my seasonal obsession.

I think I’m obsessed.

You know how when you’re reading a really, really, as in really, good book and you just dread the thought of ever having to put it down.  Dreading the thought of ever seeing it end??  

That’s me.  With blueberries.  Yes, I am totally, helplessly (over the top) obsessed.

I have already been blueberry picking for a total of five times this season, and I still can’t get enough.  My freezer is packed full of the plump little bites of blue, but I’m so greedy.  I just want more and more.

I wish I could tell you that I’ve been at least putting all of this picking (and…ahem…money) to good use, but honestly?

I haven’t baked a thing with them.  Nothing.  Not even blueberry pancakes have yet made an appearance.  Instead, I’ve been eating them by the cupfuls.  Fistfuls!  With yogurt and cereal and oatmeal and smoothies.  In fact, I almost can’t bear the thought of turning them into any sort of baked good, which is just ridiculous and completely unheard of.

So there you have it.  Now you know what I’ve been up to.  Gorging myself on every last bit and bite of fresh, local produce because I just can’t get enough.  Maybe—perhaps—despite my knowing that this is never going to actually happen, I’m believing that I have some influence on preventing summer from leaving.  Some influence on stopping summer in its tracks.  Some influence on making sure that the juicy, plump berries stick around for the long haul.

Because I really would like to see summer hang around for just a while longer.  I’d hate to see it end.

QUESTION: What is your current seasonal obsession?

16 comments on “my seasonal obsession.

  1. Soooo many blubes! I’m jealous 🙂

  2. Tracey says:

    Our season is over here,and I miss them.It is driving me crazy to see the end of peaches.
    I have not cooked anything with peaches as all I want to do is eat them ,and it is the same with the rest of the family.So I dont know if we will be able to cook any this year as we have not saved a one.

    • I can’t imagine having a house full of delicious, fresh peaches. I do know that I’d have none left for the cooking either. They’re so irresistible, especially when they’re plucked fresh from the tree! 😀

  3. Lovingggg this post! I’m pretty sure I could live on blueberries, I have eaten them everyday this summer in one form or another 🙂

  4. I am the same way!! My mom went picking once this season, but got enough to fill three huge bags. One is in the freezer, the other two I went through in no time at all….but I just can’t bring myself to break into the frozen ones. I have to save them for the depths of winter! haha. If it makes you feel better – I couldn’t get myself to make anything with them, either. PLain, in cereal, that kinda thing was the way to go 😉

    • Most definitely!!

      And I love your idea of saving the blueberries for the middle of winter. That is such a fabulous plan. I plan on doing that with batches of pesto, and now I’ll be saving some blueberries as well. For the coldest day of the year. 😀

      Thanks for the tip! 😀

  5. BroccoliHut says:

    I can’t get enough of those juicy peaches! They’re so ripe and perfect right now…

  6. Cute blueberry-picking photos!!

    My seasonal produce obsessions are heirloom tomatoes, apricots, and raspberries! I just can’t get enough. I love blueberries too – too bad the farm where I’m working doesn’t grow ’em 😦

    • Mmm…those are some of my favorites as well! I missed raspberry picking this year (sad!), but the tomatoes are so fabulous and I’ve been enjoying them in almost every meal. The heirlooms are extra special!! 😀

  7. Emily says:

    I went blueberry picking this weekend!! My only intention is to eat them by the handful : )

  8. a good friend of mine, stacy @ seattle seedling just posted a guest post on my blog about what to do with all those blubes – make blueberry butter!! nothing wrong with eatin em fresh either though 🙂

  9. I bought about 10lb of blueberries from the local blueberry farm this summer already… I think Matt and I have already eaten at least 5. Normally I pick my own but Matt thinks his PYO berry days are behind him so he wouldn’t come pick with me!

  10. […] my seasonal obsession. (via "The Flying ONION.") Posted on August 17, 2011 by flyshafinaz my seasonal obsession. (via "The Flying ONION.") I think I'm obsessed. You know how when you're reading a really, really, as in really, good book and you just dread the thought of ever having to put it down.  Dreading the thought of ever seeing it end??   That's me.  With blueberries.  Yes, I am totally, helplessly (over the top) obsessed. I have already been blueberry picking for a total of five times this season, and I still can't get enough.  My freezer is packed full of the plump little bit … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

