Just A Few Key Ingredients (plus cheese.)

YesterdayI spent $2.00 on a pound of fingerling potatoes; $2.00 on a beautiful bunch of swiss chard, $1.00 on a sweet, vidalia onion.  

Just a few key ingredients and voila!  Dinner was born.

(I also spent $100 on TWO pairs of TJ Maxx boots and a pair of jeans.  It was a bargain, but I was still crying as I handed over the money…such is the life of a poor graduate. 😉 )

The crying didn’t last long though.  Dinner got me excited.

Fingerlings.

Rainbow Swiss Chard.

…(chopped into submission)…

Gruyere Cheese

(which was so NOT on sale but totally worth it!)

Four Local Brown Eggs.

I can’t think of anything that smells better than onions and potatoes frying.  It brings me back to Memere’s kitchen, where I first learned the art of caramelizing onions.  Memere managed to quietly convince me that fried onions were not the same as those disgusting raw onions that needed to be pushed off of my pizza slice.  No.  Onions, when cooked just so, were like magic, enhancing the flavors of everything they came in contact with.

Heaven.

The chard, you should know, only managed to stay puffed up, proud and cocky for…oh, say…2 minutes or so.  The heat of the pan plus the weight of the potatoes and onions brought it right back down to planet earth.    

(Besides, as we all know, it’s really about the cheese.)

While letting the eggs set, I popped the last of the Canadian dinner rolls into the oven to get them hot and crispy.  The shared the available oven space with a tray of cauliflower.

There was nothing fancy to this meal, but that’s exactly how I like it.

Just a few key ingredients.  A few deals and steals.  All coming together for a not-too-fancy, rustic kind of meal.  Delicious.

Fingerling Potato Hash with Swiss Chard and Eggs—modified from an original version that was debuted in Cooking Light Magazine
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 large vidalia onion (or other large, sweet onion)
  • 12 ounces fingerling potatoes, cut in half lengthwise (about 4 cups)
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons paprika, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper, divided
  • 1 bunch thinly sliced, trimmed Swiss chard
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup (1 ounce) shredded Gruyère cheese

Preparation

  1. Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add oil to pan. Add onion; cook 8 minutes, stirring frequently. Add potatoes and garlic; cook 15 minutes or until potatoes are tender, stirring occasionally. Stir in 1 teaspoon paprika, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Add chard; cook 4 minutes, stirring constantly. Using a spoon, push potato mixture aside to make 4 egg-size spaces. Crack 1 egg into each space; sprinkle remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt, remaining 1/4 teaspoon pepper, and remaining 1/4 teaspoon paprika over eggs. Cover and cook 3 minutes; sprinkle cheese over potato mixture. Cover and cook 2 minutes or until egg yolks are lightly set.

QUESTION: Are you a bargain shopper?  I’m definitely a bargain shopper with clothes, although I do spend more on things I’ll wear again and again.  Unfortunately, I’m not much a bargain shopper with food, as I thoroughly enjoy spending money on some really good ingredients.  Thank goodness, at least, that fresh veggies are cheap and 100% affordable in the summer months!

21 comments on “Just A Few Key Ingredients (plus cheese.)

  1. Evan Thomas says:

    Hashes like that are some of my favorite food, but I haven’t made one in ages because I just haven’t been in the mood. I’m guessing I’ll make a ton once Autumn rolls around. Perfect New England food.

  2. Caitlyn says:

    I have to start by saying your picturse are GORGEOUS, as always!

    As for bargain shopping, I try. Sometimes, however, it is very hard to resist that slightly too expensive shirt. Occasional indulgences are ok.

  3. Jess says:

    Ooooh I just got several pounds of potatoes and swiss chard from my CSA share. I can’t wait to try this!

  4. That looks delicious. I need to hone my talent of making simple dishes like this!

  5. dottylizzy says:

    My tummy is starting to rumble with hunger just at the thought – and sight! – of such a yummy looking dinner!!
    I love your writing style – you open up your kitchen, like we’re really there!! 🙂

  6. BroccoliHut says:

    I know exactly how you feel! Even if it IS a good bargain, I have trouble parting with any sum larger than 20 bucks:)
    I am totally a bargain shopper–TJ Maxx is one of my favorite stores!

  7. Melissa says:

    Excellent pictures! I love how you show how to make it with photos!

  8. I don’t like spending too much on clothes – I prefer buying more for the same value.

    I love caramelized onions! PS, have you explained your (new) blog name?

  9. Umm this dinner is rather fabulous looking Sarah 🙂 I love that you do this with pictures, so helpful for less talented cooks like myself haha

  10. sofia says:

    yummm, i love dishes like this – simply whole and so so good. oh geeze, i spend way too much money on food. if i’m craving it, i’ll buy it. good/bad.

  11. carlydeal says:

    This looks deelish! I agree about onions, sauteed onions (and mushrooms) belong on everything!

Leave a Reply

