

  74. young joo yuk says:

    it looks delicious and yummy!!!!
    i will have to try!
    tank you for recipe.

  75. Martha Mangar says:

    I really love blueberry muffins because it tastes nice when you eat it.
    Blueberries can also be eaten in many ways.

  76. anh tran says:

    it looks and likes the recipe I have to try thank you

  77. laat says:

    I like to eat blueberry muffins they are delicious

  78. ken huynh says:

    I really love bluberry because It is delicous. You can make bluberry muffin, bread …. Oh ! yummy.

  79. hoa nguyen says:

    I like blueberry muffins but i don’t know how it make.
    After i looked at your recipe, i think i can make it now.
    Thanks!

  80. Nice, I had whole made whole-bran muffins a while ago, but they wern’t very good. I’ve been a vegetarian for a while now so all my childhood memories of food are usually non-meat things and basically of really unhealthy food. Like rootbear floats and running out after hearing the ice cream man’s melody truck going back

  81. nyzeluminous says:

    Wow! I love blueberry muffins! Wish that I could bake perfectly like you. The last time I tried to made homemade pancakes? It turned out mashed potatoes! How weird is that? 😦

  82. Ashlei says:

    Blueberry muffins are my favorite!

  83. trialsinfood says:

    i agree, baked goods always brighten up my day.

  84. gaycarboys says:

    I’ve never made them. I know it’s cheaper, and they are fresher but I just can’t be bothered. But sure can be bothered eating them;) Thanks so much for sharing with us

  85. B says:

    Do you think using frozen cranberries would work? We have a big stash of them at home… as well as blueberries, mmm!

    • That would definitely work! You may want to chop them up a bit with a food processor or a sharp knife, just to be sure you don’t get any big bites of sour. If you decide to try it, let me know how it comes out for you! 😀

  86. lindayoga says:

    Beautiful photos!!
    Thanks for your wonderful post;)
    -Linda

  87. Looks Delicious, thanks for your post, maybe i can try this one.

  88. embonbon says:

    and I was supposed to be on a diet.. damn you for posting this! I am drooooooling!

  89. […] not your average blueberry muffins. (theflyingonion.wordpress.com) […]

  90. weloveglitter says:

    I want to eat it NOW 😀

  91. […] not your average blueberry muffins. (theflyingonion.wordpress.com) Share this:FacebookEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

